We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value close to town center” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cabinas El Pueblo Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cabinas El Pueblo Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 14 Santa Elena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Grapevine, Texas
Level Contributor
100 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good value close to town center”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

Very helpful staff assisted in planning and booking activities. Location is good, only 50m from town center and supermarket. Facilities are admittedly modest, but adequate for price. As a family of five, we split between a room with private bath and a shared bath room; the room with private bath was much nicer as you might expect. Although both rooms were fine, I'd probably pay the difference versus shared bath for both convenience and nicer accomodations. Overall, a good value.

Room Tip: Spring for upstairs rooms that have private baths.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    123
    23
    12
    9
See reviews for
36
179
20
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kigali, Rwanda
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

We spent two nights in Cabinas el Pueblo Bed & Breakfast and I have to admit that I have some difficulties to believe all these positive reviews. Nevertheless, first of all some positive points which I share

Low price
Mostly friendly staff
Assistance in tour planning
Well functioning Wlan

However, the negative points outweigh this by far
Doubtful cleanliness especially in the shared bathrooms and even kitchen (running mice)
Restrictive cancellation policy (you have to pay for full days booked even if they would rent it again)
Very small rooms
thin walls

Concerning atmosphere I felt that the multitude of fine announcements (for example for noise after 10 pm, bringing people, washing cloths, showering too long etc. ) were not helpful. The price of the room has to be seen in perspective to what you receive. 30 Usd for 6 sqm room and shared bath is in my opinion not such good price value relationship. Additionally, I found the announcement that you should book tours in the hostel so that you can get your "free" breakfast disturbing. As name bed and breakfast suggests it should be included without relying on such methods.

All in all I believe that there are many better options in Monteverde.











Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Hemingway123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

We spent a night at Cabinas El Pueblo and didn't really have any expectations, as we only paid $40 for the night including breakfast (we were unable to find other vacancies and had budgeted to spend $200 at our other stops). And, were we (pleasantly) surprised!

Firstly, Marleyne and Freddy are an amazing couple and great hosts. We had plenty of logistical questions going in (related to treks at the Cloud Forest, etc.) - and Marleyne addressed these within minutes of our check-in. Then, the room itself was very comfortable and clean. And breakfast next morning was amazing - some of the best coffee I have had.

In short, we had a great night and stop here - and I would highly recommend it. But, of course, know that this is a hostel and so don't expect 24 hour room service and the sort. Easily the best $40 we spent in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank br0c0lli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Cabinas El Pueblo for two nights. First off, this is a modest hostel. If you are looking for a fancy place, you should go elsewhere. If you want friendly service and a relatively comfortable place to sleep for dirt cheap, this is where to stay! We enjoyed the free breakfast and the 24-hr coffee and tea. It was nice to have the communal kitchen available for preparing our own meals, especially with a grocery store half a block away. Our hosts are the real reason I gave this place five stars, though. They went above and beyond making us feel comfortable, answering our questions, and suggesting itineraries. They even offered to come help us when our car broke down on the side of the road. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MsAoKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

My cousin and I stayed in this b & b for three nights and absolutely loved it. The staff was helpful in booking tours and knowledgeable of the area and activities available. The breakfast was awesome and the shared kitchen was nice to be able to cook our own meals. If ever in Santa Elena, deffinately a safe, clean, and welcoming place to spend your stay.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank 91192weaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Düsseldorf, Deutschland
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

We spend just 1 night in Monteverde but the hostel was a realy nice and clean place.
- good kitchen with all kind of equipment
- clean rooms with bathroom
- rooms on the first floor are during rainy season a little bit more dry and warmer
- owners are absolutly helpfull
- they organize all kind of tours
- they pick you up at the busstation

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Flocke8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed 2 nights in this hostel. We were very happy with our choice. The hostel was little bit hard to find. The service was great. Freddy was very very helpful. Great value. We could also park our car in front of the hotel. A supermarket is next to it

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alexinho84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.7 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#6 of 23 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 23 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde
0.1 mi away
Pension Santa Elena
Pension Santa Elena
#5 of 34 in Santa Elena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
0.3 mi away
Monteverde Villa Lodge
Monteverde Villa Lodge
#2 of 14 in Santa Elena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabinas El Pueblo Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas El Pueblo Bed & Breakfast

Property: Cabinas El Pueblo Bed & Breakfast
Address: 100 mtrs del bar amigos, Santa Elena 805655, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cabinas El Pueblo Bed & Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabinas El Pueblo,It is the ideal place to rest as it is very close to the center but away from the noise, we offer our customers a ingnolvidable stay.The rooms are very clean the bathrooms have hot water, no internet service, wi-fi and breakfast plus we have included the best pancakes in the world. The coffee you take here is organic coffee from our plantation here you can take all the coffee you want.We offer the best prices for all tours in the Monteverde area. Remember if you are a student do not forget to bring your student card and you will have very good discounts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Cabinas El Pueblo Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabinas El Pueblo Bed & Breakfast Monteverde, Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing