We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“amazing staff, awesome location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde
Ranked #1 of 14 Santa Elena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
“amazing staff, awesome location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

This hostel couldnt have been much better. The staff were more than accomodating, friendly, and fun. They helped us get all of our tours set up, suggested places to eat and go out at night, and gave friendly reminders as to what time we needed to be ready for a specific tour. Not only would I now consider them great friends, I'd also consider them phenomenal cooks! The free breakfast that was provided every day was delicious and cooked to your desire immediately when you woke up so it was fresh to eat. The room was perfect, my 4 friends and I were so happy to have been able to find a room that fit all of us comfortably, and even had our own private bathroom! We liked this place so much we recommended it to another group of friends who were planning a trip to Monteverde the following weekend. Thank you Camino Verde for making our experience one we will never forget!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Priscilla D S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

969 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    675
    220
    50
    14
    10
See reviews for
161
368
74
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

Andres & Jose were extremely helpful with helping us plan all of our activities for the next day - hiking the cloud forest, canopy tour & great recommendations on places to eat. They really took the time to help us plan and make sure we had a great experience at their B&B. They even gave us a great recommendation on where to stay for the next leg of our trip.
We were not prepared for the cooler weather in the mountains in Santa Elena and my girlfriend was really cold the one night we explored the town. Andres stepped right in and lent her his nice coat and was very generous.
The rooms had fantastic views, very clean & breakfast was delicious in the morning. This place was about a 5-10 minute walk from town which was a very easy walk and we'd definitely recommend this to anybody that asked.

Room Tip: Ask Andres or Jose - they know what's up
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MatteusLeus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

We stopped at Camino Verde at the end of our Costa Rican vacation. We knew from the reviews that the staff was going to be a highlight of the trip and we were not disappointed.

For travellers driving to this B&B, beware of the really rough roads leading to the location. The parking is also a bit tough given the steep driveway.

We were two couples staying in separate rooms and were both pretty satisfied with the accommodation. Unfortunately the weather wasn't great and it sounded like a freight train in the rooms at night but this isn't a fault of the Camino Verde.

Hanging out with the staff and other guests was really fun.

I would recommend contacting the hotel directly to book as we paid a premium booking through Expedia. While still fairly inexpensive, every bit of savings counts.

Television wasn't working during our stay buy we weren't exactly looking to watch TV.

Recommended for singles or couples but families wouldn't necessarily find this to be the best place to stay.

Thanks again to the great staff!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

They only make our stay as a wonderful experience but also help in our further journey of exploring Costa Rica. They provide all information and booking service right from their office and their all referals where very great company.

Room Tip: Ok they don't have swimming pool and fitness center as other motel in costa rica don't have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanjay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silicon Valley, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

My wife and I visited Costa Rica for the first time this last summer. We had two weeks in country and wanted to see and experience as much as possible. Jose Retana was not only an awesome host who went out of his way to ensure we enjoyed our stay in Monteverde, but he helped coordinate our travels, lodgings, and activities throughout the country. The prices were reasonable, but most important to us, the vendors he put us in contact were predictable, reliable and professional. Jose not only runs a great BnB in Monteverde, but he is a gifted coordinator.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trentchristopher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

My friend and I stayed at Camino Verde for 2 nights. As soon as we got there we were greeted by Andres, he checked us in, let us know where to go for lunch and coordinated all of our activities for the next 2.5 days. He was patient and took his time in explaining things to us, even when football(soccer) was on! He gave us options and good suggestions on what we should or shouldn't do. We really didn't have to do a thing while there, which I loved!!

They had free breakfast in the morning, free use of an iPad and free calls to the US. The room was clean and cozy. It was very close to the small town that had all the restaurants and couple of bars. The place looks very cool because they constructed many things themselves and added some personal elements.

Definitely highly recommend Camino Verde.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeeYayArea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

As two girls traveling by ourselves, it was important for us to feel comfortable, and this place was amazing. Our room was cheap and very clean, the free breakfast was delicious, and most importantly, the staff and especially the owner were so kind and professional! Great place!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.6 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#5 of 21 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
0.3 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 21 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
0.8 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 21 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.9 mi away
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
0.5 mi away
Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde

Property: Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde
Address: | 300 meters south of Entrance acrross the Catholic Church, Santa Elena 60109, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camino Verde B&B is a "Bed and Breakfast" style lodging opened in 2009 and located on the edge of Santa Elena. The B&B is laid out in the style of a family house and guests are encouraged to treat it as their home. The building was in fact once the owner's family home which gave inspiration to this 'Tica House' designed hotel.The B&B is situated a 5 minute walk from the town centre of Santa Elena, but is far enough away for it to be quiet and have more rural surroundings. This is the perfect option for those who crave the quiet side of the countryside but who require the amenities provided in a town. FACILITIES: Camino Verde B&B comprises private rooms which sleep 2 to 4 guests. Four of the rooms have shared bathroom facilities and the rest are en suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde Hotel Santa Elena
Camino Verde Bed And Breakfast Monteverde
Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing