We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Monteverde Villa Lodge
Ranked #2 of 14 Santa Elena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Alajuela, Costa Rica
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Place”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

The true allways for my when I have to travel to Monteverde this is the best place, is like home. This family that own this hotel always make me happy.
The breakfast is great, fruts, juice, gallo pinto, cafe and they have many options for breakfast if somebody wants something else.

Room Tip: Any room is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    98
    24
    1
    2
See reviews for
118
234
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

We stayed at the Monteverde Villa Lodge for 4 nights in August 2012. From the moment we arrived, we enjoyed the warm hospitality of Ana and Heiner. (Heiner's brother operates the equally well-reviewed Monteverde Rustic Lodge.) Free coffee in the lobby, free internet terminal, sumptuous breakfast in the morning (they even save it for you if you rise late!). The hosts have a ready smile for everyone, even if some of the guests are (unjustifiably) gruff to them. The lodge is a little bit out of town but still a perfectly easy 5-10 minute walk from the town center of Santa Elena. (We actually liked the fact that it's away from those noisy motorbikes that squeal around town at night.) We recommend staying in the more spacious individual cabins rather than the motel-style rooms in the main building, but I'm sure both are good choices. Overall, a perfect stay and we'd gladly go back there again.

Room Tip: We recommend staying in the super-spacious individual cabins--some have three beds and are large eno...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bc399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Boyfriend and I stayed at Monteverde Villa Lodge on November 6th, 2012.

The room was very clean and spacious with 2 queen beds. It had a flat screen TV, kitchen corner with fridge and decent size bathroom. The only minus was that the mattress was not very comfortable: we rolled a bit in the middle, but we had a full night sleep regardless.

I think the staff at Monteverde Villa Lodge was the best of our Costa Rica trip: Mayco was very welcoming upon check-in and helpful with information on area activities. Other staff were very nice too.
The breakfast (which was included in room price) was delicious: plenty of fruits to start with, choice of costa rican breakfast (rice beans etc..), american breakfast (eggs etc..) or healthy cereal

We had to make a few turns to find the hotel at night, but St Elena is small so it wasn't a big deal. The plus side is that it's in a quiet location, a few blocks away from center of town.

Overall a great value.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MlleO_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nire00
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Ok, so we didn't meet everyone in Costa Rica during our trip last month, but Heiner and Ana were still two of the kindest folks we encountered during our adventure. We were warmly welcomed after a rather treacherous journey from Arenal (oh, the roads!). The room was simple, but well equipped and clean. On the morning of our departure, Heiner went beyond the call of duty and helped us change a flat tire (again - the roads!). He also took us to a nearby mechanic to have the tire plugged. We will certainly stay here again should we find ourselves passing through Santa Elena/Monteverde in the future!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nire00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We were supposed to stay at the Rustic Lodge, but they over booked it, so they transfered us to the Villa Lodge. We were disapointed, but when we arrived to the Villa Lodge, we were surprised by the owner's kindness and the cleaness of the room we got. Owners are very helpful and they run the place perfectly. The breakfast is very good and you are at 10 min walk to the village.
We highly recommand the Villa Lodge.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catherine b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 28, 2012

A very nice hotel, clean, comfortable with great value for the money. The owner is SO nice!! Breakfast is great and the service is wonderful. We enjoyed our stay and already recommended to friends traveling in costa rica.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ODbrody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

One of the best places I had in Costa Rica, great foods, clean rooms,fast wifi, and the most important thing; great hospitality and freindly host who helped us to find attractions and even helped me with car without charging a cent. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 007theshark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.5 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 20 in Monteverde
1,124 reviews
0.7 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#6 of 20 in Monteverde
246 reviews
1.1 mi away
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
1.2 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 20 in Monteverde
240 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
#13 of 20 in Monteverde
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monteverde Villa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monteverde Villa Lodge

Property: Monteverde Villa Lodge
Address: 250 meteres west from Orquidias Hotel | 500 meters from super Compro super Marker, Santa Elena 5654, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Monteverde Villa Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monteverde Villa Lodge nestled in the heart of Santa Elena Monteverde steps away from adventure tours, banks, restaurants, and the Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Monteverde Villa Lodge is on the pulse of the nature isle - perfect for researchers, students and tourist.Monteverde Villa Lodge boasts 8 rooms designed with distinctive charm using precious woods and great family-style ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Monteverde Villa Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteverde Villa Hotel Santa Elena
Monteverde Villa Lodge Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing