We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Best stay on our trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monteverde Villa Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Monteverde Villa Lodge
Ranked #2 of 14 Santa Elena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best stay on our trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We were 3 famililies which stayed for one night. It was by far the best service we received on our 10 day tip. Heiner set us up with a night tour which we thoroughly enjoyed. The breakfast was amazing because of the quality and Heiners service.
The cabins had everything we needed and were far enough away from town to be quiet.
I don't write many reviews but Heiners service was so good I felt it would be a disservice not to.
Thanks again Heiner and Anna for making our short stay so great

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nebcycler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    89
    20
    1
    2
See reviews for
105
228
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

The people who run the b&b are lovely. however, several of the rooms have a terrible fecal smell. They need to fix the septic tanks. Our room had ants in bathroom. Room was small and rustic. Taxi to town easy to get and cost about thee dollars.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 972traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erickht, Manager at Monteverde Villa Lodge, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear friend
Please accept our apologize for the inconvenient you had about the smell in our lodge. Unfortunately we had a broken pipe on those days. We already fixed and it is was a non common situation.
We do hope you can visit us again and enjoy Monteverde as many of our guests who love our hospitality.

Our best

Heiner Badila / Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Extremely nice, recently constructed lodge. Clean, comfortable and spacious.
The owners (Haynner, Anna and their 4 year old son) are extremely conscientious and attentive. The breakfast was terrific, with many choices and lots of fresh fruit, in an attractive dining area.
Short walk to town, or a $2 taxi ride.

If you're heading for Santa Elena, this is a great place to stay.
And while you're there, let Desafio Adventures arrange a guided cloud forest hike.

Room Tip: We needed three beds and they were happy to accomodate. Our upstairs room was very comfortable, alt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

1. Great service. The owner is very nice. He help us book the tours. Also we forgot the camera in the hotel and he mail it back to us.
2. Clean rooms. We have a family with 6 people. We feel like stay at home.
3. Breakfast is very good.
4. Price is reasonable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yong2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

This is a great stay for those on a (reasonable) budget but who want comfort and proximity. On arrival we were told that it would be best to get a taxi to go to Santa Elena as it was too far to walk, but there must have been a language issue, because the town is only a short walk away. There was a sloth in a tree on our walk back, about a meter above our heads!

The Villa Lodge does not pretend to be a spa resort, but it is a completely adequate base for exploring the remarkable surrounding area, and the staff could not be nicer or more accommodating.

Tip: if you're going to do a night walk in one of the cloud forest areas, beware that it may be close to impossible to find a place open for dinner after the walk!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank epsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Great family run place! Excellent service and help with booking transfers and tours.
The location is a short walk to main part of santa elena but easy to get around and to get tithe reserve.
The included breakfast was also good. Overall incredible value and very enjoyable .

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shashann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grecia, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Professional booking, warm welcome, very clean bedroom & bathroom, simple but very funcional.

The owner Heiner and his Staff are professional, very friendly and extremely helpful in recommending sites, tours and other activities as well as restaurantes.

The breakfast was outstanding considering that this is a 2-3 star accomodation which included feshly made omlettes, or other warm dishes like the traditional Costa Rican breakfast. As well as a broad selection of fruits and tea & coffee.

Room Tip: You have the options of seperate cabins which were excellent and bedrooms above the reception which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
1.0 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
0.4 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 22 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 stars 897 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#4 of 22 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 stars 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#5 of 22 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 stars 131 reviews
1.1 mi away
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
0.6 mi away
Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monteverde Villa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monteverde Villa Lodge

Property: Monteverde Villa Lodge
Address: 250 meteres west from Orquidias Hotel | 500 meters from super Compro super Marker, Santa Elena 5654, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Monteverde Villa Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monteverde Villa Lodge nestled in the heart of Santa Elena Monteverde steps away from adventure tours, banks, restaurants, and the Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde Villa Lodge is on the pulse of the nature isle - perfect for researchers, students and tourist.Monteverde Villa Lodge boasts 4 rooms designed with distinctive charm using precious woods and great family-style ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Monteverde Villa Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteverde Villa Hotel Santa Elena
Monteverde Villa Lodge Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing