We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ambiance was good, food was OK”

Tree House Restaurante & Cafe
Ranked #8 of 46 Restaurants in Santa Elena
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $20
Cuisines: Costa Rican, Peruvian, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: At the Tree House we offer a unique ambiance, we have a huge ficus tree in the middle of the restaurant.Our menu has many options, from snacks, beer and cocktails to a complete diner with a great wine.Our coffee is very special, one the best coffees in Costa Rica, we roast it ourselves and have 4 great Baristas who will make a perfect coffee, you will get incredible latte art! Our staff is very friendly. We really care about customers, so if you have any issues at the restaurant please work it out with us and we promise we will give you a satisfying solution! Thanks!
Bellevue, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ambiance was good, food was OK”
Reviewed April 2, 2014

The tree in the restaurant was pretty cool and the restaurant was really nice inside (we had more of an inside seat than next to the tree). The food I had on that particular day was so so. My wife's was a little better.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank hoodiepunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,453 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    783
    1,002
    506
    122
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great lunches watching world go by”
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Had lunch here a couple of time during our tour, firts time the chicken salad (excellent), second time Nachos (very good). The service was very friendly and it was interesting sitting in a treehouse wastching the world go by. Probably you pay a bit of a premium for eating in such a unique place but thought the prices were not unreasonable for what you got, the chicken salad was enormous.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trevor W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northport, New York
Level 6 Contributor
443 reviews
314 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Fun place”
Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

The food and drinks were good, but it was very cold and windy eating outside. Might need a jacket and pants.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Wandering_Freee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorba Linda, California
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Interesting and fun”
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Kids loved the large tree growing in the middle of the restaurant. The food was very good. I had the shrimp and squid. Squid is sometimes hard to prepare and can easily be overdone. They did a great job with it. The kids had the fettucine with alfredo sauce and my oldest had their casado. Price was decent, not cheap but average.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EdS776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerhonkson, New York
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Cute place to try”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

When we arrived the place was quite full so we expected a long wait. Instead we were seated quickly, orders taken and meals delivered in good order. Food was pleasant, decor interesting, service efficient. Not gourmet, but tasty. Worth trying and who doesn't want to brag about eating in a tree house

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Margepurd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tree House Restaurante & Cafe also viewed

Santa Elena, Monteverde
Santa Elena, Monteverde
 
Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
Santa Elena, Monteverde
 

Been to Tree House Restaurante & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing