We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Camino Verde B&B - Great time in Monteverde!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde
Ranked #1 of 14 Santa Elena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 17, 2013

I was so glad we found this wonderful accomodation! It was the best place to start off our Costa Rica trip in September.
The hotel owner, the wonderful view and the beautiful village Santa Elena grew close to our hearts in these few days. Andres is a really great host and we felt very well cared for. He was always helpful and always took his time to answer questions or to have nice talks.
We received many helpful tips and thanks to him we were able to make really amazing trips. The rooms were nicely decorated, comfortable, quiet and clean.
The breakfast was absolutely delicious and freshly prepared by friendly staff.
When we come back to Costa Rica, we will definitely stay there again.
Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,040)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

530 - 536 of 1,040 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2013

Ideal place to stay for all tours around there! People were amazingly friendly and helpful, you feel personally welcomed there! rooms are simple but absolutely fine for the money. great place to stay if you do not look for extraodinay luxery but a home-feeling. D&R

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Romi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We have to start by acknowledging the owner, Jose. He is the man! After staying at Camino Verde twice, Jose became more than a b&b owner- he became a friend. Jose goes out of his way to make sure all of his guests have the best experience at the b&b and in Monteverde in general. He made sure we had breakfast before our long day of adventures (even though we needed to leave before the kitchen opened). He also took us to an amazing tree for us to climb. When you arrive Jose will map out the area for you, showing you all of the activities and excursions available. He even helped book our excursions and transportation for the next stop on our trip!

The b&b itself is a charming place to stay with a traditional Costa Rica vibe. It has a great chef who prepares delicious breakfasts and you can use to kitchen to cook too. The grounds are pretty and there are some really nice views and comfortable places to relax. Good wifi access. Comfortable beds, very clean.

On top of the great service and accommodations, you can't beat the vibe here! Jose plays great music was great to converse with. At a price you can't beat Camino Verde has everything you need and more!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danielle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We liked this place enough though it wasn't much more than a student hostel and it was hard to find on an unmade road. So why did we like it? It had terrific service, from the moment we arrived. The owner (good business!) sorted out our trip to the National Park. Free coffee anytime reception was open. Directions for neighbouring restaurants too. Town centre just a few mins walk away. Yes the rooms were small, the walls were thin, the bathroom towel miniscule. No matter.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OnwardTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

I stayed at camino verde for 2 nights, not enought...
The rooms are nice, cleane and breakfast ist amazing. There is coffee and tea anytime in the kitchen. Friendly staff. Just few minute walk from the town .

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MM4545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Our room was a little tight, but the breakfast was great and the staff very helpful. It isn't the easiest place to find, but is worth it. Tours will pick you up at the hotel and the main drag is only a ten minute walk. The supermarket is close, and you are welcome to use the kitchen to make your own dinner, which we did.

Room Tip: In a place like Monteverde, you won't be spending much time in your room, but know they are not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrianSix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We, a party of 5, stayed for 2 nights at Camino Verde. We drove into and out of Santa Elena and were able to park very close to our room. We booked two rooms, but found them large enough that we could have gotten by with just one.

Camino Verde was just what we needed. A very affordable place, nice and clean. Centrally located with a great breakfast. The owner, Jose, was great. Very personable, knowledgeable of the area and very willing to help arrange excursions.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
Thank CreigW3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.6 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#4 of 20 in Monteverde
260 reviews
0.8 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
0.7 mi away
Cala Lodge
Cala Lodge
#5 of 20 in Monteverde
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
#3 of 7 in Santa Elena
708 reviews
0.3 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 20 in Monteverde
1,129 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 20 in Monteverde
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde

Address: 300 meters south of Entrance acrross the Catholic Church | 300 meters south of Entrance acrross the Catholic Church, Santa Elena 60109, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Elena
Price Range: $42 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camino Verde B&B is a "Bed and Breakfast" style lodging opened in 2009 and located on the edge of Santa Elena. The B&B is laid out in the style of a family house and guests are encouraged to treat it as their home. The building was in fact once the owner's family home which gave inspiration to this 'Tica House' designed hotel.The B&B is situated a 5 minute walk from the town centre of Santa Elena, but is far enough away for it to be quiet and have more rural surroundings. This is the perfect option for those who crave the quiet side of the countryside but who require the amenities provided in a town. FACILITIES: Camino Verde B&B comprises private rooms which sleep 2 to 4 guests. Four of the rooms have shared bathroom facilities and the rest are en suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camino Verde Bed And Breakfast Monteverde
Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde Hotel Santa Elena
Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing