We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good price, good place” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel El Sueno

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel El Sueno to your Saves list
Hotel El Sueno
Santa Elena Center | next to the Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Santa Elena, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Santa Elena
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
47 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Good price, good place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

Santa Elena/ Monteverde can be an expensive travel destination. Entrance to the Monteverde cloud forest is around $18/person, entrance to the Santa Elena cloud forest is about $10/peson, entrance to the Catarata San Lius is $10/person, and taxis aren't cheap. So a cheaper hotel is a must if you are backpacking through. I have stayed at El Sueño a couple of times, and it is fairly priced (during the low season) and the breakfasts are excellent. However rooms can get stuffy at night, and during the rainy season mosquitos in the rooms can be problem - so make sure you get a fan. I had to track someone down and ask for a fan.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank k c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    38
    30
    8
    14
See reviews for
9
49
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

My husband and I were in need of a basic hotel to spend the night after a day hiking at Monteverde. We rolled into town and immediately were attracted to Hotel El Sueno. It was just around the corner from the center of town and had row of Costa Rican wooden and leather rocking chairs lined up in front. When we asked for availability we were offered to see the room first. We took them up on this and found a very clean, yet basic room. We were able to check in immediately (well before check in time)For $40.00 we had off street parking, a comforable bed, and a complete tico breakfast. The shower was lacking in very hot water and force. But, the location was great. Once we were done with our hiking, we never had to use our car. We were able to walk to everyplace we wanted to go. The family that runs the hotel is very nice.

Room Tip: The rooms in the back of the hotel open up to a lovely sitting area. I would recommend you ask for o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bookgirl130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

We got to Monteverde during February, and searched for a place to stay for two nights.
Most of the hotels and B&B were fully booked so we decided to stay at Hotel El Sueno.
It is an average hotel: the room is standart, NO hot water in the shower!
The best thing in this hotel is the breakfast - great breakfast included in the price.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adidabu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

My fiance and I stayed here for one night last month. The family who owns the hotel is very sweet and super accommodating. They serve a delicious breakfast in the morning with a variety of options. They were also very helpful in booking tours for us. The room was very basic with cool water shower, but it was clean. We did not stay here for more than one night due to the traffic noise, as it is located on a main road in Santa Elena. I think that this is the perfect place for budget travelers who do not mind some noise from other guests at the hotel and traffic.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank acs238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

This hotel is very basic -- we paid $40 for a double occupancy room. It is a family run place with good breakfast but it is definitely a no-frills kind of place. Our room was right on the road so it was pretty noisy during the night but that is what you get for the money. It was just a block away from a majority of the restaurants, the supermarket and a discoteca so the location is wonderful!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tandih21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

Hotel El Sueno is located in the central triangle of Santa Elena. Anything you need is close by, and if you are arriving on the bus from San Jose, it is right around the corner when you disembark. This is good and bad. It means it is easy to get shuttles, buses, taxis to either the Santa Elena or Monteverde Preserves, the ziplines and other cloud forest activities. There are food , clothing, and drug stores just around the corner and a selection of restaurants from inexpensive to fancy. It also means you are in tourist central, not a typical Costa Rican pueblo. But that isn't far away. A five minute walk and you are on the backroads of Santa Elena where life is calmer and more spread out.

The owner Rafa and his family serve a delicious breakfast (included) and his son speaks excellent English. They are gracious and very willing to help or advise with whatever you need.

There is a pleasant row of rockers along the front of the hotel where you can sit and look out over the hills. There were often fellow travelers there whether in the day or at night.

The walls are thin, but this may be true in all of the budget hotels, I don't know. The hotel was full of college students and they were loud and ran up and down the stairs near my room. The room was spacious, neat, and clean; but the advertised hot water for the shower was the type which attempts to heat the water within the shower head and it did little more than take the edge off the cold water. Shower quickly! Monteverde can be chilly and rainy as it is at a high altitude and it is the moisture that makes everything so green and beautiful.

Overall, a good value for the excellent price, but not the place to stay if you are looking for more quiet, elegance, or tradition; but who wants to come all the way to Monteverde and then hang out in the room anyway?

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank choroni03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

This small hotel in the centre of Santa Elena is in a great location. We found all the staff at the hotel to be very welcoming and helpful with all our travel arrangements and even called the shuttle service to Santa Elena Reserve because it was 5 minutes late picking us up. Breakfast was good - there were six combinations to choose from. The price of the room was possibly a bit high for the time of year. My only negative comment would be that we were staying in the hotel at a time when it was very windy and rainy and this made sleeping at night difficult as it was so noisy.

Room Tip: It looks as if the best rooms are upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Squeaky35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.0 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#5 of 22 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 stars 107 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#4 of 22 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 stars 139 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
0.0 mi away
Sunset Hotel Monteverde
Sunset Hotel Monteverde
#11 of 22 in Monteverde
4.0 of 5 stars 161 reviews
0.0 mi away
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Sueno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Sueno

Property: Hotel El Sueno
Address: Santa Elena Center | next to the Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Santa Elena, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel El Sueño is a family owned and operated lodge in the center of Santa Elena, a small village next to the Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve. A favorite for budget travelers and backpackers, the lodging is hosted by a family originally from the Monteverde area. The eating/kitchen and reception areas are surrounded by the rooms, all with their outside private entrances. Three new rooms have been recently built at the back of the property. Breakfast is served daily between 6 and 8 a.m. and is very reasonably priced. Lunch and dinner are also available by request at good prices, and a homemade lunch will be made to go upon request, if you're spending the day in one of the nearby parks. Transportation service is also available to the parks as well as Arenal Volcano. The friendly owner, Rafa Trejos and his family, are helpful hosts, and offer horseback tours from their nearby farm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel El Sueno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Sueno Monteverde, Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing