We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Monteverde Villa Lodge
Ranked #2 of 14 Santa Elena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We spent 3 nights at Monteverde Villa Lodge. The owner and his wife went out of their way to be helpful. The cabins are large and very quiet. Unlike in other areas of Costa Rica, air conditioning is not needed here.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anewdayanewplace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (483)
There are newer reviews for Monteverde Villa Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

198 - 204 of 483 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2013

Stayed with my wife for 3 days in April and we had a wonderful experience. The Cabin was large and clean. The outside light was not working on arrival and it was fixed immediately. We asked for a coffee maker and microwave and they were brought to us on demand. Nothing was too much trouble and all visits that were available were booked by Heiner who always had time to help us choose. Karen on reception was also very amiable.
Breakfast was very good and plentiful with a choice of fruit, toast, pancakes, plantain etc.
Drinks included fruit juice,tea, coffee, chocolate and you could always ask for more.
It was nice to go somewhere and feel so comfortable, as if staying with unobtrusive relatives!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobGuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Great stay. The room was large and clean and had everything we needed. Heiner, the host, was incredibly helpful and hospitable and made us a delicious breakfast as well as helping us book local tours. We never got to meet Erick. There was no AC in the room, but it was not needed anyhow, and we didn't even use the fan that was provided. The location is good - just a 10 minute walk into the tiny town center, including the supermarket. Monteverde has several loud trucks that rattle past so the quieter location makes sense! The only downside is that the room was quite dark as there is not much natural sunlight that gets through all the vegetation, but this was a minor inconvenience. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pete B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We just stayed at Monteverde Villa Lodge for 2 nights. Hainor and his wife were wonderful hosts. Our room (#5) was clean, quiet and spacious. They were so kind as to bring us coffee and toast/homemade jam to our room upon check-in. It was like being greeted by old friends! We were there w/my parents (68 & 66 yrs old).

Relatively easy to find, very accommodating, well-lit at night.

Breakfast was very filling and tasty! First morning we had a traditional breakfast w/gallo pinto, eggs, cheese and ripe plantain. The 2nd morning we had tasty pancakes w/scrambled eggs. Afternoon coffee was available if you were around.

We took a nature walk tour at the Curi-Cancha reserve w/Rafael (Hainor knows him) for $20/pp the first morning there. We saw the resplendant quetzal, bell bird, and many others! It was a half day tour (early morning). Highly recommend him as a tour guide!!

Room Tip: We had 5 & 6. 5 has two double beds. 6 has a double bed and single bed. Room 7 has 2 doubles I t...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelmunky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We just stayed at this place in one of the cabina's and it was nice, clean and walking distance to the down town area. I think it was the owner of the place and he was super nice and very willing to help. He spoke pretty good english and was eager to learn more english and also teach spanish. We stayed here two nights and had breakfast there twice and it was very good. The only complaint was the wind at night and it shook the whole cabina but there is nothing that the hotel could do about that of course :) All around I would recommend this place and great for the price.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Me and my dad stayed at the lodge for 3 nights. Heiner and his staff were very professional, and very knowledgeable about things to do in the area, travel arrangements etc. Heiner clearly makes it his mission that everyone gets one they need and have a great time during their stay.

The breakfast was great, and so were the rooms. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Orennnnnnnnnnnnnnnnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

This was the perfect little private place to stay within a safe 8-10 minute walk to Santa Elaina. The rooms were very spacious with everything you would need including a kitchen area and private bathroom with plenty of hot water! Anna and Heiner (The owners) were so kind and helpful in planning activities and serving the most wonderful and delicious breakfast every morning. This is all included in your stay. We had pancakes, toast, the typical rice & beans with scrambled eggs, and fresh fruit! I would highly recommend this place to stay if you just need a clean room and great service (there is no pool or fitness center). It is great for any kind of trip including families, couples, solo, or friends traveling together. We were very pleased with our 2 night stay here.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.7 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#6 of 20 in Monteverde
249 reviews
1.1 mi away
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
0.5 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 20 in Monteverde
1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
1.2 mi away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#1 of 20 in Monteverde
1,341 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 20 in Monteverde
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monteverde Villa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monteverde Villa Lodge

Address: 250 meteres west from Orquidias Hotel | 500 meters from super Compro super Marker, Santa Elena 5654, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Elena
Price Range: $69 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Monteverde Villa Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monteverde Villa Lodge nestled in the heart of Santa Elena Monteverde steps away from adventure tours, banks, restaurants, and the Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde Villa Lodge is on the pulse of the nature isle - perfect for researchers, students and tourist.Monteverde Villa Lodge boasts 8 rooms designed with distinctive charm using precious woods and great family-style ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Monteverde Villa Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteverde Villa Hotel Santa Elena
Monteverde Villa Lodge Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing