We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Monteverde Backpackers
Nearby Hotels
$90
$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$103
$97
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$81
$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$59
$56
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$58
$55
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$236
$229
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$40
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel El Sueno(Santa Elena)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (159)
Filter reviews
159 results
Traveler rating
86
46
13
7
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
86
46
13
7
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbed dormfree breakfastthe kitcheneggsfruitquiet hoursthe ownerin townstaff was super helpfulcosta rica tripsecurity guardgreat place to staycommon roompura vidaother travelersdefinitely stay here againtwo nights
Filter
Updating list...
81 - 86 of 159 reviews
Reviewed April 12, 2014

The window was broken and the room was supercold. We talked with the guy and he said, he did not care as the hostal is always full, so we should not bother him. On the top of the the bathroom is inside the room and you have to share with a lot of people. They offer activities which are completely overpriced (check with other agencies better!). It is by far the worst hostel I've been in!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laurinhapuravida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alonso C, Gerente at Monteverde Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014
Google Translation

Lastimosamentes, hay viajeros que en lugar de disfrutar, buscan la forma de no disfrutar, y aparte a la hora de escribir una critica, no decir lo que es.

Primero estos clientes llegaron a las 7pm y estuvieron hasta las 11pm aqui y no consultaron nada, nuestro horario de recepcion es de 7am a 10pm, despues de eso hay un guarda de seguridad, el cual por la noche no puede atender turista, tiene que ocuparse del lugar, ellas decidieron empezar a pedir cosas a las 11pm cuando ya la recepcion esta cerrada. La ventana no esta rota y claro que nos interesan todos nuestros clientes, pero revisamos la ventana, habian 4 persona mas, por lo que dijimos, la habitacion esta llena y nadie se a quejado, y asi a sido por muchos meses, siempre llenos y ningun otro cliente se a quejado nunca, eso es diferente a decir que SIEMPRE ESTAMOS LLENOS Y QUE NO NOS INTERESAN LOS CLIENTES, por supuesto que siempre nos van a interesar los clientes.

Cada habitacion tiene su bano privado, y se comparte con solo las personas en esa habitaciones, no es como en otros sitios que tienen el bano afuera y tienen que compartir con todo el hostel, asique si estas en dormitorio compartes solo con las personas de la habitacion, no con nadie mas y si no quieres compartir, tambien ofrecemos habitaciones privadas.

Acerca de los tours, no se de que tours esta hablando, si todo lo que hicieron fue ir a la reserva Cloud Forest Monteverde y eso es algo que solo se paga la entrada directamente en la entrada. Se trabaja con los precios que ofrecen las companias.

Alonso.C

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for three nights, and enjoyed our stay. It was within walking distance of the town centre, and Alonso was very helpful at answering our questions. They were in the process of tiling the kitchen while we were there, which was a great improvement! I shared a private room with my sister, and it was clean, with ample hot water. Overall, a good stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank remarkablerebma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

Friendly staff right from the beginning, given a towel for free, very informative. Nice small dorm room upstairs with really nice bathroom attached. Clean, big tv, good location not right in town but very close. Very cute friendly dog lives there (needs to be fed more though). Had a blast here, easy to meet cool people. Only thing that could do with improvement is breakfast but on the whole, it wasn't bad.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
Thank kp337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Mainly stayed here to sleep between visiting attractions in Monteverde. They book tours which was good however we were told the frog pond didnt have specific visiting times when it does
We used a double bedroom with ensuite. The room was very cold at night despite our minimal bed linen provided ( blanket and sheet) Both of us had two nights of poor sleep and we both normally sleep like logs. Bathroom was good

The location is convenient for the town and is within walking distance of several restaurants and a supermarket.

The kitchen facilities are adequate but the hygiene of them was awful and offputting. I have stayed in many hostels across the world and this is one of the worst i stayed.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JBritton2610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alonso C, Gerente at Monteverde Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Dear Jemma Britton,

Thanks for the comment about our place, that will help to work on it and get better.

About the room, there is a sheet and blanket in the room, however when people ask for blankets, we always give extra one, so if you were cold, was just for not asking.

What you say about the frog, you need to inform better yourself, when you want to travel to a place, because the only way to see the frogs in Costa Rica is in a frog pound, where they have it in glase case.

About the cleaning, maybe you did not notice that is a hostel, that has a kitchen and a lot young people, who are travelin with low bugget and need to cook to safe money, it is really hard for us as much as we try to keep the kitchen clean always, even when we have a sign that says: please wash your dishes, dry them and put them away, must of the time people hardly wash it.

Some people get confuse from Hostel and Hotel, this is a hostel and backpackers love our place, and enjoy everything here.

Thanks for stayed with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

My sister and I stayed for three nights, it's clean, central and while you can have a good time, it's not a party house. The beds are comfortable and the common area is nice, we were able to get rest! Breakfast is fruit, nutella, bread and DIY eggs, very good.
Bryan was so great! He's helpful, kind and funny! (Bring him a couple tomatoes, they're his favorite) We would definitely stay here again. You've got to meet Alonso and Bryan's nephew, very sweet ;)

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alonso C, Gerente at Monteverde Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Thanks for staying with us, we are happy to know that you had a great staying here and that you enjoyed it, welcome back anytime and we will be glad to see you again.

Thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews