We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cabinas Capulin
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$126
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$98
$95
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$72
$68
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$90
$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$55
$50
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel El Sueno(Santa Elena)
$26
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$236
$229
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$45
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (169)
Filter reviews
169 results
Traveler rating
103
49
14
3
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
103
49
14
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscloud forestcosta ricainteresting birdsmonteverde reserverustic cabinthe kitchengreat view of the valleyshort staygravel roadwalk into townfruitquiet locationtoilet paperper nighttwo nightsgreat place to stayeggs
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
90 - 95 of 169 reviews
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Amazing views, friendly and helpful staff, lovely cabins - by far our favourite hotel during our two week trip. It's a little walk into town, but most if not all Monteverde tours will include pick up & drop off within the price. Highly recommended.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Dino K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Away from town but we had rental car. Right next to Skywalk and we saw and heard people ziplining from our balcony! We got Cabin 5 (of 5-6-7 row), the closest to the walk way. You'll hear people walk pass your cabin. #7 would be more private. The room was nice, clean and quiet. The view was nice but somewhat blocked by trees. We parked our rental car down by the reception area and walked up the hill to the cabin because not much space to park close to these cabins. Anibal was very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: You'll hear people walk pass your cabin (#5). #7 would be more private.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ND i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

The cabins are spacious, clean and in the middle of the jungle. Excellent view of the forest. Annibal is friendly and helpful. The cabins are a little away from the town. If you have your own vehicle it would be easy or you might want to bring packed food. It was a good experience overall in a secluded cabin.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swaham123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We stayed in Casa de Montana, aka Cabin 8 and it was spectacular. An amazing view of the gulf, tons of space, and a little kitchen, all for a very reasonable price. There's a 1 km trail on the property through some very nice forest, and lots of birds right by the cabin (we saw a Lineated Woodpecker while eating breakfast and had a Blue-Crowned Motmot pretty much living in the backyard). We had a car, which is probably a good idea for staying here - I think the walk to Santa Elena might seem kind of long at night.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

I stayed at the Cabinas Capulin for one night with a group of 10 people. The staff (all family!) were more than willing to accomodate any needs of ours and made us fresh meals with fruit from the local farmer's market. All of the cabins come with a little kitchenette so you can cook a meal or save some yummy local cheese in the fridge. The beds were AMAZING. We had stayed in 3 different hotels in Costa Rica before and this was the by far the best sleep of all of them. We watched the sunset from a giant rope swing on a hill on the property. It was the best sunset I have seen in Costa Rica. You can look out onto the Gulf of Nicoya from your balcony and watch the sunset if you don't want to walk to the rope swing, however, we would all recommend it. There is also a place where you could set up a little bonfire (if you ask the staff I am sure they would be willing to help you out) and have a nice little bbq or something. The cabins are so well priced for what you get. It's actually incredible. It's a little bit out of the center of town (Santa Elena), but it's not a difficult walk, and a taxi is only about $5. This was the perfect place to stay!

Room Tip: If you are travelling in a group, try to snag the cabin with 5 rooms :)
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank monteverdegreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews