We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“customer service galore” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cabinas Tina's Casitas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Elena
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cabinas Tina's Casitas
Save
You added Cabinas Tina's Casitas to your Saves list
Keswick, ON
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“customer service galore”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Tina's Casitas is a lovely little spot off the main road. The rooms were tidy and nicely decorated. The breakfast was good. The best thing was the owner Jose (I hope I have this right). He was amazingly helpful, making phone calls for my husband and I and booking our bus to get to the other side of the country. I have nothing negative to say about this lovely little affordable spot. I did however tell Jose to update their website, as the prices were not accurate and we paid a bit more than we expected

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    14
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
17
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

The Good
-Friendliest staff/owners I've met
-Large kitchen with heaps of equipment
-Very clean
-Easy to organize activities
-Happy vibe
-Great view

The Bad
-Location ok not great
-Basic bar options (beer only)
-No wifi range in bottom rooms

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GoodGuyGreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Tinas Casitas was a very nice place to stay. The breakfast is amazing and the staff is in general very helpful and nice and the place is very reasonable priced. But the best of all was José. the receptionist. He was always happy like us and very helpful, when for an example one couldnt close the window in the room. We miss José and no other receptionist we met in Costa Rica was as good as him.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anne p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

awesome place and awesome people! i would highly recommend this place to my friends! when you travel by yourself its nice to find a safe and friendly place to stay and meet people!

Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank katherine s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
70 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Stayed 3 nights in a private room with bathroom. You can hear the wind blowing strongly at times but didn't bother us. The room was small but clean and comfortable. Satellite Tv in room and good wifi.
The hostel is a 10 minute safe and pleasent walk to town - we saw 2 sloths on the way.
The staff are very helpful and friendly and the included breakfast is fantastic - eggs, pancakes and fruit made to order.coffee was available all day and we made use of the fully equipped kitchen to cook lunches and dinners.
At $16pp for a private room including a huge breakfast, this is a great value hostel.

Room Tip: Room 11 is a small, double bed room with private bathroom and satellite tv.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brobens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

The casitas are on a hill, and directly in the line of fire if the wind is blowing. We could have used more blankets, and the pillows were like rocks. Too cold to shower in water that just didn't heat up!

Room Tip: get a room rather than a casita...take warm clothes, and don't forget a rain jacket for the clou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank miriz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

The staff was absolutely fabulous. I visited Monteverde in early January 2012. It was so windy and cold (so bring layers if you are traveling around that time). We arrived on the jeep boat jeep from Arenal. The driver didn't quite know where we were going because there is another place in town called Camino Verde (which is what Tina's Casitas is also called). Right when we arrived, Andres set us up on a tour and told us about the town and what we could do. He took us to our room, which ended up being a queen bed and a bunk bed. The bathrooms were OK. The shower is a little temperamental and the lighting isn't the best. The wind was amplified by the structure but you get used to it. The hostel has a washer and dryer but you have to pay for the washer. The hostel has WiFi and an enclosed balcony. There is hot tea and coffee most of the day, which is nice after a cold day. The breakfast is awesome! You have to order it from the kitchen which is run by one woman who doesn't know a lot of English. The pancakes were awesome. The options are: pancakes, rice and beans, fruit, and eggs.

All the tours pick you up straight from the hostel. I went on a free trade Monteverde coffee farm tour which was run by Joyce. I paid through the hostel and he will give you a receipt that you have to present to the tour guide. I ended up booking the coffee tour and Adventura (which includes the Superman zip line and the Tarzan swing). The Soda La Amistad next door is delicious! Order the casada. Also ask about the climbing tree!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rachel04marie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.0 mi away
Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde
0.1 mi away
Casa Tranquilo Hostel
Casa Tranquilo Hostel
#12 of 32 in Santa Elena
4.5 of 5 stars 335 reviews
0.3 mi away
Moon House Bed and Breakfast
Moon House Bed and Breakfast
#17 of 32 in Santa Elena
4.5 of 5 stars 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Monte Los Lirios Lodge
Monte Los Lirios Lodge
#20 of 32 in Santa Elena
4.5 of 5 stars 15 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cabinas Eddy B&B
Cabinas Eddy B&B
#5 of 32 in Santa Elena
4.5 of 5 stars 364 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostel La Suerte
Hostel La Suerte
#28 of 62 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 stars 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabinas Tina's Casitas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas Tina's Casitas

Property: Cabinas Tina's Casitas
Address: SW Of the Supermarket 300m, Santa Elena, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come enjoy the beauty of Costa Rica with us! At Tina's Casitas, we offer comfortable rooms at an affordable price. Enjoy views of the mountains and of the Pacific Ocean. We're located just a few minutes walk from center of town. Free internet, information on hikes to the clod forest! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cabinas Tina's Casitas Monteverde, Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing