We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel, great location”
Review of Hotel El Sueno

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel El Sueno
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Santa Elena
Arcata, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“nice hotel, great location”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

We stayed 3 nights here. Great wooden rooms with hot water and central location without all the noise. The breakfast was delicious and was included in the room price with large cups of coffee. The owners try to push tours with prices elevated for gringos, but that most likely happens at most places in this town.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LM_PO_1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rafa t, Public Relations Manager at Hotel El Sueno, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
dear
LM_PO_1983
thank you for your time to write your comments

we are happy to see you like your staying with us
we strive to give the better server every day
thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    48
    34
    10
    18
See reviews for
11
59
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Elena, Costa Rica
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed December 3, 2012

At this moment we ar staying at this hotel in room 19 (double bed). The owner and son are very friendly and helpfull with any kind of question. The room is nice and has a good bed. Its in the middle of the centre, which we like very much because you are close to everything. For breakfast you can choose 6 different breakfast menu's and you get orange juice and a tea/coffee or chocolatemilk. Staff is very helpfull with al kinds of tours for a fare price, like nighttours, canopy, jeep-boat-jeep to la Fortuna and any other kind of transportation.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roy_Helene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rafa t, Public Relations Manager at Hotel El Sueno, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
dear

Roy_Helene
we are very glad to see you enjoy your staying with us

we hope to see you soon again

we will be uploading new pictures soon
thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

I was backpacking (solo female) and going to budget hotels. This room was fine for me. I paid $20 per night and stayed three nights. No frills. It was cool enough when I was there that I didn't need A/C or heat. The shower was barely warm enough and the pressure wasn't great, but the location was in town, walking distance to the grocery store, pharmacy, restaurants and tour info. It was noisy at night due to traffic and motorcycles but after 10pm it got quiet outside. However, it's all built out of wood so early in the morning, when guests walked past my room, I could hear the floor boards creaking and I could hear my neighbor's conversation through the wall. It's family owned and they couldn't have been nicer. The son speaks English and was very helpful with a variety of information. Breakfast was an additional $5 and was worth it.

Room Tip: Pick a room away from the road if you seek some quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teri J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2012

Santa Elena/ Monteverde can be an expensive travel destination. Entrance to the Monteverde cloud forest is around $18/person, entrance to the Santa Elena cloud forest is about $10/peson, entrance to the Catarata San Lius is $10/person, and taxis aren't cheap. So a cheaper hotel is a must if you are backpacking through. I have stayed at El Sueño a couple of times, and it is fairly priced (during the low season) and the breakfasts are excellent. However rooms can get stuffy at night, and during the rainy season mosquitos in the rooms can be problem - so make sure you get a fan. I had to track someone down and ask for a fan.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank k c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2012

My husband and I were in need of a basic hotel to spend the night after a day hiking at Monteverde. We rolled into town and immediately were attracted to Hotel El Sueno. It was just around the corner from the center of town and had row of Costa Rican wooden and leather rocking chairs lined up in front. When we asked for availability we were offered to see the room first. We took them up on this and found a very clean, yet basic room. We were able to check in immediately (well before check in time)For $40.00 we had off street parking, a comforable bed, and a complete tico breakfast. The shower was lacking in very hot water and force. But, the location was great. Once we were done with our hiking, we never had to use our car. We were able to walk to everyplace we wanted to go. The family that runs the hotel is very nice.

Room Tip: The rooms in the back of the hotel open up to a lovely sitting area. I would recommend you ask for o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bookgirl130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2012

We got to Monteverde during February, and searched for a place to stay for two nights.
Most of the hotels and B&B were fully booked so we decided to stay at Hotel El Sueno.
It is an average hotel: the room is standart, NO hot water in the shower!
The best thing in this hotel is the breakfast - great breakfast included in the price.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adidabu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2011

My fiance and I stayed here for one night last month. The family who owns the hotel is very sweet and super accommodating. They serve a delicious breakfast in the morning with a variety of options. They were also very helpful in booking tours for us. The room was very basic with cool water shower, but it was clean. We did not stay here for more than one night due to the traffic noise, as it is located on a main road in Santa Elena. I think that this is the perfect place for budget travelers who do not mind some noise from other guests at the hotel and traffic.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acs238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
15.1 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#6 of 20 in Monteverde
243 reviews
15.6 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 20 in Monteverde
240 reviews
14.3 mi away
Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Verde
Hotel Villa Verde
#19 of 20 in Monteverde
65 reviews
14.9 mi away
Hotel Jardines de Monteverde
Hotel Jardines de Monteverde
#17 of 20 in Monteverde
132 reviews
15.1 mi away
Cala Lodge
Cala Lodge
#4 of 20 in Monteverde
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Sueno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Sueno

Property: Hotel El Sueno
Address: Santa Elena Center | next to the Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Santa Elena, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel El Sueno 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel El Sueño is a family owned and operated lodge in the center of Santa Elena, a small village next to the Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve. A favorite for budget travelers and backpackers, the lodging is hosted by a family originally from the Monteverde area. The eating/kitchen and reception areas are surrounded by the rooms, all with their outside private entrances. Three new rooms have been recently built at the back of the property. Breakfast is served daily between 6 and 8 a.m. and is very reasonably priced. Lunch and dinner are also available by request at good prices, and a homemade lunch will be made to go upon request, if you're spending the day in one of the nearby parks. Transportation service is also available to the parks as well as Arenal Volcano. The friendly owner, Rafa Trejos and his family, are helpful hosts, and offer horseback tours from their nearby farm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel El Sueno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Sueno Monteverde, Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing