We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde
Nearby Hotels
$132
$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Las Orquideas(Santa Elena)
$74
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$126
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$131
$103
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Santa Elena Hostel Resort(Santa Elena)(Great Value!)
$54
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$45
$44
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of $53/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast(Santa Elena)(Great Value!)
$33
$20
Hostelworld.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pension Santa Elena(Santa Elena)(Great Value!)
$33
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arco Iris Lodge(Santa Elena)(Great Value!)
$86
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,110)
Filter reviews
1,110 results
Traveler rating
770
256
58
15
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
770
256
58
15
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspancakescosta ricathe kitchendifferent optionsbreakfast optionsbreakfast was deliciousgreat place to stayfruitcoffee and teaother travelerscloud forestthe ownerzip liningenjoyed our stayin townpollopura vida
Filter
Updating list...
638 - 643 of 1,110 reviews
Reviewed June 21, 2013

The hostel was very clean and cosy, and the guy at the front desk, Andres, was very friendly and helpful. Complimentary good breakfast and free coffee and tea all day. The only drawbacks were minor- shower had trouble heating up and there was no fan in the room, but the temperature outside was generally cool. One of the best hostels we stayed at in Costa Rica, we'd definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: The private room with a private bathroom also has a tv, and it's probably worth the extra few dollars.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sayada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

The most friendly staff I met in Costa Rica! They speak English very well and will help you book anything that you need. They are there starting from 7am till the evening.
This place has a hostel atmosphere, with a nice common area including a kitchen you can use to cook your own dinner/lunch. It is a great place to meet other travelers and even hang out when it is rainy.
This place is 3 minutes walk from "downtown" Santa Elena - so it is not very central, but it is quiet and close enough for most purposes. There are 2 sodas (small local restaurants) next door, so you can get something for lunch/dinner with minimum walking when it rains. There is also a small store very close, so you can buy the basics if you are planning on a quick do-it-yourself dinner in the kitchen.
The Wifi is working well, and there are several somewhat slow computers that you can use.
Breakfast is good and portions are good enough for the average traveler.
The rooms are basic, clean and welcoming. There is hot water all day long to shower, but none in the sink so men - shave with cold water, or in the shower, or not at all...
There is no A/C in the rooms, but since the Monte Verde area is by far the coolest in Costa Rica, you don't really need it. There is also no safe, but the management testifies the area to be very safe, and it indeed felt (and was) okay.
As for the name of the place - there are actually several names for this place:
- Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast (used to be Camino Verde hotel in "downtown" which does not exist any more).
- Cabinas Tina's Casitas
- Hotel Atardecer
There are 2 buildings, one across the other, same owner and same management. I guess each has its own name, but I am not sure which is which, and definitely cannot explain the third name... This is all very confusing, but if you care for what exact room you get - just make sure to clarify that when making the reservation.
The building on the reception/management side is usually filled up first, so staying on the other side can be a bit empty in low season. To access that "other side" late at night, you need to enter from the rare entrance (where the parking is).

Room Tip: There are 2 buildings, one across the other. If you care for what exact room you get - just make sure to clarify that when making the reservation. The building on the reception/management side is usually filled up first, so staying on the other side can be a bit empty in low season. To access that "other side" late at night, you need to enter from the rare entrance (where the parking is).
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WhiteSlope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Camino Verde is the best. After booking for four nights, we ended up staying a whole week, and then after an escapade to Panama, we made a point of coming back for our last week.

Let me repeat that... we crossed all of Costa Rica, to go back to Monteverde, just so we could stay there again.

We loved Jose and Andres, the manager and owner, and the general atmosphere of the place. It's calm and cozy, and everyone is really really friendly. You MUST go hear.

Also, the breakfast is absolutely delicious, it's unreal!

GO HERE.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niamh L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

What a cute and cozy B&B! The common area is nice, with free wifi and phone calls to the US. The new front entrance and "bottle wall" adds an eclectic touch. We enjoyed the free breakfast that included 4 choices. The location was perfect to walk to town or to get picked up for our excursions. Our room was small but comfortable, and it had its own bathroom. Getting hot water in the shower was tricky, but not a concern. We didn't spend much time in our room to need anything more. Andres and Jose helped us with everything from planning our excursions, suggesting places to eat, planning our transportation, and answering questions in general. They were wonderful hosts, kind and helpful. I would definitely stay here again! Thank you Andres and Jose for making our stay so wonderful!

Room Tip: We stayed in the back, in room #18 (I think). It had two beds and its own bath. There was an enclosed porch with large windows and 4 rocking chairs. It was a great area to read or simply look at the view.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SisthlerNic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Andres made our stay in Monteverde easy and fun! He helped us book all of our tours right at the front desk. He gave us a super helpful map that he had made of all the tours, their prices, and times. It was amazingly helpful. He was readily available pretty much day and night for any questions we had. Our room (#18) was clean and had its own bathroom amd TV. There are a few common areas to hang out in which was nice. There is a fridge that we kept beer and cheese from the local factory in during our stay. Breakfast was hearty and freshly made. We had the eggs and pancakes most mornings. Free wifi too although it didn't work in our room. Overall, highly recommended and would stay here again! A great B&B for a really good price!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BDDono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews