We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel El Atardecer
Nearby Hotels
$132
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde(Santa Elena)(Great Value!)
$78
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$45
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $52/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$130
$106
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Las Orquideas(Santa Elena)
$74
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pension Santa Elena(Santa Elena)(Great Value!)
$33
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Santa Elena Hostel Resort(Santa Elena)(Great Value!)
$54
$34
Hostelworld.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arco Iris Lodge(Santa Elena)(Great Value!)
$86
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$88
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (36)
Filter reviews
36 results
Traveler rating
11
15
5
4
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
11
15
5
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsconvenient locationcosta ricabedstownnicoyaaclaundrysleepingmonteverdeamenities
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 36 reviews
Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

We travel a lot and don't have high standards. If you read my other reviews you would know this. We hate resorts and like quaint getaways. This is neither. We booked at Camino Verde but ended up across the street and Hotel Atardecer. It is cute looking and we thought ok. We got ushered to our room to find 2 single beds. Hmmmm... We saw a number of empty rooms w double beds. The rooms were loud and the beds hard. My girlfriend could even hear our neighbor pass gas in the night. Im not kidding. Then, at midnight it got very hot. We didn't have a fan so you throw the covers off. No problem, right? Problem! That was also the mosquito feeding hour. You have jalousy windows and they fly right in. Miserable couple of hours. A fan would have solved both problems easily.

We had a nice common seating area with good internet. Breakfast was good but the staff was not that friendly.

Bring bug spray and don't expect much.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank caveman10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for two nights on a tour with gAdventures. It was the best place we stayed at during our trip. The rooms are basic, but in very good shape. Everything is very clean. The hotel layout is nice with the rooms wrapped around an inner courtyard on two floors, so there is loads of space to sit in front of your room and enjoy the sun. It is perfectly located close to the centre with nice restaurants close by. The beds were very comfy with firm mattresses. The only issue was noise, as the walls are thin and you can hear all your upstairs neighbors moving around. I would recommend this place anyway!

Room Tip: try to get a room facing the courtyard, so you are not disturbed by the rooster in the morning. The upstairs rooms also were better, as you could hear your upstairs neighbors in the downstairs rooms
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dulin38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Great hotel! Five minute walk from a huge supermarket and maximum ten minute walk to Monteverde centrum. Good rooms, clean and big. Friendly staff, family hangs around in the restaurant all day long. They close the restaurant and everything else at 8.30 and then it is more or less quiet so it isn't suitable for people who want to hang out in the sitting areas at night.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Asnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay in this hotel. Rooms were big and clean. Breakfasts were incredible and the staff super friendly. We highly recommend this place. They even helped us with tours and recommended good restaurants in the area. If you want an inexpensive, but friendly, clean and comfortable hotel this is your place.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vabest2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We stayed here with an educational tour group. It was certainly not a 5 star hotel but it was definitely comfortable and the staff was so friendly. This stop was midway on a 10 day tour of the country and all the accommodations were made for us through the tour. All three meals during the entire tour were generally provided by the hotel and this hotel was the best. They served homemade pizzas one night, pancakes for breakfast one morning. It was a nice break from the three meals of rice and beans we had been getting used to. The short walk in to town for ice cream, lattes or groceries was very convenient and the thunder and lightening shows from the deck of the hotel at night were spectacular. There is no A/C in the rooms but the nights are very cool so we were comfortable. There were a lot of sugar ants in our room but honestly compared to what we had in other locations, that was fine. Our biggest complaint is that each night the dogs in the local neighborhood would bark nonstop. That was annoying, otherwise it was quaint. You may want to inquire about student groups though - if you don't want to stay with 40 high school aged students this may not be the place for you.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4willtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews