We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You are home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde
Ranked #1 of 14 Santa Elena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Quispamsis, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“You are home”
Reviewed June 10, 2014

This B&B is one of the most hospitable hotels, B&B's or guest houses I have ever stayed in! The staff, Andres and Jose along with owners Jarvey and Flores do all they can to make your stay as comfortable as possible. The physical layout of the B&B allows for comfortable interaction with fellow guests or personal and private time. The support from; choosing activities; to getting a new vehicle key cut; to places to eat; to directions to another location was exceptional! Even a few brief Spanish lessons rounded out my stay there.
There was never any pressure to buy certain activities our tours. They were there to offer suggestions in a relaxed comfortable setting.
My friends recommended this B&B and I stayed on for much longer than planned. There was no need to seek out other places to stay when I felt at home right at Camino Verde!

Room Tip: There are differing room arrangements. I stayed in two and each had it's advantages. Ask to se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 23Rick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,018 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    709
    230
    55
    14
    10
See reviews for
176
391
75
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mount Pleasant, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed June 10, 2014

This was a great experience! It was a great place to stay and the staff was super friendly and helpful, especially Andres, he helped us with all our traveling needs. I traveled with one friend, and as two girls who only spoke English (25) we felt very safe and comfortable. A very short walk to town for any shopping, bars, and restaurant needs. Very clean rooms and the whole facility, a great breakfast included. The staff was very helpful setting up tours and all your needs. A fun place to be and interact with others traveling too! I would highly recommend this place to anyone traveling to Monte Verde, and very reasonable price wise! I went to Costa Rica for a week, and this was my favorite stay! Highly recommended!!!

Room Tip: I stayed in a 2 person room with a bathroom. The communal bathroom would not be a bad option either...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 4, 2014

This is an excellent hotel to use as a base for the Monteverde area, with clean rooms, an excellent breakfast, and very helpful service. The managers gave us advice on tours and activities and booked everything for us, including transportation. The lady who cooked breakfast in the mornings was also very sweet and accomodating to my mother (who has multiple food allergies but was still able to enjoy the breakfast). All of the tours and drivers we used through Camino Verde were excellent and professional as well. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014

This was my favorite place I stayed in during my time in Costa Rica. Jose was extremely helpful in helping us book our tours, explaining what was feasible, and arranging transportation. Through him, we booked the Don Juan coffee tour, the night hike, and 100% Aventura zip-lining. He mapped out all the sodas, the banks, and other sites close to the area.

The rooms were comfortable and clean, and the breakfast was delicious.

My only regret was not spending enough time in this beautiful city and wonderful B&B.
Enjoyed this place and would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

My group had a fantastic time while in Santa Elena to visit the Cloud Forest in Monteverde. Andres was a great help booking tours and transportation. We enjoyed a night hike, the cloud forest, serpentarium and zip lining.

The place is a combination hostel and hotel. It's not the fanciest by any means, but it serves its purpose just fine.

It's a very short walk into Santa Elena where there are many restaurants and sodas (small cafe/restaurant) to choose from. Do yourself a favor and visit the Soda Bonanza, two doors down from the Camino Verde, for one of your meals. You'll be very entertained as you eat a great meal.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ward B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014

This place was used a lot by young backpackers and is a bit more like a hostel than a hotel. This only bothered me on the first day. There were people sitting right outside our room and talking loudly. They also got up very early and were extremely loud. This is a reflexion on our neighbors not the hotel. The breakfast was free, fast, and had great service! We were able to plan our tours through the extremely helpful gentleman at the desk. Walking distance to the grocery store, bar and tasty pizzaria. Overall good value for the price!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmr352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at camino verde for 2 nights and wished we could have had longer.

The hotel is really good value with a lovely breakfast. The room is really comfy and has a log cabin feel about it.

Andres is really friendly and helpful and able to help book any tours or give advice on the local area. I definitely recommend the night walk!

The breakfast is really nice, coffee and tea are available all day and beers and water are for sale.

Its in a good location about a 10 minute walk from the shops in Santa Elena and bus stop to Monteverde Cloud Reserve although is a bit of a walk up a track so its a good idea to ring a torch for walking back at night!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.6 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#6 of 20 in Monteverde
245 reviews
0.3 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 20 in Monteverde
1,118 reviews
0.8 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 20 in Monteverde
240 reviews
0.9 mi away
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
0.5 mi away
Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde

Property: Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde
Address: 300 meters south of Entrance acrross the Catholic Church | 300 meters south of Entrance acrross the Catholic Church, Santa Elena 60109, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camino Verde B&B is a "Bed and Breakfast" style lodging opened in 2009 and located on the edge of Santa Elena. The B&B is laid out in the style of a family house and guests are encouraged to treat it as their home. The building was in fact once the owner's family home which gave inspiration to this 'Tica House' designed hotel.The B&B is situated a 5 minute walk from the town centre of Santa Elena, but is far enough away for it to be quiet and have more rural surroundings. This is the perfect option for those who crave the quiet side of the countryside but who require the amenities provided in a town. FACILITIES: Camino Verde B&B comprises private rooms which sleep 2 to 4 guests. Four of the rooms have shared bathroom facilities and the rest are en suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camino Verde Bed And Breakfast Monteverde
Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde Hotel Santa Elena
Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing