We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Price & Great Value - Exceeds Expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde
Ranked #1 of 14 Santa Elena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Playa Grande, Costa Rica
1 review
“Great Price & Great Value - Exceeds Expectations”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

My husband and I have been travelling in Costa Rica for 9 months with our small daughter. We spent 3 days in Monteverde at Camino Verde and we could have stayed much longer. We weren't sure what to expect because the price is so low, but it was a great place to stay. The room we had was simple and clean, the breakfast was amazing every day, and the staff were amazing. They really make the place special. They were super helpful and very kind. We would definitely stay here again, and would recommend it to everyone visiting Monteverde.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

995 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    691
    226
    54
    14
    10
See reviews for
168
381
75
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Comayagua, Comayagua
2 reviews
Reviewed July 5, 2013

I booked Camino Verde kind of on the run; last minute. So I was sort of expecting your run of the mill hostel, just a little more pricey because of the location. Not so. I was immediately greeted by the friendly Andres; one of the sons of this family-owned and operated business. He is bilingual and completely connected with the interrelationships of the town and the companies offering all the tours. He is your personal travel agent and it is such a relief if you're used to handling that all yourself. He and his mother virtually run the entire operation. She makes breakfast every morning, offering the biggest variety of continental breakfast I've seen, made to order; typical, American, and otherwise.

After staying in normal old hostels, it was awesome to walk in the room and feel more like I was in a hotel. Nice bed/bath, hot water, very clean, t.v., wifi. As a traveler, I'll just say it felt like a hotel and not a hostel. I had a private room/bath, can't speak for the others. In fact, I stayed an extra night before heading off to my next location. I wish I had stayed longer, in retrospect. It is a great location, has a fantastic view, and other like-minded travelers. Only thing to be aware of is that the common area closes at nine. So just make sure you have what you need/want out of the kitchen before they lock up. And laundry is pricey ($9), so do it before you get there. Otherwise, you really couldn't ask for more for your money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scallaghan98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 5, 2013

I went to Monteverde for a weekend trip. My friend had told me that Camino Verde was a good place to stay, so we made reservations there. Andres was SO HELPFUL when I called and needed to change reservations last minute to accommodate an extra person. He is fluent in English, so you don't need to worry about any translation problems.

We arrived on the public bus late Friday night. Camino Verde is about a 5 minute walk from the bus station, and right near the main road. The rooms are a good size, and very clean! It was definitely the nicest place I stayed in out of all my trips in Costa Rica (and I travelled around for almost 2 months!).

Andres is so helpful. We didn't know exactly what we wanted to do in town, and he helped us figure out what our options were. He even called a few local tour guides to figure out which park/nature reserve had been spotting the most wildlife lately!

Breakfast was DELICIOUS. We had our choice of four different meals, all cooked fresh for us. It was amazing compared to the continental bar breakfast I am used to while traveling.

I would recommend Camino Verde to anyone who will be staying in Monteverde. It is by far the best place you will stay at.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 5, 2013

I loved everything about this hostel, it is beautiful, relaxing, and has the best owners you'll find in Costa Rica! FIVE STARS! You cannot ask for a better place to stay, it is super close to the center of town, super market, bars, restaraunts, and more!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheza715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

The hostel is nice and cheap, and its people are excellent. The owner is native to Santa Elena and his suggestions for traveling in the region were key during our trip. The hostel organizes very interesting tours to the most important attractions of the region.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danigt26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 21, 2013

The hostel was very clean and cosy, and the guy at the front desk, Andres, was very friendly and helpful. Complimentary good breakfast and free coffee and tea all day. The only drawbacks were minor- shower had trouble heating up and there was no fan in the room, but the temperature outside was generally cool. One of the best hostels we stayed at in Costa Rica, we'd definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: The private room with a private bathroom also has a tv, and it's probably worth the extra few do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sayada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

The most friendly staff I met in Costa Rica! They speak English very well and will help you book anything that you need. They are there starting from 7am till the evening.
This place has a hostel atmosphere, with a nice common area including a kitchen you can use to cook your own dinner/lunch. It is a great place to meet other travelers and even hang out when it is rainy.
This place is 3 minutes walk from "downtown" Santa Elena - so it is not very central, but it is quiet and close enough for most purposes. There are 2 sodas (small local restaurants) next door, so you can get something for lunch/dinner with minimum walking when it rains. There is also a small store very close, so you can buy the basics if you are planning on a quick do-it-yourself dinner in the kitchen.
The Wifi is working well, and there are several somewhat slow computers that you can use.
Breakfast is good and portions are good enough for the average traveler.
The rooms are basic, clean and welcoming. There is hot water all day long to shower, but none in the sink so men - shave with cold water, or in the shower, or not at all...
There is no A/C in the rooms, but since the Monte Verde area is by far the coolest in Costa Rica, you don't really need it. There is also no safe, but the management testifies the area to be very safe, and it indeed felt (and was) okay.
As for the name of the place - there are actually several names for this place:
- Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast (used to be Camino Verde hotel in "downtown" which does not exist any more).
- Cabinas Tina's Casitas
- Hotel Atardecer
There are 2 buildings, one across the other, same owner and same management. I guess each has its own name, but I am not sure which is which, and definitely cannot explain the third name... This is all very confusing, but if you care for what exact room you get - just make sure to clarify that when making the reservation.
The building on the reception/management side is usually filled up first, so staying on the other side can be a bit empty in low season. To access that "other side" late at night, you need to enter from the rare entrance (where the parking is).

Room Tip: There are 2 buildings, one across the other. If you care for what exact room you get - just make sur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WhiteSlope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.6 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#5 of 20 in Monteverde
233 reviews
0.3 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 20 in Monteverde
1,079 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 20 in Monteverde
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
1.1 mi away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#1 of 20 in Monteverde
1,297 reviews
0.9 mi away
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde

Property: Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde
Address: | 300 meters south of Entrance acrross the Catholic Church, Santa Elena 60109, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camino Verde B&B is a "Bed and Breakfast" style lodging opened in 2009 and located on the edge of Santa Elena. The B&B is laid out in the style of a family house and guests are encouraged to treat it as their home. The building was in fact once the owner's family home which gave inspiration to this 'Tica House' designed hotel.The B&B is situated a 5 minute walk from the town centre of Santa Elena, but is far enough away for it to be quiet and have more rural surroundings. This is the perfect option for those who crave the quiet side of the countryside but who require the amenities provided in a town. FACILITIES: Camino Verde B&B comprises private rooms which sleep 2 to 4 guests. Four of the rooms have shared bathroom facilities and the rest are en suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde Hotel Santa Elena
Camino Verde Bed And Breakfast Monteverde
Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing