We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Freddie found us a Quetzal!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel La Puesta del Sol
Ranked #14 of 14 Santa Elena B&B and Inns
Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Freddie found us a Quetzal!”
Reviewed March 1, 2011

We were very pleased to stay at such a clean and "modern" hostel; the rooms being on a par with an economy motel in "the States". It is located outside of the bustle of the main streets of Santa Elena so was quiet and restful, while being a comfortable walk to the main streets for shopping and eating. Enjoyed looking at a sloth and her baby on the way to town numerous times (stayed four days).

Freddie arranged tours and transportation for our visiting the places we wanted to see. The "crown" of our visit was taking a birding tour with Freddie: even though it was raining he managed to find us a Quetzal which is a birder's life goal! Freddie knows his birds and other wildlife and plants. Don't miss his tour - he has all the equipment you'll need and the knowledge of where to take you.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ctowhee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    6
    5
    3
    3
See reviews for
5
13
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arnhem, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2011

After a long day of travelling we finally reached Santa Elena. It was a very bumpy ride and we were exhausted and didnt book a hotel. When we had our backpacks Freddy approached us and told us about his new hotel for a really good price. He took us in his awesome blue jeep (you definitely gonna love his jeep) to his hotel and we were amazed how spacious and clean the rooms were. The next wonderful moment was the shower! Good water pressure and you can mix it as hot as you want. Because the Hotel is just out of the center (under 5 min walk from main street) you can enjoy a good night rest and wont be disturbed by any traffic or bar sounds. So if you want to visit Monteverde please take a look at this wonderful hotel. We highly recommend it. We liked the hotel so much that we stayed for 4 nights.

This was only the hotel itself. Freddy guided us to see some wildlife around the woods in Santa Elena. His eyes and ears are made for spotting every single bird. Some were so small and far away that you dont have the faintest idea how the hell he spotted it. But he has good professional gear that he takes along the tour so you are able to see everything cristal clear.
Dont miss this tour!!!

We hope you will have pleasant stay in Santa Elena and hope that your experience with Hotel la Puesta del sol will be just as good as ours. But no doubt it will.

Greetings, Mariska and Kasper
The Netherlands

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mariska87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laramie, Wyoming
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 15, 2011

After not getting one wink of sleep staying in the heart of Santa Elena, my girlfriend and I trekked the streets for peace and quiet. We were relieved to find a home at Freddy's wonderful place. Their family welcomed us into a spacious, clean and cozy room, balcony and all! After relaxing with a hot shower, we were ready to take on the cloud forests. It felt great each evening to come back to a homey environment where we could kick our feet up and enjoy listening to the birds and crickets, rather than the pounding thunder of the bars. Not only did we enjoy our stay, after realizing I left my camera charger behind, Freddy bent over backwards to ship it overnight to our next destination. After months on the road, we still think back to Freddy's as one of the few where we found a great night's rest.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vedauwoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
freddy40, Propietario at Hotel La Puesta del Sol, responded to this review, January 17, 2011
Thank you for the review. We are pleaced that you find us and get a night of good sleep.
Please come back sometime to monteverde a and visit us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vienna,austria
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2011

we stayed 2 nights in freddies very new hotel close to santa elena.we enjoyed a calm sleep, wounderful sunsets at the balcony,rooms very clean, hot water, wifi at certain places, no wardrobe in the room.-but space enough.
freddy gave us a 4 hours birdwatching tour with binoculars for everybody and we have seen a lot.we can highly recommend to stay there!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carol-vienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 24, 2010

During our long and bumpy night ride to Monteverde (if you have ever driven up there you will empathize) we were just informed that our preferred hotel was completely booked out...exhausted and stranded we parked the car in the middle of Monteverde....when suddenly our savior Freddy appeared out of the dark! He and his family have just opened a new hostel and offered us a very fair deal ($ 25 per night total). After having seen the very sweet, spacious and clean room we were offered a bird watching tour in the morning. Freddy who speaks Spanish and English gave us a private tour with all possible equipment in order to let us see the tiniest bits of all hidden beauty on Costa Rican trees. We even saw a sloth! It was truly wonderful to have such an experienced, wise and friendly guide with us! A very family friendly place. Thank you!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jwolfermann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Elena hotels
0.0 mi away
Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde
0.0 mi away
Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica
0.0 mi away
Santa Elena Hostel Resort
Santa Elena Hostel Resort
#12 of 34 in Santa Elena
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
0.0 mi away
Hotel El Sueno
Hotel El Sueno
#5 of 6 in Santa Elena
133 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cabinas and Hotel Vista Al Golfo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Puesta del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Puesta del Sol

Property: Hotel La Puesta del Sol
Address: 0.5 Km from Santa Elena downown, Santa Elena 5655-60109, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a Costa Rican family-owned lodge. We, Freddy and Juanita (owners) offer personal service to all our guests. The lodge has great view to Monteverde's mountains and spectacular sunsets. Located near Santa Elena in a highly peaceful place. We offer: rooms with private bathroom and hot water- Wi-Fi internet- Breakfast- Laundry Service- Private parking area- World Famous Bird Watching Freddy's Tour- Tours and activities information. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel La Puesta del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Puesta Del Sol Monteverde, Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing