We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's the worst!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Monteverde Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It's the worst!”
Reviewed April 12, 2014

The window was broken and the room was supercold. We talked with the guy and he said, he did not care as the hostal is always full, so we should not bother him. On the top of the the bathroom is inside the room and you have to share with a lot of people. They offer activities which are completely overpriced (check with other agencies better!). It is by far the worst hostel I've been in!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laurinhapuravida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alonso C, Gerente at Monteverde Backpackers, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Google Translation
Lastimosamentes, hay viajeros que en lugar de disfrutar, buscan la forma de no disfrutar, y aparte a la hora de escribir una critica, no decir lo que es.

Primero estos clientes llegaron a las 7pm y estuvieron hasta las 11pm aqui y no consultaron nada, nuestro horario de recepcion es de 7am a 10pm, despues de eso hay un guarda de seguridad, el cual por la noche no puede atender turista, tiene que ocuparse del lugar, ellas decidieron empezar a pedir cosas a las 11pm cuando ya la recepcion esta cerrada. La ventana no esta rota y claro que nos interesan todos nuestros clientes, pero revisamos la ventana, habian 4 persona mas, por lo que dijimos, la habitacion esta llena y nadie se a quejado, y asi a sido por muchos meses, siempre llenos y ningun otro cliente se a quejado nunca, eso es diferente a decir que SIEMPRE ESTAMOS LLENOS Y QUE NO NOS INTERESAN LOS CLIENTES, por supuesto que siempre nos van a interesar los clientes.

Cada habitacion tiene su bano privado, y se comparte con solo las personas en esa habitaciones, no es como en otros sitios que tienen el bano afuera y tienen que compartir con todo el hostel, asique si estas en dormitorio compartes solo con las personas de la habitacion, no con nadie mas y si no quieres compartir, tambien ofrecemos habitaciones privadas.

Acerca de los tours, no se de que tours esta hablando, si todo lo que hicieron fue ir a la reserva Cloud Forest Monteverde y eso es algo que solo se paga la entrada directamente en la entrada. Se trabaja con los precios que ofrecen las companias.

Alonso.C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    43
    11
    7
    6
See reviews for
4
28
56
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sandspit, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for three nights, and enjoyed our stay. It was within walking distance of the town centre, and Alonso was very helpful at answering our questions. They were in the process of tiling the kitchen while we were there, which was a great improvement! I shared a private room with my sister, and it was clean, with ample hot water. Overall, a good stay.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank remarkablerebma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

Friendly staff right from the beginning, given a towel for free, very informative. Nice small dorm room upstairs with really nice bathroom attached. Clean, big tv, good location not right in town but very close. Very cute friendly dog lives there (needs to be fed more though). Had a blast here, easy to meet cool people. Only thing that could do with improvement is breakfast but on the whole, it wasn't bad.

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank kp337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Mainly stayed here to sleep between visiting attractions in Monteverde. They book tours which was good however we were told the frog pond didnt have specific visiting times when it does
We used a double bedroom with ensuite. The room was very cold at night despite our minimal bed linen provided ( blanket and sheet) Both of us had two nights of poor sleep and we both normally sleep like logs. Bathroom was good

The location is convenient for the town and is within walking distance of several restaurants and a supermarket.

The kitchen facilities are adequate but the hygiene of them was awful and offputting. I have stayed in many hostels across the world and this is one of the worst i stayed.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JBritton2610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alonso C, Gerente at Monteverde Backpackers, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Jemma Britton,

Thanks for the comment about our place, that will help to work on it and get better.

About the room, there is a sheet and blanket in the room, however when people ask for blankets, we always give extra one, so if you were cold, was just for not asking.

What you say about the frog, you need to inform better yourself, when you want to travel to a place, because the only way to see the frogs in Costa Rica is in a frog pound, where they have it in glase case.

About the cleaning, maybe you did not notice that is a hostel, that has a kitchen and a lot young people, who are travelin with low bugget and need to cook to safe money, it is really hard for us as much as we try to keep the kitchen clean always, even when we have a sign that says: please wash your dishes, dry them and put them away, must of the time people hardly wash it.

Some people get confuse from Hostel and Hotel, this is a hostel and backpackers love our place, and enjoy everything here.

Thanks for stayed with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

My sister and I stayed for three nights, it's clean, central and while you can have a good time, it's not a party house. The beds are comfortable and the common area is nice, we were able to get rest! Breakfast is fruit, nutella, bread and DIY eggs, very good.
Bryan was so great! He's helpful, kind and funny! (Bring him a couple tomatoes, they're his favorite) We would definitely stay here again. You've got to meet Alonso and Bryan's nephew, very sweet ;)

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alonso C, Gerente at Monteverde Backpackers, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Thanks for staying with us, we are happy to know that you had a great staying here and that you enjoyed it, welcome back anytime and we will be glad to see you again.

Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

This is a great bang for your buck property. Breakfast is included and it is a help yourself kind of set up which is nice to get what you want. The hostel was really clean and had a great relaxed vibe. It's really close to town but still has a private lot. My sister and I really enjoyed ourselves.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank GoShaynaGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alonso C, Gerente at Monteverde Backpackers, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Hi,

Thanks for staying with us and we always work to try to make our custumers have a great time here.

Hope to see you back someday.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Spent our first night in Costa Rica here and got a great night's sleep, thanks to the breeze up in the mountains. Our private room ensuite satisfied our needs, but the space was tight. Lots of hot water. The manager wasn't the most helpful and seemed rather annoyed when we needed directions. Also very limited parking for rental cars.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank osadandaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alonso C, Gerente at Monteverde Backpackers, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Hi,

Thanks for the review.

We feel sorry that you did not feel like we care to help you out with everything, We always want to explain the people the best way everything about the area, as well dirrections about how to get here and how to get out, our services is some of our best things we have and that is also prove in the other reviews we have. The review is very important for us and we will care more to make sure, people get all what they want and need in our hostel, we are always working to make people feel very confortable here.

About the parking area, there is enough space for all the people that comes here with a car, maybe you did not see this, but we were working in the back, fixing somethings, maybe that is way, there was not enough space at the moment, either way, thank you very much for staying with us and take some of your times to give us a review, all that help us to work harder to get better.

Pura Vida :)

Alonso. C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.6 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#6 of 20 in Monteverde
233 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 20 in Monteverde
234 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pension Santa Elena
Pension Santa Elena
#4 of 33 in Santa Elena
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Santa Elena Hostel Resort
Santa Elena Hostel Resort
#12 of 33 in Santa Elena
120 reviews
0.2 mi away
Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde
0.0 mi away
Cabinas El Pueblo Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monteverde Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monteverde Backpackers

Property: Monteverde Backpackers
Address: 75 Meters From Supercompro | 75 meters Southwest of the main supermarket, Santa Elena 1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Santa Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monteverde Backpacker's is a very nice hostel, right new to down town, only 1 block away of the restaurants, bars and banks, will be a prefect places to enjoy of the cloud forest and all the activites in the area. We have dorms for $11 per person and Private rooms for $35 per night, all the rooms include internet and breakfast, all the rooms with private bathroom and also Kitchen, we also have a front desk, where you can also book all your tours for the diferent activites in the area and transportation to get out of Monteverde. Parking area, security guard all night and relaxing hammack area as well, and with some very nice and relax grill night, for sure the best choice to stay in Monteverde. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Monteverde Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteverde Backpackers Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing