We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hostel in Monteverde!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde
Ranked #1 of 14 Santa Elena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Whittier, California, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best hostel in Monteverde!”
Reviewed January 28, 2012

Andres was super nice and helpful with booking tours and transportation! Amazing views. Breakfast was delicious! Really a great place to stay

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,016 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    708
    230
    54
    14
    10
See reviews for
175
390
75
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 28, 2012

Anyone who works in the service industry should study Andres. He's friendly, humble, and goes out of his way to help you. He worked with us plan our morning cloud forest hike and made sure we'd still have his aunt's delicious breakfast despite our early rise at 6am!

Additionally, he recommended great nearby restaurants, night walks, and helped book our shuttle to Manuel Antonio. He took initiative to call and check a shuttle's ETA on our behalf if it was running late.

The only downside we had here was the wind. There were strong and loud wind gusts all night long, so if you're a light sleeper like me you'll definitely want ear plugs.

It's a short (3 min) walk to town center which has everything you need: a bakery, bank, market, and plenty of sodas and coffee shops.

There's wi-fi in the lobby and the rooms, and there's also a great view of the coastal shoreline on a clear day.

I would definitely stay here again, and so should you!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank srhaber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed January 28, 2012

Everyone was very friendly and accommodating; helped us out with our transfers and adventures. Great price for all that was offered, I will recommend Camino Verde to all my friends looking find a great place in Costa Rica! :)

Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sheena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2012

It's a pity you can't split the review to two - the service, and the amenities.

The service provided by Andres, the owner, is amazing. He took care of all our requests, found us hotels for our next destinations in an impossible time (Christmas weekend and the week after that). All of the tours Andres recommended we go on were amazing, and so was the breakfast they make at the B&B.

The double room we got was in a different place, close by, which belongs to a family member. It was perfectly fine (clean, large rooms, comfy beds etc.), but very rustic. It was very windy outside during the nights (and also rained a little), and the room got very noisy because of the wind, given it had very thin walls.

We found ourselves spending most of our time in Andres' place (3 minutes walking from there), and not in our hotel. For a budget hotel, I would recommend it again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hmph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilburg, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2011

Nice rooms, quiet location and a host who will help you with anything regarding transport and activities near Monteverde. The breakfast was great and all of the staff was friendly. One of the best places we were during our 5 months of travel.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank groente v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2011

There's no complaining about this place. Everybody, from Andres the owner to other staff including cook/cleaning lady and her charming daughter made us feel like home. There's a nice communal kitchen area, a balcony with a superb view to cloudforest and a very fast Internet (+wifi). Hot showers in every room which are cleaned daily and are very comfortable and clean. Andres seems to be well-respected person among other hoteliers and helps others as much as possible.

This hotel is located 3 minutes walk from the town centre which saves it from the city noise. Great food closeby, our favorite was Soda Bonanza with terrific food and very low prices.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ville E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andres86crc, Owner at Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde, responded to this review, December 8, 2011
Amigo! Thank you so much for your comment! It was very nice having you and your family with us! Valeska had a great time playing with your daughter! Greetings and Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2011

We arrived to Camino Verde late in the evening. We were immediately greeted by Andres who was expecting us. He was friendly and welcoming. We were scheduled to take a night tour in a few minutes and had no idea where we were going. Andres called the tour and had them wait for us, stored our luggage, and gave us directions. Thanks to him we made our tour.

The hotel was nice and clean. Our room was a good size and had a nice bathroom. The hot water in the shower took a minute to learn but we were coached by Andres before we checked in. When we woke up we had a gorgeous view of the mountains and valley outside our door. Breakfast was delicious. I had the pancakes and my Fiancé had Gallo Pinto. The portions were generous. After breakfast we talked to Andres about the local tours. He booked us a Coffee Tour that was sensational! A bus picked us up at the hotel and dropped us off. The price was great, definitively worth every penny. I would HIGHLY recommend booking tours directly through Andres. We booked our night tour elsewhere. It was expensive and not good!

The location of the hotel was perfect. There is a convenient store, bar, and restaurant right next door. Within a short walking distance there are several restaurants, bars, supermarket, tours, etc. Although we were only at the hotel a short time, this was the best experience out of all the hotels we stayed at. Andres is super helpful and friendly. We felt safe and at home while we visited.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.6 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#6 of 20 in Monteverde
243 reviews
0.3 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 20 in Monteverde
1,116 reviews
0.8 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 20 in Monteverde
240 reviews
0.9 mi away
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
0.5 mi away
Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde

Property: Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde
Address: 300 meters south of Entrance acrross the Catholic Church | 300 meters south of Entrance acrross the Catholic Church, Santa Elena 60109, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camino Verde B&B is a "Bed and Breakfast" style lodging opened in 2009 and located on the edge of Santa Elena. The B&B is laid out in the style of a family house and guests are encouraged to treat it as their home. The building was in fact once the owner's family home which gave inspiration to this 'Tica House' designed hotel.The B&B is situated a 5 minute walk from the town centre of Santa Elena, but is far enough away for it to be quiet and have more rural surroundings. This is the perfect option for those who crave the quiet side of the countryside but who require the amenities provided in a town. FACILITIES: Camino Verde B&B comprises private rooms which sleep 2 to 4 guests. Four of the rooms have shared bathroom facilities and the rest are en suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camino Verde Bed And Breakfast Monteverde
Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde Hotel Santa Elena
Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing