We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Used for sleeping facilities- these were poor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Monteverde Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Mainly stayed here to sleep between visiting attractions in Monteverde. They book tours which was good however we were told the frog pond didnt have specific visiting times when it does
We used a double bedroom with ensuite. The room was very cold at night despite our minimal bed linen provided ( blanket and sheet) Both of us had two nights of poor sleep and we both normally sleep like logs. Bathroom was good

The location is convenient for the town and is within walking distance of several restaurants and a supermarket.

The kitchen facilities are adequate but the hygiene of them was awful and offputting. I have stayed in many hostels across the world and this is one of the worst i stayed.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JBritton2610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alonso C, Gerente at Monteverde Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Dear Jemma Britton,

Thanks for the comment about our place, that will help to work on it and get better.

About the room, there is a sheet and blanket in the room, however when people ask for blankets, we always give extra one, so if you were cold, was just for not asking.

What you say about the frog, you need to inform better yourself, when you want to travel to a place, because the only way to see the frogs in Costa Rica is in a frog pound, where they have it in glase case.

About the cleaning, maybe you did not notice that is a hostel, that has a kitchen and a lot young people, who are travelin with low bugget and need to cook to safe money, it is really hard for us as much as we try to keep the kitchen clean always, even when we have a sign that says: please wash your dishes, dry them and put them away, must of the time people hardly wash it.

Some people get confuse from Hostel and Hotel, this is a hostel and backpackers love our place, and enjoy everything here.

Thanks for stayed with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (157)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 157 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

My sister and I stayed for three nights, it's clean, central and while you can have a good time, it's not a party house. The beds are comfortable and the common area is nice, we were able to get rest! Breakfast is fruit, nutella, bread and DIY eggs, very good.
Bryan was so great! He's helpful, kind and funny! (Bring him a couple tomatoes, they're his favorite) We would definitely stay here again. You've got to meet Alonso and Bryan's nephew, very sweet ;)

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alonso C, Gerente at Monteverde Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Thanks for staying with us, we are happy to know that you had a great staying here and that you enjoyed it, welcome back anytime and we will be glad to see you again.

Thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

This is a great bang for your buck property. Breakfast is included and it is a help yourself kind of set up which is nice to get what you want. The hostel was really clean and had a great relaxed vibe. It's really close to town but still has a private lot. My sister and I really enjoyed ourselves.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
Thank GoShaynaGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alonso C, Gerente at Monteverde Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Hi,

Thanks for staying with us and we always work to try to make our custumers have a great time here.

Hope to see you back someday.

Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Spent our first night in Costa Rica here and got a great night's sleep, thanks to the breeze up in the mountains. Our private room ensuite satisfied our needs, but the space was tight. Lots of hot water. The manager wasn't the most helpful and seemed rather annoyed when we needed directions. Also very limited parking for rental cars.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank osadandaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alonso C, Gerente at Monteverde Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Hi,

Thanks for the review.

We feel sorry that you did not feel like we care to help you out with everything, We always want to explain the people the best way everything about the area, as well dirrections about how to get here and how to get out, our services is some of our best things we have and that is also prove in the other reviews we have. The review is very important for us and we will care more to make sure, people get all what they want and need in our hostel, we are always working to make people feel very confortable here.

About the parking area, there is enough space for all the people that comes here with a car, maybe you did not see this, but we were working in the back, fixing somethings, maybe that is way, there was not enough space at the moment, either way, thank you very much for staying with us and take some of your times to give us a review, all that help us to work harder to get better.

Pura Vida :)

Alonso. C

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

I'll start with the hiccup: I asked one of the guys at the front to call the arenal sister hostel and move my reservation by one night. He said ok. But when I got to arenal the next day, they said no change had been made and I was kind of stuck, because they were full. Whose fault is this? I can't say, so I don't hold it too much against them.

The rest: Clean, quiet (as opposed to sister hostel Pangea). This place was great. Met fantastic people. Most importantly, the (other) guy at the front was so helpful- essential for a young lady travelling solo! He was terrific. Hammocks and barbecue make it great.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
Thank Emma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alonso C, Gerente at Monteverde Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Hi,

Thanks for your review,

We feel sorry, for the situation that you had, We always try to do everything the best way, maybe there was a mistake.

We are glad you like our place and that you had a good time here, we hope to see you back here someday and that we can make sure everything is set up the best way for you.

Pura Vida!

Alonso.C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

The place is like a wooden hut, with a really good atmosphere. Alanso, the owner of the place, helped us alot, with booking, hiking advices and all other questions! The place also has a fast wifi-connection. I would recomand the place to any friend :)

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank norwegian1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Nice, clean hostel in a great location. The bathrooms have hot water which is a plus as some places don't and Monteverde can get chilly and the beds were comfy. The owner, Alonso, made me feel so welcome and at home and he and his staff were so helpful and informative about all the available excursions, etc. I liked that the hostel wasn't huge too so it was easy to get to know the other backpackers staying there and there was a strong comfort level and relaxed atmosphere because of it. I'd definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jess-to-the-ica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alonso C, Gerente at Monteverde Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Hi,

Thanks for your time to give us a review, we are glad to hear you felt very confortable at our hostel, we are always working to make people have a good time here, we wsh you the best and we hope to see you back here some day.

Pura Vida!

Alonso. C

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.6 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#4 of 20 in Monteverde
263 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pension Santa Elena
Pension Santa Elena
#4 of 34 in Santa Elena
721 reviews
0.2 mi away
Santa Elena Hostel Resort
Santa Elena Hostel Resort
#12 of 34 in Santa Elena
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cabinas Nuestra Kasa
Cabinas Nuestra Kasa
#7 of 34 in Santa Elena
105 reviews
0.2 mi away
Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monteverde Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monteverde Backpackers

Address: 75 Meters From Supercompro | 75 meters Southwest of the main supermarket, Santa Elena 1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Santa Elena
Price Range: $18 - $35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monteverde Backpacker's is a very nice hostel, right new to down town, only 1 block away of the restaurants, bars and banks, will be a prefect places to enjoy of the cloud forest and all the activites in the area. We have dorms for $11 per person and Private rooms for $35 per night, all the rooms include internet and breakfast, all the rooms with private bathroom and also Kitchen, we also have a front desk, where you can also book all your tours for the diferent activites in the area and transportation to get out of Monteverde. Parking area, security guard all night and relaxing hammack area as well, and with some very nice and relax grill night, for sure the best choice to stay in Monteverde. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Monteverde Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteverde Backpackers Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing