We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cabinas Eddy B&B

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Cabinas Eddy B&B
Certificate of Excellence
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wow!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

Best place we have stayed in in all of CR. we travelled by car and Freddy and family r amazing.
They took care of us so well...Freddy even accompanied us twice to find the local sloth in the tree down the road. The breakfast is outstanding and the maintenance of the place is fabulous. And so helpful and attentive....even tho he has 2 young kids...it's a family business...amazing.
Absolutely great value for money!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gwenkalansky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    80
    11
    2
    0
See reviews for
37
207
27
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gallupville, New York, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed 4 nites at Eddys, was older but very clean and kept up. Freddy and his family made our stay wonderful and they went out of their way to help us with tours, restaurants and lodging at the next leg of our Costa Rica journey...If were ever back in Santa Elena / Monte Verde again we will definately stay at Eddys!!! The wraps at breakfast and banana pancakes with sugar cane coconut syrup were yummy!! Adios!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Coco, Guanacaste, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

We had a small trip to Monteverde last week and looking at the reviews we decided to stay in Eddy's place. Everything nice clean and organized. Freddy is a must know person in the cabinas. Him and his family go out of their way to make our vacation a memorable one. For Breakfast i would highly recommend the local plate with Gallo Pinto and eggs. Great way to start the day :) Must try the chicken quesadilla as well... Thanks for a great and memorable get away, WE WILL BE BACK...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TC Can S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

All the rave reviews you read about Cabinas Eddy are true. Freddy is a tireless champion of gracious hospitality. He is extremely helpful, friendly, and makes a mean banana pancake.

The B&B is mere minutes from the centre of town, so restaurants and tour agencies can be easily reached. Speaking of tours, Freddy may be able to get you a cheaper price so always check with him first. He also went the extra mile and checked the weather forecast for us before booking our zip lining excursion.

Upon check-in, a very detailed map, which lists the prices of popular activities/sights/tours, is provided.

One of the good things about the rooms is that there are hooks on the back of the washroom door! There are soap and shampoo dispensers in the shower. Be sure to ask Freddy how to get the hot water to run.

I would definitely recommend Cabinas Eddy. We stayed for five nights and had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JustinaL370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

I've traveled in many places around the world and never met a hotel manager like Freddy! This guy knows everything, and I mean everything there is to know about Monteverede and all the attractions in it! He's always ready to help you in anything you need and always with a smile! Other than that, the hotel itself has a very welcoming atmosphere, the rooms are clean and very nice and the breakfast is superb and well worth it's price.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Obeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

Stayed here for a night while visiting Monteverde. Looked at the main floor accommodations first and did not care for them. That being said, I'm sure they are a good deal for someone looking for inexpensive accommodations, we were just wanting to spend more for something a little nicer. Anyhow, we were about to leave when we asked for a more expensive room, and were shown a fantastic room on the top floor! There were windows surrounding the entire room and a beautiful sitting area outside of the room with a table, chairs and a hammock. There was a really cute little dining area on the main floor as well, including a little computer room. The internet was slow, but I think its due to the proximity of the mountains. Regardless, it was nice to have computers to use as most of the hotels only offered WiFi which often didn't work. The price was more than fair for this little place! I think the room we had was one of the best deals we had all trip...The highlight of this place was Eddy, the owner. He was just soooo sweet! We were having some scheduling conflicts while at his hotel and he was so incredibly patient and helpful. We had to cancel a shuttle we had booked through him, and he did it for us no questions asked and even stayed late to do so. You definitely wont go wrong with this option. Take a look at a few rooms before you book though, cause they range from budget/backpacker to flashpacker, and you'll probably be able to find exactly what you're looking for. I'm sure Eddy would be happy help you find the perfect room for you and your budget..

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bria20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Airy, Maryland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

We had a wonderful stay here last week. The hotel is conveniently just a block down the hill from the center of town. We parked our rental car in the adjacent lot which is protected by a locked gate at night. We stayed in room 14 while our teenage daughter stayed in room 7, both on the second floor with private bathrooms. The beds were comfortable and noise was never a problem. The delicious breakfasts were cooked to order and served by Freddy, who really is the perfect host. Staying here is absolutely recommended!

Room Tip: Room 14 is almost as private as room 15 (on the end). Room 7 has its own bathroom but a shared bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bjmsamrlm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.6 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#6 of 23 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 23 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.8 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 23 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,040 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica
0.1 mi away
Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabinas Eddy B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas Eddy B&B

Property: Cabinas Eddy B&B
Address: Located 150 Meters South West From Downtown, Santa Elena, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cabinas Eddy B&B 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Cabinas Eddy B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabinas Eddy B&B Monteverde, Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing