We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic experience!”
Review of Cabinas Eddy B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cabinas Eddy B&B
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 6, 2012

We stayed here in February 2012. We didn't really know what to expect but what a great surprise! The family are just lovely and Freddy is a great host. He sat down with us and explained all the tours on offer, gave us some tips on where to eat and where to go. This made a big difference for us.
There is a real chilled out vibe here, everyone talks to each other which is great.
The room is basic but spotlessly clean and they brought blankets when it was cold.
The breakfast was delicious.
We did the Extremo Canopy tour which was brilliant. Freddy arranged it for us and they picked us up from the B&B.
We would absolutely stay here again. It was a breath of fresh air.

Thank you Freddy and family!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NaomiO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (397)
There are newer reviews for Cabinas Eddy B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

251 - 257 of 397 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2012

We made the reservation at Cabinas Eddy, Monteverde, via a travel agency in the San Jose bus station without really researching the accommodation or the area. The place is run by Freddy, not to be confused with father Eddy, and all the family seem involved one way or another. Freddy met us in his car from the bus and explained all the local excursions and sights. We booked four local trips through him and spent three nights there. The accommodation was clean and comfortable and great breakfasts!

Room Tip: The rooms on the front were bigger, but we chose one away from the front as other people had mention...
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dd338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2012

Cabinas Eddy is a nice clean b&b. It is centrally located in Sta. Elena.
The owner is extremly helpful with organizing tours and suggesting activities. They also serve a delicious breakfast...try banana pancakes! The veranda is also very nice to hang around and get to know other travellers. Only downside is that the rooms are very small but you wont be in the room very long anyways.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nudel121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2012

Hi everyone,
It was the 2nd time we went to Monteverde, and we decided to stay at cabinas Eddy this time, it was a great decision! we even stayed longer than planned! the rooms are a bit small, but clean, comfortable and the hosts are just great!is the best rel. quality/price in the area for sure!
We really felt like home ;)
and the breakfast was amazing!
Thanks!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martaaaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2012

Freddy, the owner and manager of this place is incredible! His English is very good, so it was easy to communicate with him. He gave us recommendations of things to do, and even worked with a couple tours to get them discounted a few bucks. When we arrived (2 females), there was only a 6 person room with cable TV, and private bathroom available...he ended up giving it to us for the price of a 2 person room ($25 total = $12.50 each, score!) We then moved into a very clean room with private bath (yay for hot water) for two more nights. Every morning Freddy served us a hot breakfast with great food and fresh coffee like we were in a nice restaurant. He loaned us a screw driver when we needed one, helped show us a sloth outside late one night, drove us to our bus (wow), helped us with our bags and just was overall, a really sweet and cool man. This whole place is cozy and homey and you can tell Freddy really cares. STAY HERE if you can. You won't regret it!

Room Tip: If possible, a room outside of the office area would be better. There are a few attached to the lobb...
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JSpader25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

The hotel is simple and in a good position in Santa Elena. The rooms are clean and the water is hot. The free breakfast is also delicious, try the banana pancakes.
Eddy is the kindest, most attentive hotel owner I have every met. He really goes out of his way to ensure you are looked after. He happily booked all our tours and even offered to go to the bus station to buy tickets on our behalf as we would be out most of the day. The afternoon coffee he served was also delicious. I had absolutely no complaints and would not hesitate to stay here again. Thank you!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2012

This was truly the best place we've stayed in Costa Rica so far! We stayed 4 nights and had a great time. This is mostly due to the exceptionally great hospitality of Freddy and his  family.  He will help you in any way to make your stay as nice as possible. Plus he gives great info and discounts on most of the tours and activities in Monteverde. 

They have rooms in all priceranges, starting at $20 for a room with private bathroom.  Rooms are clean and comfortable. There's a communal kitchen area, which has all the basics you need, WiFi and two computers you can use. The breakfast is great! A variety of fruits and the choice of banana pancakes, eggs and toast. Coffee or tea are offered at any time of the day.  

Good luck to Freddy and his family. Thank you for your kindness and hospitality! 

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smukzak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.6 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#6 of 20 in Monteverde
249 reviews
0.3 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 20 in Monteverde
1,127 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 20 in Monteverde
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
0.1 mi away
Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde
0.2 mi away
Pension Santa Elena
Pension Santa Elena
#4 of 33 in Santa Elena
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabinas Eddy B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas Eddy B&B

Address: Located 150 Meters South West From Downtown, Santa Elena, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Santa Elena
Price Range: $38 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cabinas Eddy B&B 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Cabinas Eddy B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabinas Eddy B&B Monteverde, Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing