We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful and cozy, with an unbeatable host”
Review of Cabinas Eddy B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cabinas Eddy B&B
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Cabinas Eddy has consistently glowing reviews for a very clear reason: it's an absolutely delightful hotel. Immediately upon arriving, we were greeted with a warm welcome by Freddy who took us right to our room to drop off our heavy packs. It's very clean and cozy, with a comfortable bed and nice storage space to unpack a bit. The only minor inconvenience was the shower was cold the whole time we were there. In a chilly mountain town with a typical Costa Rican electric shower, it's understandable hot water would be hard to come by and not really a big deal, just something to note.

Freddy was a phenomenal host who seemed genuinely interested and vested in our enjoyable experience in Monteverde. After we dropped off our things, we stopped by the front desk where he gave us a map that he marked up with tons of great local activities and delicious restaurants. His recommendation for dinner the first night was one of the best meals we had and totally affordable.
Despite being busy with the many obligations of hotel management, he never seemed preoccupied, stressed or unavailable. He was extremely patient and willing to help however we needed. We mentioned we wanted to find a night hike and he recommended a wonderful place with one of the best rates in town, then booked it for us and gave us a discount! He also checked in on us when he saw us coming and going to make sure the tours he booked went well and to get recommendations for the future.

The hotel, overall, was wonderful. Freddy's whole family is present and involved, which offers a really warm, comfortable vibe. The included breakfast is fantastic, including fresh fruit, coffee, and a range of great options. Another point to Freddy's tremendous helpfulness and above-and-beyond approach: on our last morning we were rushing to get ready before our shuttle arrived; noting our sense of hurry Freddy rushed to prepare us a delicious breakfast burrito just in time to eat before our departure. Coffee, tea and cookies are also served throughout the day.

We would absolutely stay here again and could not recommend this more to anyone visiting Monteverde!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank flyfreebirdie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (400)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 400 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

It's no wonder there are so many shout outs for Freddy and family. Every last detail has been carefully thought out here and it's just perfect. Clean, comfortable and so customer service oriented. Amazing breakfast (try the banana pancakes with the phenomenal piña/coconut sauce) that also comes with coffee and juice. Free coffee at night, free computers to use, guest kitchen, comfortable beds, truly HOT water, tv, mini fridge in our room...we felt like we got an amazing value here. The best part though was all of the time Freddy spent with us ensuring we would enjoy our stay. He went over the whole map recommending where to go, and even the best times of the day. And when the taxis were hard to get on New Year's Day, he jumped in his jeep and drove us around town himself showing us where we could try to spot the famous Quetzal bird. With a whole hotel to run, taking an hour to show us around and get us to our next point of interest, we know why he is #1 in the monteverde area. Stay here! You'll love it, and you'll love him and the whole family!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pazYamorMyCoTU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Freddie (Eddy's brother) was incredibly friendly and helpful with every question we had. He was able to book tours for us at a discounted price and had good suggestions and tips as to what to do. The rest of the staff were friendly as well. Besides breakfast they had coffee and cake out in the afternoon for a nice snack after a long day of hiking! The free internet worked well in the lobby and ok in the room. The place was clean and felt safe and secure. The breakfasts were hearty to get you through the day! I would definitely recommend this place.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank CelisaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Eddy wins BY FAR the award for best host on the planet. I travelled a decent share and I never had the pleasure to see someone more dedicated, friendly and kind than Eddy.
I spent a couple of nights in Monteverde last December and decided to book this guesthouse based on the many positive reviews I read on tripadvisor. I booked the room by liaising directly with Eddy and reconfirmed the room and arrival time a couple of days before.
The room was ready and it was the one I requested. It was a bit small and very clean and so was the bathroom. The shower was the usual CR electric type. The room was simply furnished, but functional and very bright. The mattress was very comfortable. The entrance of the room was on the large balcony and there were chairs and table near the door.
An excellent breakfast is included in the price and served in the welcoming common area (choice of pancake, eggs in various styles or gallo pinto).
Eddy is also very knowledgeable about all tour possibilities in the area and you’ll be sure to receive the best price available (I had pre-booked my activities but checked his prices and were excellent). The whole premises are non-smoking. Coffee and tea are served daily (for free) at around 16.00/17.00 in the common area.
I would like to thank Eddy for all the time and kindness he invested in me and in all his other guests and cannot but wish him all the best for his future.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raging_Hamster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Freddy and his family were extremely helpful during our entire stay. As soon as we arrived Freddy helped us plan out our day and help with reservations to the attractions in Monteverde.
We returned late from dinner and wanted to a guide for a trip to the cloud forest the next morning and he helped us find a guide.

The rooms were very clean and well maintained

Breakfast was awesome with fresh fruit and a choice between an omelette, fried eggs and banana pancakes. They made special arrangements to get breakfast ready earlier than usual to make sure that we could get breakfast before we left at 7am.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anutham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013

This place was amazing in all aspect. The host Freddy and his family were extremely friendly and helpful. He did everything he can to make our stay perfect, and it indeed was. The location was great, the room was very clean, the beds were really comfortable, and for the first time in Cost Rica there was a real hot shower. Also, the breakfast was delicious and plentiful. We stayed here for a week and had tears in our eyes when we had to leave.

Room Tip: The rooms upstairs have a beautiful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gili W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2013

Can't ask for more! Great location and immaculate accomodations. Most of all, the owner of this family run operation was most helpful and kind, making our stay not only comfortable but memorable. We highly recommend this B&B; five stars does not do it justice. Thank you, Freddy, for making everyone's stays absolutely perfect.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanderlustspot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.6 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#4 of 20 in Monteverde
264 reviews
0.8 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
0.1 mi away
Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pension Santa Elena
Pension Santa Elena
#4 of 34 in Santa Elena
721 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rainbow Valley Lodge
Rainbow Valley Lodge
#1 of 34 in Santa Elena
533 reviews
0.2 mi away
Santa Elena Hostel Resort
Santa Elena Hostel Resort
#12 of 34 in Santa Elena
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabinas Eddy B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas Eddy B&B

Address: Located 150 Meters South West From Downtown, Santa Elena, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Santa Elena
Price Range: $39 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cabinas Eddy B&B 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Cabinas Eddy B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabinas Eddy B&B Monteverde, Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing