We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unique”

Tree House Restaurante & Cafe
Ranked #7 of 43 Restaurants in Santa Elena
Price range: $6 - $20
Cuisines: American, Bar, Central American, Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Romantic, Scenic view, Families with children, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: At the Tree House we offer a unique ambiance, we have a huge ficus tree in the middle of the restaurant.Our menu has many options, from snacks, beer and cocktails to a complete diner with a great wine.Our coffee is very special, one the best coffees in Costa Rica, we roast it ourselves and have 4 great Baristas who will make a perfect coffee, you will get incredible latte art! Our staff is very friendly. We really care about customers, so if you have any issues at the restaurant please work it out with us and we promise we will give you a satisfying solution! Thanks!
Middletown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
330 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Unique”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2014

Unique atmosphere because restaurant is built around and under the canopy of a large tree. They have heat lamps which are useful because it gets chilly there. We ordered nachos and beers which were a good snack.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,344 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    738
    963
    486
    119
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
“Nice setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2014 via mobile

Cool place to go for a coffee but you certainly pay for the novelty of your surroundings - we ordered two milkshakes and a green tea and with tax and service charge it came to $14. Perhaps not a place to go for backpackers nearing the end of their trip and running out of money - i.e. people like us.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cool place to eat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2014

We took a taxi downtown one night and stumbled upon this place. Thought it looked really cool, so went inside and climbed the stairs to eat in the Tree House. Atmosphere was great. We sat underneath the branches and looked out onto the street below. Service was slow, but the food was really good.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mycookieNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Just average for the states Great for a small town in CR”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

Nice evening here with music and unique setting. Food was just average prices were the same as in US. The service was very good. The menu was very diverse. My daughter ordered fish while I had chicken. Both were presented nicely.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank msilverbeemer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect place for dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2014 via mobile

Food was excellent with good live music and really nice service !!!
First time in Costa Rica we got a filet mignon that was tender and au point.
And they have the best espresso !!!

Helpful?
Thank juanluther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tree House Restaurante & Cafe also viewed

Santa Elena, Monteverde
Santa Elena, Monteverde
 
Santa Elena, Monteverde
Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Tree House Restaurante & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing