We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde
Ranked #1 of 14 Santa Elena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Great service and breakfast”
Reviewed December 18, 2010

This place is good value for money. Our room was basic (with 'interesting decor') but clean with a shower that was sometimes hot and sometimes tepid. The lock to our room didn't fully bolt across but felt secure enough not to make a complaint. Free internet is provided which we didn't make use of but we did have the free breakfast which was wonderful (my sister had pancakes with a full plate of fresh fruit). The B&B is located about a 5-10 minute walk from the town centre although the walk is largely uphill on a poorly lit road, there is hardly any traffic though. The greatest thing about Camino Verde though is Jose the manager who booked all of our excursions for us, answered our questions and carried our bags down to the main road and waited for the public bus with us even though it was early in the morning. Overall for the small price you pay this place is great value for money.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelbeanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

995 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    691
    226
    54
    14
    10
See reviews for
168
381
75
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guatemala
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2010

I found Camino Verde B&B online, and booked it after reading all the positive reviews on Trip Advisor :) I'm happy to contribute another one!!

The room we had was very clean, and had a spotless bathroom. The shower had a "calentador"-- an in-shower heater-- which was perfectly adequate (these sometimes need a bit of fiddling with the faucet to get the water hot, though). We received fresh towels every day. Our room opened up onto a little shared porch, with rocking chairs and great views of the valley.

The location was a bit out of town, but backed up to the main road. This was both good and bad. It was only a 5-min walk into town, which wasn't a problem at all even at night. But there was a bit of traffic (not much) on the main road, which we could hear at night. The grounds are pretty and well-maintained. We stored a few things in the communal fridge, which was kept spotless as well. There was one other group of guests while we were there (I think we were visiting at low season), but the whole vibe was very tranquil (definitely not a "party place"-- which we really appreciated).

The breakfasts were GREAT, and those alone would be worth the stay!!! The two women who work in the kitchen are incredibly friendly and very accommodating. We had gallo pinto all three days (with some Lizano salsa-- yum), which was delicious. One day they threw in a pancake for "dessert." They also offered us some hot chocolate on a particularly chilly evening :) The coffee was awesome-- we asked what brand they used so we could bring some home with us!

José is a great host/manager. He lives on-site with his (adorable) daughter, and will help you with *anything*. He told us how to get from the capital to Sta Elena, he made restaurant reservations for us, arranged cabs, and booked all of our "activities" (ziplining, hiking, cheese tour, etc). His English is pretty darn good, too.

The one complaint I would have is that, the second we arrived (after traveling all day), he sat us down and showed us the slide show of activities available. There was a little bit of implied pressure to pick some right away. We already had a pretty good idea of what we wanted to do, so it wasn't a big deal. But, after a full day of traveling, it would have been nice to eat and relax a bit, first.

I think perhaps the rush was because we arrived late (7pm) and José had the day off the next day, so wouldn't be able to book for us later. In which case, I'm glad we got everything ironed out ahead of time!!

In sum-- can't recommend this place *enough*! We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kati17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, MA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 13, 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Camino Verde B&B in July, 2010. We had an excellent stay. The rooms were basic but our room had an inroom bathroom and a tv, and was clean. You can't beat that for $22! Also, the breakfasts were great. Each morning you had a choice of pancakes with fruit or a tipico breakfast of eggs, rice, beans, and fruit and coffee and juice. The workers were excellent about making sure you had breakfast if you had to be at a early excursion. Also, the mananger Jose is the BEST! HE seems to be there from 6 in the am to about 9 or 10 every night helping the guests with everything from trip planning to helping a guest who had a camera stolen on a bus ride. We even got him to hang out and have a few drinks with us when he got off for the night! The owner is lucky to have him... although we think he needs a day off once in a while. Laslty, this B&B is a little away from the hustle and bustle of town but a very short walk. I would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank staces2501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 19, 2010

Lovely B&B with very helpful staff. Very clean and excellent value for money ie. $6 for a bed in 2 bed dorm is well worth it.
Only downside is lack of communal areas where solo travellers can meet others.
Apart from that, it is an excellent bargain with free internet and eventhough you have to payt for breakfast, it is lovely.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemma095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 15, 2010

Picked up by a free taxi from the bus on a rainy evening. The hotel was warm and comfortable, and the breakfast was great. This place is such a good deal compared to other places I stayed in Costa Rica and Panama. The management were really friendly and gave great impartial advice on activities in the local area.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nah79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 15, 2010

I recently stayed here on my trip to Monteverde with my girlfriend. The hotel itself was pretty clean, although our bathroom had a strong moldy smell. But the breakfast was great (pinto gallo and eggs or fruit), and the outdoor kitchen is a great place to cook or just hang out. The owner was very polite and helpful to us and he had a great sense of humor. This is definitely not a fancy hotel, but it is a great deal for the price. It is only a short walk away from the center of town and there is a great typical restaurant only a few houses down. Also, because it is a little farther down the road from town the traffic noise is not as loud as it would be. A tip, If you are staying here do not take a room on the back of the hotel facing the hills, the street noise is very loud!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynnpriscilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 7, 2010

The staff at Camino Verde is the best part. Jose, the manager, is not only friendly and accommodating, but he helps you book activities in the area and arranges for transportation directly from the hotel. The rooms are not terribly large, but very clean and presentable, and definitely a bargain. I HIGHLY recommend staying here.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kylereardon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.6 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#5 of 20 in Monteverde
233 reviews
0.3 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 20 in Monteverde
1,079 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 20 in Monteverde
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
1.1 mi away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#1 of 20 in Monteverde
1,297 reviews
0.9 mi away
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde

Property: Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde
Address: | 300 meters south of Entrance acrross the Catholic Church, Santa Elena 60109, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camino Verde B&B is a "Bed and Breakfast" style lodging opened in 2009 and located on the edge of Santa Elena. The B&B is laid out in the style of a family house and guests are encouraged to treat it as their home. The building was in fact once the owner's family home which gave inspiration to this 'Tica House' designed hotel.The B&B is situated a 5 minute walk from the town centre of Santa Elena, but is far enough away for it to be quiet and have more rural surroundings. This is the perfect option for those who crave the quiet side of the countryside but who require the amenities provided in a town. FACILITIES: Camino Verde B&B comprises private rooms which sleep 2 to 4 guests. Four of the rooms have shared bathroom facilities and the rest are en suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde Hotel Santa Elena
Camino Verde Bed And Breakfast Monteverde
Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing