We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Unusual Restaurant”

Tree House Restaurante & Cafe
Ranked #7 of 43 Restaurants in Santa Elena
Price range: $6 - $20
Cuisines: American, Bar, Central American, Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Kids, Families with children, Scenic view, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: At the Tree House we offer a unique ambiance, we have a huge ficus tree in the middle of the restaurant.Our menu has many options, from snacks, beer and cocktails to a complete diner with a great wine.Our coffee is very special, one the best coffees in Costa Rica, we roast it ourselves and have 4 great Baristas who will make a perfect coffee, you will get incredible latte art! Our staff is very friendly. We really care about customers, so if you have any issues at the restaurant please work it out with us and we promise we will give you a satisfying solution! Thanks!
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
104 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Very Unusual Restaurant”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Great setting - it's like sitting in a tree.
Good bar food and drinks - actually quite reasonable.
The staff couldn't have been nicer and more accommodating.

Best place to eat in Santa Elena.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SunsetPelican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,379 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    750
    977
    493
    120
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great ambiance”
Reviewed May 11, 2014

The setting really is unique and makes this place worth a visit. Make sure to wait for a seat beneath the tree, it's worth it as the other room doesn't have nearly the same ambiance. The cocktails were great and the food was good. Not in our top tier in terms of food quality, but very decent and worth the money for the setting alone. This dinner is one we'll definitely remember and are happy to have experienced.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank CarrieandJake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
79 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good food, but expensive”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

We went here on our first night in Santa Elena, as it is probably one of the more appealing restaurants in the town. The atmosphere is great and the staff is very friendly and service-minded. The food was only decent though. It tasted good and the portions were big, but it was sever kinda lukewarm. I had the nachos, and in stead of real cheese i got the melted sauce kind.Too expensive for what you get in my opinion.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Martine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amurillo, Owner at Tree House Restaurante & Cafe, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Hello,

Thank you very much for sharing your opinion with us.

Monteverde has a cold weather, it is very windy most of the time, since our restaurant has a tree inside part of the service area is open, so sometimes it gets a little cold.

This cold weather makes food cool down quickly, so sometimes if you don't eat quickly your food might get cold.

This is also the reason why we use melted cheese sauce for our Nachos, other types of cheese get a really bad texture (rubber like) when cooling down.

Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zonhoven, Belgium
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice place !”
Reviewed May 3, 2014

The service and the location is very nice. We had a salad and a drink there. It's was very good although I didn't like the coffee... I have drunk better coffee in Costa Rica. Reasonable prices.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nadine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Point, New York
Level Contributor
123 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Dine in the tree tops. Literally!!”
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Built right in the treetops makes this a truly unique place. What a great place to relax and take a break.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank gjb-6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tree House Restaurante & Cafe also viewed

Santa Elena, Monteverde
Santa Elena, Monteverde
 
Santa Elena, Monteverde
Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Tree House Restaurante & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing