We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to town, clean and super friendly and helpful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mar Inn Bed & Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at Mar Inn. Great location only about 300 meters from Santa Elena but far enough away from the hustle and bustle of town. Anthony, in charge of reservations, and seemingly always working at reception 24/7, is a great guy, very friendly, knowledgable, and helpful. We experienced outstanding service from him and his familyduring our stay. Pura Vida, Anthony!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dsuen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (223)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 223 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2013

This is a charming B&B, well situated in Santa Elena. Excellent staff, Anthony is charming & extremely helpful assisting us with planning & booking activities. The breakfasts were delightful and gave us the opportunity to share travel tips & plans with like-minded guests.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CLWToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

we stayed in this hotel for 03 days. the hotel was very good, the room and the bathroom very good too. the family staff was eficient, very helpful. Antony e his mother was very loverly. we recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank joao augusto o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Rooms are very clean and offer great views. The innkeeper Anthony was wonderful, extremely friendly and helpful and speaks English very well. great breakfast, my kids loved the pancakes, and my husband and I loved the coffee. if you are traveling to Monteverde I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank astrong315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Our family of 4 stayed at the Mar Inn for 2 nights. We had a room on the 2nd floor with 2 double beds. The room opened up onto a balcony. The room and bathroom was spotless and the beds very comfortable. Breakfast each morning was fruit, and either pancakes or eggs and toast. Large portions. Anthony, made the visit exceptional. He set up a wonderful sunset horseback ride tour for us and called and reserved us a spot for our cloud forest hike. He went out of his way to make sure we were comfortable. There is wifi through out the Inn. The location of the Inn is great. It is up a hill as you come into Santa Elena and we walked into town each night. Some other locations I saw while in the area were much more remote. We loved being able to walk into town to eat, and shop. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: They have ground floor rooms so if stairs are a problem just ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TayBay05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Staying at the Mar-Inn was a very pleasant experience. Staff was very helpful and pancakes for breakfast (even early one if required for morning trips to the natural parks) were delicious. The rooms offer a great view. Recommended!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christoph D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

I stayed at this location with a group of volunteers for two weeks in July-August of 2012. The entirety of this B&B is very clean (a must for me in traveling). Giovanny and Zelmira Marin are the wonderful owners. They speak English well, but also allowed me to practice my Spanish skills. Zelmira made breakfast and dinner for us every week day, which was delicious every time. Breakfast included typical American foods (scrambled eggs, toast, etc.) while dinner usually consisted of Costa Rican cuisine (white rice and black beans). If you need advice on which sight-seeing excursions to go on, both of the owners will offer recommendations; Giovanny will happily make reservations for you. I absolutely loved this place, and I am sure you will, too!

Room Tip: The second floor has a balcony from which you have a fantastic view as close as the town to as far a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bre S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica
0.8 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#4 of 20 in Monteverde
260 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 20 in Monteverde
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cala Lodge
Cala Lodge
#5 of 20 in Monteverde
501 reviews
0.8 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
0.4 mi away
Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mar Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mar Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: Calle 8, Santa Elena 60109, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Santa Elena
Price Range: $44 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mar Inn Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at just 5min from Santa Elena downtown, Mar Inn Bed & Breakfast is your best choice to discover Monteverde. Managed by a local family, Mar Inn offers a warm and personalized service that will make every guest feel at home. The hotel offers a wonderful view to the Gulf of Nicoya, private parking and rooms with all the facilities that will make your stay a pleasant and memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Mar Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mar Inn Bed & Breakfast Monteverde, Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing