We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Support humble businesses? Visit Monteverde Villa Lodge in Monteverde!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Monteverde Villa Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Monteverde Villa Lodge
Ranked #2 of 14 Santa Elena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Turrialba, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Support humble businesses? Visit Monteverde Villa Lodge in Monteverde!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

When visiting Monteverde, we never want to stay anywhere else but Monteverde Villa Lodge. There is something about the simplicity + calmness + friendly atmosphere provided by these quaint little cabinas that just equals a great stay.

This hotel property is small, quiet, and located within walking distance to downtown Santa Elena. Rates are greatly priced, breakfast is included, and the cabins offer preferred amenities such as hot water, wireless internet, cable tv, and kitchenettes. Beyond these desired features, the best thing about this hotel is its owners – Heiner and Ana. New friends of ours as a result of our regular stays at their hotel, these two individuals offer travellers more than they could ask for, from friendly service with a smile to great advice about their town. The icing on the cake (or should I say the jelly on the toast?) was the homemade guava jam served at breakfast made from the guava fruit trees at the front of the hotel.

When travellers ask us for an affordable place to stay in Monteverde, we always think of Monteverde Villa Lodge first. We couldn’t ask for more from this accommodation option – the tranquil cabins are a perfect representative of the calmness that is Monteverde, and we are happy to recommend this accommodation option to other travellers.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CostaRicaTravelBlog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    89
    21
    1
    2
See reviews for
106
228
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

We spent two nights here. The owner and his wife are the nicest people. When we checked in, we were offered refreshments right away, and they helped us find all the things to do in the area. At breakfast he went out of his way to make sure we were comfortable and both of them were always very friendly. The rooms are not fancy but they're large and clean. It was a really nice place to stay

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bay area, ca
Level Contributor
75 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

This place was recommended to us by our hotel folks in arenal ... We were greeted by Cristina Ana who immediately offered us refreshments of our choice. Once we settled into our room , she gave us all options of places to eat at, tours to go with, places to visit and such. What we also realised is she takes feedback from all her guests about the various tours , and then refines her recommendation to the future guests.

They would call and coordinate different tours and pick ups and it worked beautifully . Not once was there a misstep from them.

The rooms were quite nice and adequate. No complaints on that front either. When the power went out for a brief while, Ana was immediately at our door asking us if we needed torch lights.

The breakfast was wholesome with a choice of toast and egg , pancakes or the local tico breakfast. They would have the breakfast ready early if we requested it.

On our last day we changed our plans and instead of going to San Jose we decided to goto Manuel Antiono at the very last minute. Ana was very very accommodating , calling all shuttle services finding out the rates and finally suggesting that we rent a car . We spent a few hours after check out waiting for the car to arrive and they didn't mind at all. They were extremely helpful, warm and friendly folks and it is things like these that make your travel and experience at a place special.

Highly recommended and we wouldn't think twice about where to stay the next time we around in Monte Verde.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kelvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

We spent 3 nights at Monteverde Villa Lodge. The owner and his wife went out of their way to be helpful. The cabins are large and very quiet. Unlike in other areas of Costa Rica, air conditioning is not needed here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anewdayanewplace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

Stayed with my wife for 3 days in April and we had a wonderful experience. The Cabin was large and clean. The outside light was not working on arrival and it was fixed immediately. We asked for a coffee maker and microwave and they were brought to us on demand. Nothing was too much trouble and all visits that were available were booked by Heiner who always had time to help us choose. Karen on reception was also very amiable.
Breakfast was very good and plentiful with a choice of fruit, toast, pancakes, plantain etc.
Drinks included fruit juice,tea, coffee, chocolate and you could always ask for more.
It was nice to go somewhere and feel so comfortable, as if staying with unobtrusive relatives!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BobGuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

Great stay. The room was large and clean and had everything we needed. Heiner, the host, was incredibly helpful and hospitable and made us a delicious breakfast as well as helping us book local tours. We never got to meet Erick. There was no AC in the room, but it was not needed anyhow, and we didn't even use the fan that was provided. The location is good - just a 10 minute walk into the tiny town center, including the supermarket. Monteverde has several loud trucks that rattle past so the quieter location makes sense! The only downside is that the room was quite dark as there is not much natural sunlight that gets through all the vegetation, but this was a minor inconvenience. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

We just stayed at Monteverde Villa Lodge for 2 nights. Hainor and his wife were wonderful hosts. Our room (#5) was clean, quiet and spacious. They were so kind as to bring us coffee and toast/homemade jam to our room upon check-in. It was like being greeted by old friends! We were there w/my parents (68 & 66 yrs old).

Relatively easy to find, very accommodating, well-lit at night.

Breakfast was very filling and tasty! First morning we had a traditional breakfast w/gallo pinto, eggs, cheese and ripe plantain. The 2nd morning we had tasty pancakes w/scrambled eggs. Afternoon coffee was available if you were around.

We took a nature walk tour at the Curi-Cancha reserve w/Rafael (Hainor knows him) for $20/pp the first morning there. We saw the resplendant quetzal, bell bird, and many others! It was a half day tour (early morning). Highly recommend him as a tour guide!!

Room Tip: We had 5 & 6. 5 has two double beds. 6 has a double bed and single bed. Room 7 has 2 doubles I t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelmunky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
1.0 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
0.4 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 22 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
0.7 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#4 of 22 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#7 of 22 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
1.1 mi away
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
1.2 mi away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#1 of 22 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monteverde Villa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monteverde Villa Lodge

Property: Monteverde Villa Lodge
Address: 250 meteres west from Orquidias Hotel | 500 meters from super Compro super Marker, Santa Elena 5654, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Monteverde Villa Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monteverde Villa Lodge nestled in the heart of Santa Elena Monteverde steps away from adventure tours, banks, restaurants, and the Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde Villa Lodge is on the pulse of the nature isle - perfect for researchers, students and tourist.Monteverde Villa Lodge boasts 8 rooms designed with distinctive charm using precious woods and great family-style ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Monteverde Villa Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteverde Villa Hotel Santa Elena
Monteverde Villa Lodge Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing