We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall Very Good Hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cabinas El Pueblo Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 14 Santa Elena B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
235 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
“Overall Very Good Hostel”
Reviewed June 29, 2012

I stayed at this hostel for a couple of nights and overall really enjoyed it. It is situated only a short walk from town...Santa Elena is not exactly a big place.

The rooms are clean and have ensuite bathrooms. There is a lovely balcony/veranda right off the rooms where you can chill out and relax with a book.

The breakfast is good, although it is somewhat sparse. No opportunity for seconds, either, not even the coffee. The pancakes are really good and so is the coffee!

The hostel can pre-book lots of things for you to do in the area. However, there was one thing which I found somewhat off-putting. They REALLY PUSH you to book the tours a little too much, to the point of telling you that if you book elsewhere you will not receive your deposit back if you need to cancel; whereas with them, you will. No doubt, this may be the case with some operators; however, I did some research in town and found this to NOT be true with the larger and more reputable companies. In fact, I initially had a specific request in how I wanted to arrange my time but the hostel could not accommodate me (not without having me do something I was not interested in AND having it cost me even more!). I ended up checking out some operators in town and was able to get exactly what I hoped for PLUS at a lower cost...all with a money-back guarantee, if required.

If you stay there and are not sure you want to book anything through them, do not be scared into doing otherwise. Of course, if you want to book with them, go for it! Just don't think you have no other option, that's all.

FYI - The hostel even has a sign in the kitchen that says that free breakfast is only available if you book tours with them! Although we were still served without any hassles.

Aside from this, I really enjoyed this hostel and I recommend it. The people there are quite nice, especially the dad.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TanyaM212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Propietario at Cabinas El Pueblo Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Hello
Sorry about the inconvenience, really encourage our customers to stay at our hostel to avoid problems like that after transport does not arrive or do not bring up the reservation, but is not obligated to book tour with us, breakfast is very good and very good portion, and coffee the person can repeat all you want because it is free, Sorry for the inconveniences, but also their comment brings too much because you liked the hostel and that's good.
Thank you very much for your comment!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    124
    24
    12
    10
See reviews for
36
185
22
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
131 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Stayed here last year, stayed here again on this trip.
As usually, everything was great: room, breakfast and the very hospitable owners.
Some things changed: bed covers/curtains were new and very nice looking. Breakfasts got better.
My only complain: the detergent they use to clean the rooms smells soooo strong, that it gave me stuffed nose. We could not get rid of this smell in three days we stayed there.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krolikv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Propietario at Cabinas El Pueblo Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Hello
Thank you very much for your comment
Change the laundry soap beds, this comment is very good and very helpful, and I hope a third time here you are welcome to Cabinas El Pueblo when you want to return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
250 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights and really liked the place. Convenient location, spacious and clean room, other friendly guests, very helpful and knowledgeable staff combined with a decent breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesF_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Cabinas El Pueblo. It offered everything that I was looking for in a hostel. Communal areas to hang out, a nice kitchen with plenty of supplies, a okay breakfast, friendly staff, posters & brochures galore, and of course the refund policy on booking tours.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Propietario at Cabinas El Pueblo Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Hello
Thank you very much for your comment
You are very welcome anytime Cabinas El Pueblo back, Freddy and Marlenny are happy for your comment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 20, 2012

The staff is very friendly and the rooms were clean. There is a useable kitchen downstairs and the breakfast was good. The owner, Freddy, only speaks Spanish but I was able to get by with my limited knowledge of the language. His family also owns a coffee plantation and supplies the coffee in the kitchen. I recommend that you book your tours at the hostel because they will refund your money if you choose not to go. The building was a little hard to find because it located at the bottom of a hill.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JunzMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Propietario at Cabinas El Pueblo Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Hello
Thank you very much for your comment
You are very welcome anytime Cabinas El Pueblo back.:-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed June 12, 2012 via mobile

We booked in for 3 nights but had to throw an extra one on top! The place is clean, close to town (one minute walk) and includes a free breakfast which changes every day so you get some diversity.
The hosts are extremely friendly and a wealth of knowledge. On top of that they will gladly book you into any of the many activitys to do round Monteverde.
Highly recommend!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ridiculousness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogden, Utah, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 17, 2012

The outside of this Hostel Style B & B looks more like a travel booking center. Inside is cute and clean and fun. The rooms are super nice and cozy. We stayed in a private room with bathroom that was located next to the court yard and kitchen. The courtyard has a river running right by it and it is very tranquil and calm. The breakfast was good and they went out of their way for my special Gluten Free diet. We could drink as much coffee as we wanted all day long; in fact one of the employess has his own coffee that he produces for consumpton and sale. The kitchen was clean and was easy to use to prepare our own meals.

El Pueblo It is located very central and you can walk where you need to go and all adventures in the area can be booked right on the spot and they come and pick you up!

The bed was comfortable and clean. Only issue was that the faucet and shower dripped a lot.

We stayed two great nights. This is a lovely area and not to be missed.

Room Tip: we were there in low season and enjoyed being next to the court yard and kitchen. Nice sounds of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shawnee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.6 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#5 of 20 in Monteverde
233 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 20 in Monteverde
234 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
0.1 mi away
Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde
0.1 mi away
Pension Santa Elena
Pension Santa Elena
#4 of 33 in Santa Elena
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabinas El Pueblo Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas El Pueblo Bed & Breakfast

Property: Cabinas El Pueblo Bed & Breakfast
Address: 100 mtrs del bar amigos, Santa Elena 805655, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cabinas El Pueblo Bed & Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabinas El Pueblo,It is the ideal place to rest as it is very close to the center but away from the noise, we offer our customers a ingnolvidable stay.The rooms are very clean the bathrooms have hot water, no internet service, wi-fi and breakfast plus we have included the best pancakes in the world. The coffee you take here is organic coffee from our plantation here you can take all the coffee you want.We offer the best prices for all tours in the Monteverde area. Remember if you are a student do not forget to bring your student card and you will have very good discounts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Cabinas El Pueblo Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabinas El Pueblo Bed & Breakfast Monteverde, Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing