We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Convenient and pleasant owners” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel El Sueno

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel El Sueno
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Santa Elena
Wellington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Convenient and pleasant owners”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

Safe parking, good breakfasts, clean room and shower and helpful staff/owners. Very convenient to visit Frogpond (evening is best), Serpentarium (excellent) and the trek up to Monteverde and Santa Elena Cloud Forests.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ty G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rafa t, Public Relations Manager at Hotel El Sueno, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear
y G

thank you for your comments
we are very happy you enjoy your staying with us

we hope to see you back soon

thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    42
    33
    8
    14
See reviews for
11
52
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

It was a good budget hotel. They charge 20 $ a person. You dont get A/C, but you dont need it because it can get a bit chill in santa elena. Its family owned and they recieved us with open arms. The parking is a but difficult to drive out but it can be done. Dont expect wonders of the wifi. I dont know why but it was very slow on certain times. The breakfast however was great. We also used the laundry service. It was 5$ a kilo. A bit expensive but your clothes are as fresh as ever!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Poeleke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rafa t, Public Relations Manager at Hotel El Sueno, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear
Poeleke

thank you for your comments it help us get better everyday

we are very glad to see you enjoy your staying with us

thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pittsburgh
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Myself and a group of friends had been touring around Costa Rica and came up to Santa Elena to visit the Monteverde cloud forest. We parked across the street from El Sueno while my friends went to the Chamber of Commerce for some information, I walked over to El Sueno to admire the rocking chairs on their porch. The owner (actually his son) came out and made an "offer you can't refuse". We haden't even decided yet to spend the night yet. Very nice and attentive owners, very affordable price, the place was very clean and the breakfast couldn't be beat. They had the best Gallo Pinto I had my entire stay in Costa Rica. To me, hospitality, cleanliness and culinary are my main considerations when rating a place. It is a little noicy, not that that bothered me or my friends. And there were some mechanical things like my sink waddled, no big deal. I highly recommend El Sueno.

Room Tip: The orchid garden is right down the street, you have to see it. Small foot print, huge selection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank theparadorinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rafa t, Public Relations Manager at Hotel El Sueno, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear
theparadorinn
thank you for your comments

we are happy we were your best choice while your staying in santa elena

we are now serving even better breakfast

thank you for your visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

Slept here one night. My bed went up And down When somebody walks next to our room in the halway. Next to 2 busy street And some kind of bar with loud music, so very noisy. Ouwners (soon?) Helps if he can make money (with to expensive tours, if you compare it with tours that are offert by backpacker places) , if that's not possible he might think with you.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R-le-chat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rafa t, Public Relations Manager at Hotel El Sueno, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear
R-le-chat

thank you very much for your comments, we are glad to told you the issue with bed When somebody walks next to our room in the halway, has been fixed

the price with have for the tours are the same or lower than others in the area

thank you for your comment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Santa Elena hotels

Arcata, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

We stayed 3 nights here. Great wooden rooms with hot water and central location without all the noise. The breakfast was delicious and was included in the room price with large cups of coffee. The owners try to push tours with prices elevated for gringos, but that most likely happens at most places in this town.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LM_PO_1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rafa t, Public Relations Manager at Hotel El Sueno, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
dear
LM_PO_1983
thank you for your time to write your comments

we are happy to see you like your staying with us
we strive to give the better server every day
thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Elena, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

At this moment we ar staying at this hotel in room 19 (double bed). The owner and son are very friendly and helpfull with any kind of question. The room is nice and has a good bed. Its in the middle of the centre, which we like very much because you are close to everything. For breakfast you can choose 6 different breakfast menu's and you get orange juice and a tea/coffee or chocolatemilk. Staff is very helpfull with al kinds of tours for a fare price, like nighttours, canopy, jeep-boat-jeep to la Fortuna and any other kind of transportation.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roy_Helene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rafa t, Public Relations Manager at Hotel El Sueno, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
dear

Roy_Helene
we are very glad to see you enjoy your staying with us

we hope to see you soon again

we will be uploading new pictures soon
thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

I was backpacking (solo female) and going to budget hotels. This room was fine for me. I paid $20 per night and stayed three nights. No frills. It was cool enough when I was there that I didn't need A/C or heat. The shower was barely warm enough and the pressure wasn't great, but the location was in town, walking distance to the grocery store, pharmacy, restaurants and tour info. It was noisy at night due to traffic and motorcycles but after 10pm it got quiet outside. However, it's all built out of wood so early in the morning, when guests walked past my room, I could hear the floor boards creaking and I could hear my neighbor's conversation through the wall. It's family owned and they couldn't have been nicer. The son speaks English and was very helpful with a variety of information. Breakfast was an additional $5 and was worth it.

Room Tip: Pick a room away from the road if you seek some quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Teri J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
15.1 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#4 of 22 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
15.6 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#7 of 22 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
14.3 mi away
Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
14.4 mi away
Sunset Hotel Monteverde
Sunset Hotel Monteverde
#10 of 22 in Monteverde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
14.5 mi away
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Sueno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Sueno

Property: Hotel El Sueno
Address: Santa Elena Center | next to the Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Santa Elena, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel El Sueño is a family owned and operated lodge in the center of Santa Elena, a small village next to the Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve. A favorite for budget travelers and backpackers, the lodging is hosted by a family originally from the Monteverde area. The eating/kitchen and reception areas are surrounded by the rooms, all with their outside private entrances. Three new rooms have been recently built at the back of the property. Breakfast is served daily between 6 and 8 a.m. and is very reasonably priced. Lunch and dinner are also available by request at good prices, and a homemade lunch will be made to go upon request, if you're spending the day in one of the nearby parks. Transportation service is also available to the parks as well as Arenal Volcano. The friendly owner, Rafa Trejos and his family, are helpful hosts, and offer horseback tours from their nearby farm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel El Sueno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Sueno Monteverde, Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing