We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Monteverde Villa Lodge
Ranked #2 of 14 Santa Elena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We had a great time at this place. The breakfast was awesome, the owner and his family were extremely helpful and friendly. Would stay at this plave again on future visits and would recommend this place without hesitation

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sraja123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (483)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

167 - 173 of 483 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile


We had a villa room for 3 nights and were impressed by how big and clean and quiet it was (and had a fridge too). The people running it were super friendly and helpful. The tico breakfast option was delicious.

Villa lodge is about a 10 minute walk from the centre of town, and just off the main road, which makes it a peaceful option. The town seemed pretty noisy so we were happy to be slightly off the beaten track. there were a couple of restaurants and a corner shop about 250m away, so it was pretty convenient when we didn't feel like going all the way into town.

There was a cat which howled one night when it got really windy, but other than that it was a really quiet and lovely place and we recommend it.

Stayed: January 2014
Thank scn_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

This is a small hotel located close to the center of Santa Elena. The rooms were large and comfortable. The hotel managers (Ana, Heiner and Wendy) were very friendly and helpful. They helped me to confirm our activities and always went the extra step to be friendly. They were fun to speak with.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJC94000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Heiner and Ana are very friendly hosts who do their best to make you feel at home and suggest tours and restaurants.
We stayed in one of the upper level family rooms and it was huge. Everything was clean and worked. Breakfast was included and it was great. We had the Costa Rica breakfast each morning and it kept us going for a long time. Wi-Fi was a bit intermittent but I was not there to work. My wife did have trouble sleeping as it was quite windy during our stay and the gusts were really buffeting our room. Not the properties fault though.

Room Tip: I might go for a room on the first level if it is windy.
See more room tips
Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank AnotherOntarioguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

We spent 3 nights at the Monteverde Villa Lodge and had a grand time. The cabanas are very comfortable. Nothing fancy, but super clean, well designed, functional. Heiner and Ana are extremely dedicated and friendly hosts who go the extra mile to make you feel at home. Some problem with the hot water, but Heiner fixed it promptly. Have only praises for the lodge and will certainly visit again when in Costa Rica. Heiner also gives excellent advice on tours and such, even arranges guides and recommends restaurants and sites to visit. Heiner and Ana even surprised me with a birthday celebration! Incredible experience at the cabanas!

Room Tip: All rooms are perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yobbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Heiner and Ana were probably the most nicest people we've met in Costa Rica, and we've met a lot of nice people over there! The B&B is about a 10 minute walk to the centre of Santa Elena, and all the tours. Ana told us all about the possibilities there and even wanted to help us with the bookings.

When we got back in the afternoons she always made us some coffee, tea or juice. And always took care that we felt 'at home'.

It was a very pleasant stay, with a very good breakfast! Thank you Ana and Heiner!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JKlaij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Our family (two teens) stayed in a family room for two evenings while exploring the region. We were thankful each day to return to the Lodge and the oasis of tranquility it offers in the bustling town. It's larger family sized rooms, with three beds, lots of windows, vaulted ceiling was perfect. The hearty breakfast choices were an amazing way to start the day. While we had a car, it was only a 7-10 minute walk to local food and the heart of town. Heiner was wonderful in providing advice on local outings for our short stay, good restaurants, and he assisted with quick tour arrangements. We arrived in town at 12:30 and by 1:30 were on a Canyoning tour and by 5:30 at night-walk - whew! We highly recommend this wonderful lodge!

Room Tip: The family rooms (three beds) are a wonderful value and provide a lot of space and we enjoyed the en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdventureFamilyBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.7 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#6 of 20 in Monteverde
251 reviews
0.5 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 20 in Monteverde
1,130 reviews
1.1 mi away
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
1.2 mi away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#1 of 20 in Monteverde
1,348 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cala Lodge
Cala Lodge
#5 of 20 in Monteverde
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monteverde Villa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monteverde Villa Lodge

Address: 250 meteres west from Orquidias Hotel | 500 meters from super Compro super Marker, Santa Elena 5654, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Elena
Price Range: $61 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Monteverde Villa Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monteverde Villa Lodge nestled in the heart of Santa Elena Monteverde steps away from adventure tours, banks, restaurants, and the Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde Villa Lodge is on the pulse of the nature isle - perfect for researchers, students and tourist.Monteverde Villa Lodge boasts 8 rooms designed with distinctive charm using precious woods and great family-style ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Monteverde Villa Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteverde Villa Hotel Santa Elena
Monteverde Villa Lodge Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing