We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good hospitality, average rooms” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Monteverde Villa Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Monteverde Villa Lodge
Ranked #2 of 13 Santa Elena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good hospitality, average rooms”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

we chose this place based on trip advisor reviews. We loved the owners, they are very warm and gave us good tips on tours and even called to book them for us. the breakfasts every morning were also wonderful. The downside to this place are the extremely thin walls. We did not get a wink of sleep. In the first room we stayed in (double cabin room) we were disturbed all night by the neighbors dogs that were barking nonstop. We are from NYC so we are used to noise, but this was just unbearable. On our last night we were moved upstairs to an economy room, and it was even worse.. Mixed with the dog barking was our neighbors talking and laughing in the room next door. We could literally hear every word of their conversation it was so bad. The shower also had literally 1 minute of hot water, which in Monteverde is bad because it is pretty cold there. Aside from the wonderful people that own this establishment, we were not very pleased with this stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Naomi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    86
    18
    1
    2
See reviews for
100
224
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aalsmeer, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
253 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We, a family of four stayed in bungalow 8, which has a queen bed and two singles. Upon arrival we were welcomed and got a lot of info on Monteverde. After we were brought to the bungalow we got lemonade and coffee. The bungalow was very clean. Though the bungalow is spacious the bathroom is rather small. The breakfast was nice and more than sufficient. Definitely, a place to stay with a personal touch.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MvdHoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philomath, Oregon
Level Contributor
91 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Like other reviews, this place was great for our family. We had the room with three beds and small kitchen. The owners were extremely friendly and helpful. They booked tours and made sure we enjoyed our time in Monteverde. The room was spotless, breakfast was tasty and our teenage boys enjoyed pancakes for a change of pace one morning. The location was a five minute walk into town and on a quiet street. I would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cobyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for two nights while visiting Monteverde, Curi Cancha & Santa Maria parks.

The service we received was excellent, the hotel is locally owned, the rooms were spotless and extremely spacious with a small kitchenette. Breakfasts were also very tasty.

Overall we'd recommend this hotel, especially if you're looking for something away from the very centre of Santa Elena.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RichF004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed at Monteverde Villa Lodge for 2 nights. We arrived and the owner immediately greeted us with fresh lemon aid. Our rooms were large and very clean - my family stayed in room 8 at the far end of the lodge while my sisters slept in room 6. Both rooms had microwave ovens, a sink and a nice bathroom with hot water. The beds were firm and had more blankets than we needed, even though the evenings were cool.

I can't say enough about the owners. Very nice, very helpful. They helped us book tours and find restaurants (the pizza place around the corner is especially good) and their recommendations were spot-on. They even called every single night tour operator to find prices for kids and get tour times. The breakfast was delicious, and they were always ready with a cup of coffee or tea (or hot chocolate for my kids) whenever we were in the common areas.

The hotel is a 10 minute walk to downtown Santa Elena. The street it's on isn't particularly nice, but hopefully that won't stop anyone from staying there. Very good value for the money with excellent service.

Room Tip: Room 8 had very weak wifi - the rooms closer to the hotel reception area had better reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed one night at this lovely hotel and I must say it was the best hospitality we received in all of Costa Rica! The rooms were super clean and the very kind owner, Heiner even brought an extra bed. Both husband, wife and son were very hospitable. Very good info with surrounding tours and excellent breakfast in the morning. I felt safe. It was very homey. Definitely stay here!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kglastetter93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Spend 3 nights here after time in Arenal; now heading to Manuel Antonio Nat. Park. Excellent service, clean rooms, extremely helpful in booking and recommending tours. Traveling with another family, we enjoyed excellent breakfast every morning and hanging out in the lobby area in the evening after long days of hikes/tours. Providing laundry service was excellent!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sasha E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
1.0 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
0.4 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 22 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 stars 868 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#4 of 22 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 stars 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#5 of 22 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 stars 108 reviews
1.1 mi away
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
0.6 mi away
Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monteverde Villa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monteverde Villa Lodge

Property: Monteverde Villa Lodge
Address: 250 meteres west from Orquidias Hotel | 500 meters from super Compro super Marker, Santa Elena 5654, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Monteverde Villa Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monteverde Villa Lodge nestled in the heart of Santa Elena Monteverde steps away from adventure tours, banks, restaurants, and the Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde Villa Lodge is on the pulse of the nature isle - perfect for researchers, students and tourist.Monteverde Villa Lodge boasts 4 rooms designed with distinctive charm using precious woods and great family-style ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Monteverde Villa Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteverde Villa Hotel Santa Elena
Monteverde Villa Lodge Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing