We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best host, best place”
Review of Cabinas Eddy B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cabinas Eddy B&B
Certificate of Excellence
Squamish, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Best host, best place”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Freddy and all his family are amazing hosts! They did everything, much more than one can expect, to make sure we are having the best time. They made us feel at home and became our friends.
The room itself was comfortable and very very clean (the cleaning lady even replaced the shower curtain a few times).
And all the tours we booked with them were awesome, and they gave us the best price you can get in town. The best place to stay in Monteverde.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ella B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    81
    11
    2
    0
See reviews for
39
209
27
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed February 16, 2013

A little but late as we were on our way moving countries and pregnant at the time, but had to write a review as this place was awesome.

Finding out you are pregnant whilst backpacking meant that food choices were limited and Eddy went above and beyond to accommodate us.

We were picked up, day trips were organized, he got up extra early to make breakfast the day we left and then phoned up to make sure we arrived out our destination safely.

This place is FANTASTIC, clean and the service second to none. A very special highlight of our trip. :)


  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ybbil4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Every hotel in the world could learn about customer service from Freddy - the manager of this place. The place is family owned and named after Freddy's younger brother.
Just far enough from the centre of Sta Elena to miss the party noise, but so close to walk to shops and cafes etc that it didn't matter - and enroute you might see a sleepy sloth in a tree by the pavement.

Upstairs balcony rooms are great but the star of the show is Freddy - always smiling, always happy, always helpful, serving breakfast, giving advice on tours, on transport, on anything - this guy is just amazing. No place in town could match the cheerful friendly atmosphere - go to Sta Elena but only ever stay at Cabinas Eddy!

Room Tip: There are cheaper rooms downstairs but pay a little more and you get great rooms upstairs - with vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KIWIBOB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veracruz, Masaya, Nicaragua
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed February 6, 2013

A friend and I stayed only one night in Santa Elena, and I'm so glad we stayed here at Cabinas Eddy! Not only was the price great, but the service was incredible.

We arrived late at night, and the staff was more than willing to help us out. They set up a tour for us (at a lower price than advertised on the brochure), had a map with a bunch of area things to see, and made sure that breakfast would be ready for us when we wanted it. They truly went above and beyond helpful! Since we had to catch a bus the next afternoon and we had a suitcase with us, they drove us to the bus stop. I really appreciated the care and attention we received while we were there.

The beds were very comfortable, the rooms were clean and the hot water was so nice. I would definitely go back, and plan to do so with my family as soon as possible!

Room Tip: There are private rooms and rooms with a group bathroom. Both are nice and the price difference isn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenni D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Best place we have stayed in in all of CR. we travelled by car and Freddy and family r amazing.
They took care of us so well...Freddy even accompanied us twice to find the local sloth in the tree down the road. The breakfast is outstanding and the maintenance of the place is fabulous. And so helpful and attentive....even tho he has 2 young kids...it's a family business...amazing.
Absolutely great value for money!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gwenkalansky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gallupville, New York, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed 4 nites at Eddys, was older but very clean and kept up. Freddy and his family made our stay wonderful and they went out of their way to help us with tours, restaurants and lodging at the next leg of our Costa Rica journey...If were ever back in Santa Elena / Monte Verde again we will definately stay at Eddys!!! The wraps at breakfast and banana pancakes with sugar cane coconut syrup were yummy!! Adios!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Coco, Guanacaste, Costa Rica
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We had a small trip to Monteverde last week and looking at the reviews we decided to stay in Eddy's place. Everything nice clean and organized. Freddy is a must know person in the cabinas. Him and his family go out of their way to make our vacation a memorable one. For Breakfast i would highly recommend the local plate with Gallo Pinto and eggs. Great way to start the day :) Must try the chicken quesadilla as well... Thanks for a great and memorable get away, WE WILL BE BACK...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TC Can S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.8 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
1.1 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 20 in Monteverde
238 reviews
0.6 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#5 of 20 in Monteverde
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#1 of 20 in Monteverde
1,312 reviews
0.1 mi away
Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde
0.2 mi away
Pension Santa Elena
Pension Santa Elena
#4 of 34 in Santa Elena
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabinas Eddy B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas Eddy B&B

Property: Cabinas Eddy B&B
Address: Located 150 Meters South West From Downtown, Santa Elena, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cabinas Eddy B&B 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Cabinas Eddy B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabinas Eddy B&B Monteverde, Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing