We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value, very friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde
Ranked #1 of 15 Santa Elena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Definitely not luxury, but for the price is amazing value.

Rooms fine.

Location great - just 5 mins walk to town.

Staff - very helpful, friendly and welcoming.

Breakfast - included in the already ridiculously low room rate and yummy.

Free, unlimited decent coffee included.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StueyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,081)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

489 - 495 of 1,081 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2014

Andres made us feel right at home and was very helpful during our stay, giving useful recommendations and arranging everything for us. Camino Verde is located just outside downtown Santa Elena, which gives it a more rustic feeling than the downtown hostels. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

andres and his family are very kind and helpful. was nice to stay there because it was a really good atmosphere in camino verde bed and breakfast. the rooms a very clean and in a very good condition. if you have any questions about traveling, shuttles or special guiding tours, be sure they make it possible for you! be sure, i will be back in a few month! thank you!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vincenz042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

My daughter & I stayed 3 nights at Camino Verde. The location was perfect - on a quiet street with a "soda" (diner) next door but a short walk to the main square of Santa Elena where restaurants and shops could be found. Jose was AWESOME. He asked us what activities we wanted to do and then made recommendations as to the best places to go for those activities. He also gave his opinon, when asked, about places that he did not recommend. He then made our reservations and took care of processing the payments. All we had to do was show up in the lobby for our ride! The free breakfast was delicious, beer & wine available for purchase at a good price, free wifi & use of computers, room was comfortable and clean. I would not hesitate to return to Camino Verde and highly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to the Monteverde area.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank p032158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Very cozy BB in Monteverde. Reliable WiFi. There is the local cafe (soda) and the convenience store next door. Short walking distance to Santa Elena downtown.
Jose was extremely helpful, offering tour options and never insisting. He even verified our reservation for the next hotel we were travelling to in a couple of days.
We are grateful for their warm hospitality.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LikeAB0ss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

The people at Camino Verde take great pride in their B&B and in making sure everyone has a great stay in Monteverde.
We noticed during our stay, most of the other guests were return guests! These guys are definitely PURA VIDA!!!

Our cabin was small but not cramped. The showers were clean and had a shower head that needed instruction but gave us comfortable warm showers!

Camino Verde also had an iPad in the reception that allowed me to 'stay connected' after my phone broke.

Lastly Camino Verde is within a safe walking distance from the town centre but removed enough from too much of the noise.

The gentlemen (true gentlemen) who managed the front desk were knowledgeable and helpful. Found us accommodations in other cities and helped us get a fair price on private travel.
The ladies in the kitchen prepared great 'breakfast typico' and a mean coffee to start your day.

These are the type of 'hosts' that make Monteverde, Costa Rica a trip and a country a great to travel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Golda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

We stayed at Camino Verde two nights, and were welcomed by Jose after a somewhat harrowing drive from Tilaran (note: I would strongly suggest getting a 4 wheel drive vehicle if you're renting a car; ask about the conditions of your route before you set off, and try to minimize driving at night). Jose immediately offered us a plan for the next few days (night tour that night to see wildlife, zipline tour, and a guided tour of Monteverde Reserve.) You need to be patient with the wildlife tours; they're good, but it won't be like going to a zoo, obviously. Zip lining was great.

I was really impressed by the professionalism of Jose and Andreas. There is pretty much always someone at the desk, ready to help, even late.

The location is in town itself (Santa Elena). Lots of people under 30, with the town seemingly geared to catering to tourists. There are a few decent restaurants, a bank, and some bars within walking distance.

Overall, really good (and really reasonable!) place to stay in Monteverde.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DevBenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.6 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#5 of 20 in Monteverde
294 reviews
0.8 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
1.1 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 20 in Monteverde
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
0.7 mi away
Cala Lodge
Cala Lodge
#4 of 20 in Monteverde
526 reviews
0.3 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#2 of 20 in Monteverde
1,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde

Address: 300 meters south of Entrance acrross the Catholic Church | 300 meters south of Entrance acrross the Catholic Church, Santa Elena 60109, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Elena
Price Range: $40 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camino Verde B&B is a "Bed and Breakfast" style lodging opened in 2009 and located on the edge of Santa Elena. The B&B is laid out in the style of a family house and guests are encouraged to treat it as their home. The building was in fact once the owner's family home which gave inspiration to this 'Tica House' designed hotel.The B&B is situated a 5 minute walk from the town centre of Santa Elena, but is far enough away for it to be quiet and have more rural surroundings. This is the perfect option for those who crave the quiet side of the countryside but who require the amenities provided in a town. FACILITIES: Camino Verde B&B comprises private rooms which sleep 2 to 4 guests. Four of the rooms have shared bathroom facilities and the rest are en suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camino Verde Bed And Breakfast Monteverde
Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde Hotel Santa Elena
Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing