We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really cool restaurant built around a tree.”

Tree House Restaurante & Cafe
Ranked #7 of 47 Restaurants in Santa Elena
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $20
Cuisines: Costa Rican, Peruvian, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: At the Tree House we offer a unique ambiance, we have a huge ficus tree in the middle of the restaurant.Our menu has many options, from snacks, beer and cocktails to a complete diner with a great wine.Our coffee is very special, one the best coffees in Costa Rica, we roast it ourselves and have 4 great Baristas who will make a perfect coffee, you will get incredible latte art! Our staff is very friendly. We really care about customers, so if you have any issues at the restaurant please work it out with us and we promise we will give you a satisfying solution! Thanks!
Reviewed November 26, 2011

Food and service both great. Great atmosphere and view of Santa Elena.

Thank llukens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,676)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,800 - 1,804 of 2,676 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2011

The Restaurant itself is very nice, the fact of leaving the tree in the middle adds a great touch towards nature!! Food is not exceptional, but is good, if you're looking for snacks or so... This is the place to go!!

Thank Cheang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amurillo, Owner at Tree House Restaurante & Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2011

Hello dear customer,

Thanks for you comments.

I just would like to say that our menu has more than just snacks.

I am sure that if you come to the Tree House and order our Rib Eye with our recommended bottle of wine you will think you had a real dinner, not a snack, of course, we also offer snacks, but our menu is definitely more than snacks.

And again, if you come, and you don't like your food, please don't eat it and let us know, I promise we won't charge for something you are not going to eat.

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2011

Smoky place! The main road is just bellow it, so expect lots of smoke and noice. Too bad! The place has a nice decoration

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Knocr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2011

Food was only ok. Service was terrible and the cashier tried to round up our bill when we went to pay. This is just a tourist trap.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Ckovalick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amurillo, Owner at Tree House Restaurante & Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2011

Hello dear customer,

Thank you very much for you comments!

I respectfully disagree with you! We are not a tourist trap.

Tourists keep coming to our restaurant because it is the best place in town, we offer high quality food, great service and the best ambiance ever.

We offer average prices, comparable to other restaurants in town, in some cases we have lower prices, of course you can find places with cheaper food, just don't expect quality or service or an English speaking waiter.

If you think your service was terrible I am really sorry about it, you must know that there is always a person in charge at the Tree House, you can always ask to talk to this person if you have any problem, our stuff is normally very nice, I am not really sure if that day your waiter was having a "bad hair day", I really apologize if that ever happened.

About the bill rounding, let me make this clear, you are right, the bill gets round up, or down, depending on the system, not on the cashier, we always round in Colones, over 25 Colones we round to 50, under 25 Colones we round to zero, 25 Colones is about 5 US cents, we round because it is very complicated for the cashiers at the end of the day count all the 5 Colones coins, doing this sometimes we get 5 cents more, and sometimes we get 5 cents less, normally at the end of they they we are even.

But again, if you don't like the rounding you can always say so, in your case as far as I know you did, and the cashier confirmed me they rounded your bill to zero and gave you a few more Colones to make it up to you.

Believe me we never have bad intentions when serving tourists, we just want to work, to offer you a great option to enjoy your lunch or dinner and also we want to work to keep our more than 30 employees happy and with the best salary they can get in town.

And something I must say I completely agree with you is that the best thing about the Tree House is the tree, you are right, but this does not mean our food or service is bad, it just means the tree is way too beautiful and way too amazing. In fact we are very proud of our fig tree.

Best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

The atmosphere cannot be beat. The food was good. A little expensive though.

Thank Matt D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amurillo, Owner at Tree House Restaurante & Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2011

Thank you very much!

We are really happy when someone is happy with our place!

Best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tree House Restaurante & Cafe also viewed

Santa Elena, Monteverde
Santa Elena, Monteverde
 

Been to Tree House Restaurante & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing