We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Quesadilla's, Pricey”

Tree House Restaurante & Cafe
Ranked #7 of 43 Restaurants in Santa Elena
Price range: $6 - $20
Cuisines: American, Bar, Central American, Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Scenic view, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: At the Tree House we offer a unique ambiance, we have a huge ficus tree in the middle of the restaurant.Our menu has many options, from snacks, beer and cocktails to a complete diner with a great wine.Our coffee is very special, one the best coffees in Costa Rica, we roast it ourselves and have 4 great Baristas who will make a perfect coffee, you will get incredible latte art! Our staff is very friendly. We really care about customers, so if you have any issues at the restaurant please work it out with us and we promise we will give you a satisfying solution! Thanks!
Santiago de Puriscal, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good Quesadilla's, Pricey”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Restaurant in a tree! Different place to have dinner. Unique cocktails. Good service. Can be noisy, popular place in center of town. Prices are high.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank linstev44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,379 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    750
    977
    493
    120
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sierra Vista, Arizona
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Cool restaurant and atmosphere”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

I ate here with a group of about 20 people during spring break. We had a reservation and they seated us right away. The waiter was friendly and was using an ipad to take orders which was cool. We all had multiple drinks, appetizers, and dishes. The drinks were great! The mojito frappe, sex in the tree, and the BBC were the most popular among our group. All the food we had was great also. The filets were good, nachos were bomtastic, and the shrimp/avocado app was the best!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Slewis1120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Proctorville, Ohio
Level Contributor
68 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Overpriced and not great.”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We decided to eat in this restaurant because the tree is so cool to look at while you eat. I was disappointed in the food, it was expensive, and not really all that great and service was really slow even though there was only one other table.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank skyllo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere in Monteverde”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Nicely designed restaurant around a very large fig tree. Went here for lunch and my sandwich of grilled chicken and pineapple was delicious! Staff members were very freindly.. it was cold and I made a joke about needing a blanket and they actually got me one!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rider_Debbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
47 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Really cool restaurant”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

This is an amazing dining experience. The service was swift and friendly, and the mixed fruit smoothie was great. My meal was pretty good, but I think I may have just ordered the wrong thing, because everyone else's food looked amazing. It's worth going to just for the fact that it's built around a giant tree -- how often do you see that??

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Audrey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tree House Restaurante & Cafe also viewed

Santa Elena, Monteverde
Santa Elena, Monteverde
 
Santa Elena, Monteverde
Monteverde, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Tree House Restaurante & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing