We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Nice Place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde
Ranked #1 of 14 Santa Elena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Gainesville, Florida, United States
1 review
“Nice Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

We, a party of 5, stayed for 2 nights at Camino Verde. We drove into and out of Santa Elena and were able to park very close to our room. We booked two rooms, but found them large enough that we could have gotten by with just one.

Camino Verde was just what we needed. A very affordable place, nice and clean. Centrally located with a great breakfast. The owner, Jose, was great. Very personable, knowledgeable of the area and very willing to help arrange excursions.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank CreigW3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

896 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    629
    197
    47
    13
    10
See reviews for
142
334
71
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

From start to finish, this hostel was one of my favorites in Costa Rica. The owner was warm and welcoming, as well as helpful in getting our next shuttle prepared. It was like staying in a log cabin. We had a clean room, clean bathroom with warm showers, and delicious (and free) breakfast that they cook for you on the spot.

Its a 5-10 minute walk from the main street with shops and restaurants. I don't mind being a little off the beaten path, made it feel more like a lodge than some party hostel. The view from the patio is nice to enjoy on the rocking chairs. There is coffee, water, or tea at anytime in the kitchen. I was impressed with the WiFi strength, its all over the hostel and even in the rooms.

It is very well priced for the high quality. We had a wonderful stay and I will definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steph_Cooksey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed at camino verde for 3 nights, we got picked up from the bus stop promptly, our room was spacious and very comfortable, and very cheap! The owners treated us like family, helped us with everything we needed, made us feel very at home. Even down to the simplest of gestures - we brought a bottle of wine from the supermarket and while sitting eating dinner he was kind enough to open the bottle and pour us both a glass. The breakfast in the morning is really great, with some awesome choices. Felt very secure and safe and loved every minute staying here. They also take pride in the place and put lots of effort in updating decore and using their own creative flair to make things look awesome. Clearly people who are in the right business. Great facilities, great people, great atmosphere!

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Yoitscool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Camino Verde was a comfortable, casual place to stay in Monteverde. The facilities are clean and include all the basic amenities. There is a simple charm to the place, very organic. It serves a good home base to explore Monteverde and all it has to offer. The hosts and staff are so friendly and accommodating. I would recommend Camino Verde to anyone looking for a nice, relaxing, and reasonably priced place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sydney_Paige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

This is a very nice place to stay very cozy but a little bit older. The owner is a great guy and the breakfast is awesome..It is very close to down town. I would recommend this bed & breakfast and it is a great value.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gatorpate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

Thank you for making our stay in monte verde a special one. Continued success Jose :)
I appreciate all your help with planning our vacation, and enjoyed our stay at the b&b. Great service, excellent facilities, great breakfast

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sangeeta B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

This was a really great place to stay and cheap. The rooms were clean with nice linen and blankets. The breakfasts were great I couldn't believe they were also included in the price. It also has cooking facilities if you just want to chill in the comunal area
Jose was great at organising everything for you and was always there to answer all your questions.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PennyPollom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.6 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#4 of 22 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
0.8 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
0.3 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 22 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#6 of 22 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.9 mi away
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
1.1 mi away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#1 of 22 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde

Property: Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde
Address: | 300 meters south of Entrance acrross the Catholic Church, Santa Elena 60109, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camino Verde B&B is a "Bed and Breakfast" style lodging opened in 2009 and located on the edge of Santa Elena. The B&B is laid out in the style of a family house and guests are encouraged to treat it as their home. The building was in fact once the owner's family home which gave inspiration to this 'Tica House' designed hotel.The B&B is situated a 5 minute walk from the town centre of Santa Elena, but is far enough away for it to be quiet and have more rural surroundings. This is the perfect option for those who crave the quiet side of the countryside but who require the amenities provided in a town. FACILITIES: Camino Verde B&B comprises private rooms which sleep 2 to 4 guests. Four of the rooms have shared bathroom facilities and the rest are en suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde Hotel Santa Elena
Camino Verde Bed And Breakfast Monteverde
Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing