We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Costa Rican Hospitality at its BEST!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cabinas El Pueblo Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 14 Santa Elena B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 11, 2012

I spent 3 very comfortable nights at Cabinas del Pueblo at the end of September 2012. My room or cabina was very spacious, very clean and very comfortable.

Freddy and Marlene, the owners, are awesome, friendly, informative, engaging and super helpful. Their staff is equally wonderful and warm. You can book all your tours, trips and excursions right then and there with the great advantage that if for some reason it is cancelled (for example bad weather).... you will be fully refunded and that is a great policy! Why? Because no one else does. And you know what? Their rates are exactly the same as those offered by each of the many companies that own or manage the attractions.

There is a communal kitchen downstairs, A staff member will make breakfast for you, if you sign up in the kitchen the day or evening before, Or you can make your own breakfast and meals. There is an excellent coffee being served practically the entire day. The coffee comes directly from Freddy´s and Marlene´s farm and it is really good.

The location is very good. There are two banks, many restaurants, a supermarket and a grocery store, bakery, shops, pubs and bars all within walking distance to the Cabinas.

For a little bit of a walk to work up your appetite go to Restaurante Sabor Típico. Freddy, Marlene or any staff member can tell you how to get to it.

By the way, there are a variety of room types to suit your resting necessities and budget capacities.

I definitely recommend Cabinas del Pueblo... I loved its simplicity, cleanliness, unpretentiousness, comfort, accessibility and the free WiFi is the icing on the Tico cake!

Room Tip: If you want a room with private bath, space and comfort request Room #10.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PuertoRicanBhai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (383)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 383 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2012

We are two girls from Canada doing a short backpacking trip through Costa Rica. We booked this hostel based the great reviews on hostel.com. Monteverde is a small place so everyone knew where this hostel is. It is a very very short walk to the Main Street. One of the nice things about being less than a minute away from the Main Street is you are away from the noise.

Freddy and Marlenny are two of the most friendliest and hospitable hosts/owners. Their well managed hostel has everything you would need including: all travel bookings, clean kitchen, free breakfast, free wifi, laundry services, free coffee and tea. We stayed in Room #10 which was a room with a private washroom. There is hot showers, paper towels, bath towels, hair dryer, tv and fridge for $30USD a night for two people.

As a bonus they also have their own coffee plantation and also package and sell their own coffee. There were two sizes available at the time $1USD for the 100grams pack or $4USD for the 250grams pack. We ended up bought out all their smaller coffee packages as they made great souvenirs for home. Their coffee is good coffee you can try some of the free stuff in the kitchen before you decide to buy.

Overall we enjoyed our stay and defiantly recommend this to any fellow traveller.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moomootraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cabinaselpueblo, Owner at Cabinas El Pueblo Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Girls Thank you for your comment, and we are very happy that they liked my hostel here the hope for when they want to return to buy more coffee :-) hopefully that be a good present, coffee for your friends and have friends here in Monteverde that again receive and said they liked our coffee remember that coffee is from our plantation. Thanks and regards and I hope you enjoy the the rest of Costa Rica
And Freddy Marlenny :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Incredible spot-- just down the street from the best restaurant in monteverde/St Helena "Trio"... and Freddy is the kindest host I met in CR-- saved us from a very soggy night by drying our clothes, gave us a bag of delicious coffee as we were dashing out the door for Arenal, delicious breakfasts... so clean, so comfortable, so cheap.... my favorite stay!

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Alex N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cabinaselpueblo, Owner at Cabinas El Pueblo Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Thank you for your comment, and we are very happy that my hostel is one of your favorites here waiting for when you want to return here in Monteverde have friends who receive very well again. Thanks and regards
And Freddy Marlenny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

This was our first stay after arriving from the airport in Liberia. The staff (especially Freddy) were very friendly and helpful, despite the language barrier. We stayed three nights in a private room w/a washroom. The rooms and common areas were always clean, and there was plenty of information regarding bus schedules, tours and activities available in the kitchen or front desk. The hammocks outside and free rotating breakfast was definitely a nice touch. Would definitely come back to stay here next time!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FoodieEP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cabinaselpueblo, Owner at Cabinas El Pueblo Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Thank you for your comment, here waiting for when you want to return here in Monteverde have friends. Thanks and regards
And Freddy Marlenny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Ok, so to set the tone for this review, most of the places we stayed on our trip through Costa Rica and Nicaragua were hostels. Cabinas El Pueblo was absolutely the nicest hostel we stayed in the whole trip. The rooms were clean and big- we paid for one of the rooms with a private bathroom. Freddy and Marlenny were excellent hosts. In the months leading up to the trip, I probably sent a dozen or more emails asking about various local attractions, changing dates, etc. Every time Marlenny's response was pleasant and helpful. By the time we arrived, we had pretty much booked everything we wanted to do through them. Then on the morning we were supposed to go zip-lining, I woke up really sick. We had to cancel the trip, but because we had booked through the hotel, our money was completely refunded. Cabins El Pueblo is a VERY short walk to the center of Monteverde. Overall, I would say definitely stay here over anywhere else in town, and make sure to book all of your activities through them!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cabinaselpueblo, Owner at Cabinas El Pueblo Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Thank you for your comment, we work for every day we can better serve our customers, when they want to return here in Monteverde have friends. Thanks and regards
And Freddy Marlenny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We had three great night in this hostel. We have been travelling for 5 months and this is one of better hostels simply because they do ALL the basics right. Good security, clean rooms, comfy beds and good facilities. The kitchen was well fitted out which is a nice change for Central America

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cabinaselpueblo, Owner at Cabinas El Pueblo Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Thank you for your comment, we work to be one of the best hostels, when they want to return here in Monteverde have friends. Thanks and regards
And Freddy Marlenny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

The owners of this hostel have made sure everything is arranged. They are so kind and helpful and helped us easily arrange a canopy tour. The rooms are very clean and the showers are hot. I like their free breakfast and appreciate this family feel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 549Moretravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cabinaselpueblo, Owner at Cabinas El Pueblo Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Thank you for your comment, when you want to return here in Monteverde have friends. Thanks and regards
And Freddy Marlenny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.6 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#6 of 20 in Monteverde
251 reviews
0.3 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 20 in Monteverde
1,129 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 20 in Monteverde
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde
0.1 mi away
Pension Santa Elena
Pension Santa Elena
#4 of 33 in Santa Elena
713 reviews
0.2 mi away
Santa Elena Hostel Resort
Santa Elena Hostel Resort
#12 of 33 in Santa Elena
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabinas El Pueblo Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas El Pueblo Bed & Breakfast

Address: Mtrs del Bar Amigos 100, Santa Elena 805655, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Elena
Price Range: $25 - $54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Cabinas El Pueblo Bed & Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabinas El Pueblo,It is the ideal place to rest as it is very close to the center but away from the noise, we offer our customers a ingnolvidable stay.The rooms are very clean the bathrooms have hot water, no internet service, wi-fi and breakfast plus we have included the best pancakes in the world. The coffee you take here is organic coffee from our plantation here you can take all the coffee you want.We offer the best prices for all tours in the Monteverde area. Remember if you are a student do not forget to bring your student card and you will have very good discounts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Cabinas El Pueblo Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabinas El Pueblo Bed & Breakfast Monteverde, Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing