We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Creative Food, Great Drinks”
Review of Restaurant Trio

Restaurant Trio
Ranked #19 of 44 Restaurants in Santa Elena
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $17
Cuisines: Latin, Central American, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff
Keene, New York
Level Contributor
243 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Creative Food, Great Drinks”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

The decor may not be much but the food is great, with unusual combinations and spices. Their tropical cocktails go great with the nicely spiced food. Friendly and fast service rounds out a nice evening in the Monteverde area. The salad with mango is great as is the ceviche with coconut flavors. Chicken stuffed with figs nd goat cheese with Marsala sauce excellent.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JimKeeneNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    88
    26
    17
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Don't be fooled by the entrance to this place. It is behind the garbage area for the large grocery store. Once there, the atmosphere is hip, the service great, and the food was the best we had during our trip. I definitely recommend the mojito shrimp and the beef with manchango cheese! They also have a great drink menu.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sydsnoise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Hard to find but worth it”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

One of the best meals in Costa Rica, hard to find as it's tucked away behind the grocery store but find it and it's worth it. Wasn't busy when we were there

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Glenn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Come hungry, large portions.”
Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

We ate at Trio tonight. Not to busy so service very prompt. We started with a Trio's chicken wings and a grilled mango salad. Two wings, not at all spicy and a very taste salad. We both had the stuffed chicken which is served in vegetables and potato. The portion was plentiful and the flavour was an interesting mix of delight. There was enough to take back to the hostel for the next day. We finished with a delicious mango split. Well worth it after a day in the cloud forest.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Photobug07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic meal”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

While I don't get the impression the menu changes often in this restaurant, the dishes seem to be tried and true, with good service and fun cocktails (there is a chili martini that packs quite a punch). The menu was pretty unconventional, in terms of traditional cuisine in the area, and had a number of fusion-type dishes that were pretty inventive. My recommendation: to start, order the ceviche, which has generous chunks of seafood in a delicious marinade (some of the best ceviche I've had, and definitely the best in town). The only drawback is the fact that the dumbwaiter between the kitchen downstairs and the main restaurant is right next to the bar, and it's a bit jarring the first few times is runs after you are seated...but all in all, an excellent meal!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank seans873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Trio also viewed

 
Santa Elena, Monteverde
Santa Elena, Monteverde
 
Santa Elena, Monteverde
Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Restaurant Trio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing