We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Uniquely bland”

Tree House Restaurante & Cafe
Ranked #8 of 46 Restaurants in Santa Elena
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $20
Cuisines: Costa Rican, Peruvian, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: At the Tree House we offer a unique ambiance, we have a huge ficus tree in the middle of the restaurant.Our menu has many options, from snacks, beer and cocktails to a complete diner with a great wine.Our coffee is very special, one the best coffees in Costa Rica, we roast it ourselves and have 4 great Baristas who will make a perfect coffee, you will get incredible latte art! Our staff is very friendly. We really care about customers, so if you have any issues at the restaurant please work it out with us and we promise we will give you a satisfying solution! Thanks!
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Uniquely bland”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

After a morning spent driving and walking around the rainforest, we were hungry and decided to give this a try. Alas, another poor meal in Monteverde. When the food arrived, it looked fantastic, but…. it tasted of nothing; insipid and uninteresting - quite an achievement to be fair but a huge disappointment all the same. The place is unique and has some good features, like the tables set up around the tree, but you get the feeling that it’s a bit tired and in need of a refresh.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hugh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,453 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    783
    1,002
    506
    122
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
los angeles
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A must try!!”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

This place has such great service and excellent food. That prices are pretty high, but that is because this place is a tourist attraction. However, the food really is great!! So at least you are getting a good meal for your money. My friends said that this place had the best and strongest drinks in the whole area too. If you order a latte, they make the best designs on it that I've ever seen. Try to request the bear face, it's so cool to see. The flower designs are good too.

Like I said, this place is a must try, because it is just such a nice restaurant. It really is cool too be sitting in a tree while eating your food. ***They do have chairs and tables***

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nonolosangeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Unique hideaway”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Like the name states, the restaurant is built around a large tree in town. Food was good and reasonably priced.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ramona106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great atmosphere for drinks..... food could be skipped”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

This is a super cool place to see and I'm glad we stopped. It is unique and a great place to get some pics. I think it would be best for having a drink or two. For us, the service was SLOW and the food was ok - but not great. For the money, I'm sure you could do better elsewhere.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LuvCostaRica_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Good location”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Great restaurant built around a large tree overlooking the street.

I had the casado here which was good, service was good and prices weren't significantly more expensive than other places.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chrismsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tree House Restaurante & Cafe also viewed

Santa Elena, Monteverde
Santa Elena, Monteverde
 
Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
Santa Elena, Monteverde
 
Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
Santa Elena, Monteverde
 

Been to Tree House Restaurante & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing