We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value, basic but clean hostel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Monteverde Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Monteverde Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
new york
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great value, basic but clean hostel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2009

We were really impressed with this small hostel. It was quiet and friendly, with free tea and coffee all day and a kitchen for making simple meals in. Overall it is one of the best values in town. We paid $25 per night for a double with a private bath which was a third of what we paid at Arco Iris down the road, for the much same thing. The only downside is that the internet is not wireless and the computers are slow. The owner was helpful and friendly and it was one of the nicest hostels that we stayed in during our two week stay in Costa Rica. Breakfast is included and consists of fruit and bread- which really is a bargain when you're paying so little for the room.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank abax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    43
    11
    7
    6
See reviews for
4
28
53
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
oregonfamilyof4
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2008

My family of four people arrived Monteverde via bus at about 8PM. The manager came to the bus stop and helped us with our luggage. We paid $60 for a small room, and at the time thought we were getting a great deal.

The room was infested with bugs. The common area sofas were torn and dirty - you could feel the frame when you sit on it. Two of our beds had no sheets the first night. When we asked for a towel, we were given two towels between the four of us - one of them was torn and dirty. When we asked for more towels he said that it would cost $1 for rental for each. Having paid $60 for the room - we felt that we were being nickel and dimed. The kitchen is dirty and the breakfast is crappy.

The manager was pushing a canopy tour (called Extreme) presumably because he was getting a commission. We used a company called Aventura for the canopy tour and booked with the company directly. He seemed upset that we did not go with the tour that he was recommending.

If you are a family, avoid this place - there are much better places in town that provide a substantially better value.

  • Liked — The location - although if you are a light sleeper there is a lot of traffic noise
  • Disliked — Dirty, dirty, dirty
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank oregonfamilyof4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alonso C, Gerente at Monteverde Backpackers, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear custumer,

We totally understand why you did not like our hostel, that was while a go, since then alot had change and we are always working to get better, changed the administration, was one of the good points that we did, there are not bed bugs problems, everyone feel really relax here and everyone love it now, we let people chill, relax, we have books with all the tours information and people can take them sit, read and make the choice they want, without anyone pushing them to choose one company or the other one.

In general, the places had change alot and you can see the pictures in trip advisor and also you can see our pictures in FB as Hostel Monteverde Backpackers.

Thanks you

Alonso.C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.6 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#6 of 23 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 23 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.8 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pension Santa Elena
Pension Santa Elena
#5 of 34 in Santa Elena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
0.2 mi away
Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde
0.0 mi away
Cabinas El Pueblo Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monteverde Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monteverde Backpackers

Property: Monteverde Backpackers
Address: 75 Meters From Supercompro | 75 meters Southwest of the main supermarket, Santa Elena 1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Monteverde Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monteverde Backpacker's is a very nice hostel, right new to down town, only 1 block away of the restaurants, bars and banks, will be a prefect places to enjoy of the cloud forest and all the activites in the area. We have dorms for $11 per person and Private rooms for $35 per night, all the rooms include internet and breakfast, all the rooms with private bathroom and also Kitchen, we also have a front desk, where you can also book all your tours for the diferent activites in the area and transportation to get out of Monteverde. Parking area, security guard all night and relaxing hammack area as well, and with some very nice and relax grill night, for sure the best choice to stay in Monteverde. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Monteverde Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteverde Backpackers Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing