We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but not great”
Review of Hotel El Sueno

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel El Sueno
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Santa Elena
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good, but not great”
Reviewed March 19, 2011

The rooms were very spacious and there were two double beds for the two of us. The shower was not ideal. We were there at the same time a large group of teenagers were staying there. They were extremely loud and were running up and down the halls at all hours. No one made any attempt to keep them quiet for the non-group guests. There were no televisions in the rooms and the wi-fi only worked slowly in the eating area. The breakfast was very nicely sized. It was a good meal. The only trouble was when we came down in the morning to eat, they told us we would have to wait as the "group" was eating at that time and they could not accommodate us. It was unbelievable. Luckily, they noticed my dismay and offered to pull up a small table for us. The tours from the hotel were way overpriced. Definitely check with other locations before booking. The back rooms are the best for location and views of the forest. The price was rather high for the area. We ended up staying at a different hotel because of the noise level and lack of customer service.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coriander82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    48
    34
    10
    17
See reviews for
11
58
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed March 4, 2011

We were well received, the owners are very nice, the rooms were very clean, perfect for a family of 5 travalling on a budget, breakfast included. We took tours with the hotel and we were more than satisfied. Well located in the center of Santa Elena, close to everything.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray5969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
2 reviews
Reviewed March 3, 2011

As a solo traveler it was nice to have such a big room all to myself with it's own bathroom for such a cheap price. The people at the front desk were very helpful with booking tours and getting picked up from the hotel for the tours was free. The breakfast was great. Made to order with eggs, gallo pinto, fresh fruit and coffee/tea. I felt very comfortable and safe staying there and even though the walls were fairly thin it was quiet at night and easy to get some sleep. They also offered to wash my clothes which were muddy from the rainforest tour. Overall, great experience for my budget.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bjh2s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2010

When I first checked in, the owner's son was very helpful (he spoke very good english). The room was fine for what you pay, but very simple and cleanliness was suspect. It was very noisy and I did not trust the shower, it looked like it was going to fall apart at any second.

After checking in, I tried to book a shuttle to Liberia the following afternoon, but there were no shuttles available. The owner's son then told me that I could not get to Liberia the following day. He also said the bus was complicated and I'd be better off getting a private shuttle. He offered to drive me there for $100 or for $60, he'd take me to the highway where I could catch a bus easily. Everyone that I had encountered up to this point in Costa Rica were beyond helpful, so I believed him at first. I began to grow suspect of his good intentions when he asked if it was ok if his wife and daughter came along. I then told him to forget it and that I would figure out the bus. He told me the bus left at 730 so I should try to be at the bus station by 715. I double checked the information and it turned out the bus actually left at 6am. Unfortunately for him, I made my bus and got the heck away from him and his scheming.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flower4479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Santa Elena hotels

Attu Island, Alaska
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2010

Hotel Sueno was an okay stay, you get what you pay for, the staff was friendly and the parking was free and safe. The room was clean but we looked for bugs (just in case) we didn’t see any but didn’t feel comfortable either. The old comforters had seen better days. The shower was a little scary and the place seem to be constructed hap-hazardly. The views were also not very appealing. The rooms did not have A/c but my wife and I were there in Oktober so it was not a big deal. The rooms are basic with no phone, amenities or anything you’d find in most hotels. It’s a great no frills place to crash but not very appealing for comfortable relaxing stays. $35 bucks is a fair price but the staff was unwilling to negotiate with the price.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VanRickelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Padre Island, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2010

In the tourist town of Santa Elena in the mountains, this is one of the cheapest hotels ($35 for two), but it may also be the worst. No A/C and room was very hot with only a small window that would open. We were saved by the cool night air for sleeping. Bottom rough sheets came off the bed at night, no mattress pad. Bathroom sink was tiny, wobbly, had only cold water. Shower was essentially cold. Breakfast was meager but cooked. Computer for guests was very slow. One good thing - the parking was secure and private.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahrobey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
'Burgh, PA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2009

Absolutely loved my stay at the Hotel El Sueno! Just spent the past 7 Nights in Costa Rica (1 in San Jose, 2 in La Fortuna, 1 in Santa Elena, 2 in Manuel Antonio, and 1 in Alajuela) and liked Hotel El Sueno the best. The place has a very homey feel and Rafa and his family are very warm and gracious hosts. Any questions I had or anything I needed in or around town, Rafa was able to provide and give us his tips and advice. Definitely top-notch all the way. Another plus side to the hotel was the location... Noise wasn't a problem for me as the hotel is about a block from the main street... I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brs0956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
15.6 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 20 in Monteverde
234 reviews
15.1 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#6 of 20 in Monteverde
233 reviews
14.3 mi away
Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Verde
Hotel Villa Verde
#18 of 20 in Monteverde
64 reviews
14.1 mi away
Sunset Hotel Monteverde
Sunset Hotel Monteverde
#10 of 20 in Monteverde
198 reviews
15.1 mi away
Cala Lodge
Cala Lodge
#4 of 20 in Monteverde
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Sueno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Sueno

Property: Hotel El Sueno
Address: Santa Elena Center | next to the Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Santa Elena, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel El Sueno 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel El Sueño is a family owned and operated lodge in the center of Santa Elena, a small village next to the Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve. A favorite for budget travelers and backpackers, the lodging is hosted by a family originally from the Monteverde area. The eating/kitchen and reception areas are surrounded by the rooms, all with their outside private entrances. Three new rooms have been recently built at the back of the property. Breakfast is served daily between 6 and 8 a.m. and is very reasonably priced. Lunch and dinner are also available by request at good prices, and a homemade lunch will be made to go upon request, if you're spending the day in one of the nearby parks. Transportation service is also available to the parks as well as Arenal Volcano. The friendly owner, Rafa Trejos and his family, are helpful hosts, and offer horseback tours from their nearby farm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel El Sueno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Sueno Monteverde, Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing