We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 7:00 AM - 3:30 PM
Review Highlights
Beautiful

What a beautiful place, from the forest to the birds. Loved the cloud bridges and sounds of the... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Chris T
Spectacular Night Walk

We had a great time, and our guide Victorino was amazing. He had a ton of knowledge about the... read more

Reviewed March 12, 2019
Shadowbolt
Read all 21 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Santa Elena
from $35.00
More Info
from $265.00
More Info
from $3,800.00
More Info
Reviews (21)
Filter reviews
21 results
Traveler rating
16
5
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
16
5
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews close to town night tour nicoya coatimundi breasted mammals spiders trees hummingbirds wildlife forest frogs guide monteverde
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 21 reviews
Reviewed March 12, 2019

We had a great time, and our guide Victorino was amazing. He had a ton of knowledge about the animals, plants, trees, and the history of the area. It was really a treat to have a good guide

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank Shadowbolt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2019

This is another new and special jewel in the Santa Elena area. There are many beautiful reserves in the zone, but this one is walking distance from the center of Santa Elena. They have some of the biggest trees you will see, an absolutely beautiful view all the way to the Gulf of Nicoya, and a very well laid out trail system with a map. Trails are moderate, with the first part easy. there is a new restaurant and hotel which I have not checked out yet.

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank Les P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2019 via mobile

Beautiful reserve within the Pueblo de Monteverde. Excellent and knowledgable staff, beautifully well maintained trails, birds, Aguti, Pizotes, vista points etc. Easy to moderate walking. 100% recomended

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank JorgeZ1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2018 via mobile

I visited Aguti just last week and loved it! It was a beautiful walk through some amazing forest with plenty of opportunity to see lots of different plants and wildlife. It was also nice and quiet as it is a newer reserve and the passionate guides are focused on capping visitors to give everyone (visitors and animals) the best experience. Highly recommended, a must do in Santa Elena!

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank BekBunting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2018 via mobile

This was booked for us by out travel agent Costa Rican Trails, so I did not even know the name of the reserve we were visiting until we got there. There is obviously no guarantee of seeing anything on a night hike but the guide, Jesus, was extremely well informed and passionate about his subject. He explained (in excellent English) how the plants and animals interrelate, from spiders and leaf cutter ants to snakes and owls and humming birds. For the record, we saw a two toed sloth, an owl, a green viper waiting to strike, a net casting spider, a tarantula, a green toucan and white dove asleep in a tree, stick insects, and best of all, an armadillo. The guide knew which trees to check out for the shy kinkajou and did his best to lure one with calls. He had us stay still with torches out and various times to give the animals a chance to appear. Exceeded my expectations.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Felicity022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews