We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Excellent stay !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Monteverde Villa Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Monteverde Villa Lodge
Ranked #2 of 14 Santa Elena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent stay !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

Great family run place! Excellent service and help with booking transfers and tours.
The location is a short walk to main part of santa elena but easy to get around and to get tithe reserve.
The included breakfast was also good. Overall incredible value and very enjoyable .

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shashann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    90
    22
    1
    2
See reviews for
110
228
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grecia, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

Professional booking, warm welcome, very clean bedroom & bathroom, simple but very funcional.

The owner Heiner and his Staff are professional, very friendly and extremely helpful in recommending sites, tours and other activities as well as restaurantes.

The breakfast was outstanding considering that this is a 2-3 star accomodation which included feshly made omlettes, or other warm dishes like the traditional Costa Rican breakfast. As well as a broad selection of fruits and tea & coffee.

Room Tip: You have the options of seperate cabins which were excellent and bedrooms above the reception which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

We spent 3 nights in Monteverde and stayed at the Villa Lodge. The cabins are basic, have a tiny TV but are clean and well maintained. The location is a 10 minute stroll down a rough rocky road to the "centre" of town but that was fine with us. The area is quiet and away from the motorcycle traffic of the main street.
Breakfasts are good with 3 choices and fruit is served for all choices.
Heiner and his staff are eager to please and will make all arrangements for taxis, tours, shuttles, etc. They would even prepare coffee for us at night. We did not have a car but can attest the Villa Lodge has plenty of secure parking.
One fact to note is that the Monteverde area has tremendous winds in the December - January period. This has nothing to do with the Villa Lodge as accommodations, just a note about the area.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kent M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reva, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

A bit removed from downtown Santa Elena, the Monteverde Villa Lodge was clean, quiet, and served a large breakfast in a pleasant dining room, with your choice of American or typical Costa Rican food. We were two couples, each with a room in the main lodge. The rooms were large, clean, sparsely but adequately furnished, and could each have accommodated a family (one actually had two bathrooms). There was a television in each room, and there is wi-fi in the lobby. The only thing missing was a lamp by the bed so that one could read. The shower was good and hot. The staff was friendly and helpful, and we were greeted with a welcome lemonade or coffee.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cleopatra714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Libertyville, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

This was our second trip to Monteverde and we were referred to this small hotel. What we found was clean, safe hotel run by the nicest people. Heiner and Ana were not only friendly, they went out of their way to be helpful. They welcome guests with tea or coffee on the house. The (included) breakfast was outstanding with plenty of choice, amazing coffee and wonderful fresh fruit to complement a cooked breakfast. The value was amazing - in fact the best value we had in all of Costa Rica. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CMich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

My sister and I were backpacking through Costa Rica together and wanted a safe yet cheap place to stay in Santa Elena. We wanted a private bathroom and a kitchenette so we could make our own suppers. This place gave us everything we needed and at a cheap price. It is by far the cleanest place I saw in Costa Rica. Ana and Heiner are amazing, nice and helpful (the reviews are true!). They obviously care a lot about their clients. Breakfast in the morning is included and is a yummy huge meal that keeps you full well past lunch time. They have a really sociable dog that followed us around the village for the week we were there. We will definitely stay there again in the future and recommend it to everyone going to Santa Elena!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elisabeth1288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

I booked this place based on the reviews on TripAdvisor, but was slightly skeptical about just how nice Ana and Heiner were...until I met them. They have to be the kindest, most genuine people I have ever met. When we checked in Ana took the time to go over the area with us and recommend different activities for us to do based on our interests, after we had been in our room for a bit she brought us coffee, tea and a fresh fruit plate with chocolates. They called a taxi for us with the most amazing driver who took us on a mini tour of Monteverde and the breakfast in the morning was huge and delicious. We had only booked one night in Monteverde and I was kicking myself that we couldn't stay longer. I can't thank them enough for making our stay absolutely perfect.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahEGM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.7 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#5 of 23 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.4 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 23 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
1.0 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
1.2 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 23 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monteverde Villa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monteverde Villa Lodge

Property: Monteverde Villa Lodge
Address: 250 meteres west from Orquidias Hotel | 500 meters from super Compro super Marker, Santa Elena 5654, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Monteverde Villa Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monteverde Villa Lodge nestled in the heart of Santa Elena Monteverde steps away from adventure tours, banks, restaurants, and the Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde Villa Lodge is on the pulse of the nature isle - perfect for researchers, students and tourist.Monteverde Villa Lodge boasts 8 rooms designed with distinctive charm using precious woods and great family-style ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Monteverde Villa Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteverde Villa Hotel Santa Elena
Monteverde Villa Lodge Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing