We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monteverde Villa Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Monteverde Villa Lodge
Ranked #2 of 13 Santa Elena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We spent 3 nights at Monteverde Villa Lodge. The owner and his wife went out of their way to be helpful. The cabins are large and very quiet. Unlike in other areas of Costa Rica, air conditioning is not needed here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anewdayanewplace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    86
    18
    1
    2
See reviews for
100
224
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Stayed with my wife for 3 days in April and we had a wonderful experience. The Cabin was large and clean. The outside light was not working on arrival and it was fixed immediately. We asked for a coffee maker and microwave and they were brought to us on demand. Nothing was too much trouble and all visits that were available were booked by Heiner who always had time to help us choose. Karen on reception was also very amiable.
Breakfast was very good and plentiful with a choice of fruit, toast, pancakes, plantain etc.
Drinks included fruit juice,tea, coffee, chocolate and you could always ask for more.
It was nice to go somewhere and feel so comfortable, as if staying with unobtrusive relatives!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BobGuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Great stay. The room was large and clean and had everything we needed. Heiner, the host, was incredibly helpful and hospitable and made us a delicious breakfast as well as helping us book local tours. We never got to meet Erick. There was no AC in the room, but it was not needed anyhow, and we didn't even use the fan that was provided. The location is good - just a 10 minute walk into the tiny town center, including the supermarket. Monteverde has several loud trucks that rattle past so the quieter location makes sense! The only downside is that the room was quite dark as there is not much natural sunlight that gets through all the vegetation, but this was a minor inconvenience. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We just stayed at Monteverde Villa Lodge for 2 nights. Hainor and his wife were wonderful hosts. Our room (#5) was clean, quiet and spacious. They were so kind as to bring us coffee and toast/homemade jam to our room upon check-in. It was like being greeted by old friends! We were there w/my parents (68 & 66 yrs old).

Relatively easy to find, very accommodating, well-lit at night.

Breakfast was very filling and tasty! First morning we had a traditional breakfast w/gallo pinto, eggs, cheese and ripe plantain. The 2nd morning we had tasty pancakes w/scrambled eggs. Afternoon coffee was available if you were around.

We took a nature walk tour at the Curi-Cancha reserve w/Rafael (Hainor knows him) for $20/pp the first morning there. We saw the resplendant quetzal, bell bird, and many others! It was a half day tour (early morning). Highly recommend him as a tour guide!!

Room Tip: We had 5 & 6. 5 has two double beds. 6 has a double bed and single bed. Room 7 has 2 doubles I t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelmunky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We just stayed at this place in one of the cabina's and it was nice, clean and walking distance to the down town area. I think it was the owner of the place and he was super nice and very willing to help. He spoke pretty good english and was eager to learn more english and also teach spanish. We stayed here two nights and had breakfast there twice and it was very good. The only complaint was the wind at night and it shook the whole cabina but there is nothing that the hotel could do about that of course :) All around I would recommend this place and great for the price.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Me and my dad stayed at the lodge for 3 nights. Heiner and his staff were very professional, and very knowledgeable about things to do in the area, travel arrangements etc. Heiner clearly makes it his mission that everyone gets one they need and have a great time during their stay.

The breakfast was great, and so were the rooms. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Orennnnnnnnnnnnnnnnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noblesville, Indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

This was the perfect little private place to stay within a safe 8-10 minute walk to Santa Elaina. The rooms were very spacious with everything you would need including a kitchen area and private bathroom with plenty of hot water! Anna and Heiner (The owners) were so kind and helpful in planning activities and serving the most wonderful and delicious breakfast every morning. This is all included in your stay. We had pancakes, toast, the typical rice & beans with scrambled eggs, and fresh fruit! I would highly recommend this place to stay if you just need a clean room and great service (there is no pool or fitness center). It is great for any kind of trip including families, couples, solo, or friends traveling together. We were very pleased with our 2 night stay here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
1.0 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
0.4 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 22 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 stars 869 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#4 of 22 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 stars 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#5 of 22 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 stars 109 reviews
1.1 mi away
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
0.6 mi away
Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monteverde Villa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monteverde Villa Lodge

Property: Monteverde Villa Lodge
Address: 250 meteres west from Orquidias Hotel | 500 meters from super Compro super Marker, Santa Elena 5654, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Monteverde Villa Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monteverde Villa Lodge nestled in the heart of Santa Elena Monteverde steps away from adventure tours, banks, restaurants, and the Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde Villa Lodge is on the pulse of the nature isle - perfect for researchers, students and tourist.Monteverde Villa Lodge boasts 4 rooms designed with distinctive charm using precious woods and great family-style ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Monteverde Villa Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteverde Villa Hotel Santa Elena
Monteverde Villa Lodge Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing