We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best accommodation option in Santa Elena (in my opinion)”
Review of Cabinas Eddy B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cabinas Eddy B&B
Certificate of Excellence
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Best accommodation option in Santa Elena (in my opinion)”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Cabinas Eddy for 4 nights recently.

There had generally been outstanding reviews here for this and of Freddy too. Both were true and Freddy and his family were great hosts, taking so much care in offering a first class service for a budget accommodation option. The breakfasts were great, rooms were clean and the mattresses very firm.

A very good choice for budget accommodation I believe.
Garry and Helen, Epsom, UK

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garry74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    82
    11
    2
    0
See reviews for
39
209
28
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Haven, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

I wish i could give this place a higher review. It's bare bones but clean, Freddy is, indeed, awesome. The low rating is location. The wind howeled like hurricane all night against paper thin walls. Being so close to town, right on the street, meant there were loud trucks and motorcycles passing all night. Additionally, the sound of dogs barking and birds chirping starting around 3.30am. If none of this is an issue, I say go for it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SugarAndSpice27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
basel
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Our second stay at Cabinas Eddy revealed that nothing has changed since our last visit - luckily! Prices haven't increased and the service (breakfast, information) remains just as good as it was. Keep it going!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank isaak_ionsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We stayed in Cabinas Eddy for 3 nights. We loved it there. We stayed in a great room with a nice washroom, great shower, LOVED the porch. Breakfast and coffee were great. The hotel is a 5-10 minute walk to the centre of Monteverde. It's a very small town, easy to get around, good central tourist spot with lots to offer travellers. Out of everywhere we stayed in Costa Rica (a mix of budget, mid-range, and high end), Cabinas Eddy was definitely the BEST. The staff were incredibly friendly. They arranged great tours for us at a discounted rate. I recommend the horseback riding in the sunset - absolutely awesome, not your average tourist horseback ride. Oh, and we saw a sloth twice at night while walking from Cabinas Eddy in to town for dinner!

Room Tip: No AC, but you don't need it in Monteverde, its cool there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Excellent place to stay - comfortable and clean rooms, very good breakfast and good atmosphere. Freddy Junior is a first class host who provides very trustworthy information. Special tip - get a haircut from the maestro pelliquer Freddy senior downstairs!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Cabinas Eddy is located right at the crossroads that take you to Santa Elena downtown and to Monteverde Cloud Forest Park. The service was excellent, the rooms were clean and of great value with running hot water, comfortable beds, and large shower area during our 1 night stay. The breakfast was gourmet; we especially loved the fruit and banana pancakes with coconut syrup. We felt like we were staying at a 3-star hotel rather than a hostel. It's just outside of the hustle and bustle of downtown Santa Elena, but also within walking distance, so we loved the location. Because it's right along the road, the cars were loud during the day, but at night things quieted down. We would definitely recommend this place to family and friends.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank veggi99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay, New York
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed in a second story balcony room, which was very clean and comfortable. But what was really impressive about this B&B (more of a small hotel) was not the room but the owner, Freddy. He struck us as a genuinely nice, helpful person who really cares about his guests....and he can make a terrific breakfast too! The only negative for us was the location. We would have liked a more secluded, forest setting, rather than being on the edge of town, overlooking the road. Of course for others this location could be ideal since a grocery store, restaurants, etc. are all within very easy walking distance. Even Monteverde's butterfly/frog/insect center (an enjoyable, educational place to visit by the way) was only about a ten minute walk away. In any case, this is a nice place with top-notch friendly service, at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adkmthiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.3 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 20 in Monteverde
1,118 reviews
0.6 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#6 of 20 in Monteverde
245 reviews
0.8 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 20 in Monteverde
240 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica
0.1 mi away
Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabinas Eddy B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas Eddy B&B

Property: Cabinas Eddy B&B
Address: Located 150 Meters South West From Downtown, Santa Elena, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cabinas Eddy B&B 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Cabinas Eddy B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabinas Eddy B&B Monteverde, Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing