We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Restaurant Trio

Restaurant Trio
Ranked #18 of 43 Restaurants in Santa Elena
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $17
Cuisines: Latin, Central American, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff
New Hope, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

We ate here twice during our five days in Monteverde! Food was excellent on both occasions, service was attentive, and the place has a nice "feel". Don't understand the negative reviews-many diners on both nights commented to us and other tables how much they were enjoying their meals. Would definitely go back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank radean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    88
    26
    17
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Seen Better Days”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

This restaurant has gone downhill over the past 1-2 years and sadly appears to be living on its past reputation for a good dining experience. Perhaps a lackluster management and lack of attention to detail is at fault, or is it absentee ownership?

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank salidago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
96 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Santa Elena”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

This was by far the best restaurant we ate at in Costa Rica. It's a little pop up located behind the Super Compro market. Walk down the street to the left and at the very back you will find a set of steps up to the little restaurant. They have outdoor seating on the back porch but it was too cold when we were there. Both the chef and the bartender are very creative. This chef actually knows how to cook. We had the grilled shrimp and the chicken with coconut and almonds. They were both outstanding, and a nice relief from the usual CR fare. The roasted mango arugula salad and cream of carrot soup were excellent! I recommend the Mangopolitan and the Ginger martinis. Yum! A dumbwaiter brings the food up from the basement. It's noisy and so is the blender at the bar. Hard wall surfaces cause the sound to bounce creating a much too noisy environment. I recommend they stop making the blended drinks, they have alot of other great drinks to offer and it would cut down on the sound. The waitress was very competent, sweet and enthusiastic. We booked an early dinner but the place was packed by the time we left. Decorated with your standard Ikea-like stuff, it aspires to look modern. I really wish the owners the best of luck! They deserve to do well. This is a great little place, and this area desperately needs a good restaurant!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bravegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, food was just ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

We went here based on the reviews but weren’t impressed. The service is great but we didn’t like the food: fish tacos didn’t have much fish and were overwhelmed by beets, the famous figs burger (didn’t have figs) wasn’t bad but the amount of meat was way too much. We do wish that we tried regular entries – they seemed really good. Maybe the chef didn’t had an off night. That’s why we are giving 3 starts – there is always room for the improvement.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ohtany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“a gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

Dined at Trio in Feb. Food was very good. It was a nice break from rice and beans. Coconut chicken and salad were very good. Empanadas were ok, rice pudding was a let down. Staff was excellent.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank orange6542
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Trio also viewed

 
Santa Elena, Monteverde
Santa Elena, Monteverde
 

Been to Restaurant Trio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing