We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Monteverde Backpackers
Nearby Hotels
$132
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde(Santa Elena)(Great Value!)
$78
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$130
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$45
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $52/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Las Orquideas(Santa Elena)
$75
$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Santa Elena Hostel Resort(Santa Elena)(Great Value!)
$54
$34
Hostelworld.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arco Iris Lodge(Santa Elena)(Great Value!)
$86
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$88
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (159)
Filter reviews
159 results
Traveler rating
86
46
13
7
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
86
46
13
7
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbed dormfree breakfastthe kitcheneggsfruitquiet hoursficus treesthe ownerin townstaff was super helpfulcosta rica tripsecurity guardhot watergreat place to staycommon roompura vidaother travelers
Filter
Updating list...
103 - 108 of 159 reviews
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The hostel is just down the road from the grocery store, restaurants, and bars. Also very close to the bus stop and bus terminal. We had a blast with the owner Alonso and his two puppies: Bob and Comanche. Alonso was so friendly and easy going! Great deal too. We paid $10 each with breakfast included! We especially loved hanging out on the patio in the evening and playing Jenga with everyone. Met lots of great people. Great place to spend my birthday!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alonso C, Gerente at Monteverde Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Dear Pam,

Thanks for such amazing time here, you and your sis were amazing and we had a great time, thanks for those cute pictures of our hostel and we will be here waiting for you to come back, play move Jenga, more drinking games, and have more fun.

Thanks

Alonso.C

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

The hostel is clean, comfortable, and extremely close to the town. The owner, Alonso, was extremely helpful and friendly - answering questions about the area and providing his expertise to all of the visitors in the hostel. The atmosphere of the hostel is perfect for meeting new people as well. The kitchen is clean and despite what other reviewers may have mentioned this hostel DOES offer breakfast. I would recommend this hostel over any other in Santa Elena (Monteverde) on account of my incredible experience here and what other travelers have told me about the other hostels in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VT1913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

This review is long overdue and I will keep things short and sweet. Location is ideal in the small town (next to the super and just a short walk to restaurants/shops). Easy to get to from Arenal - we took the boat - jeep - boat (be advised that the 'jeep' was a van) but the drive was scenic and very worth it.
The owner, Alonso was very hospitable and accommodating and provided us with information and recommendations on tours, introduced us to the game of 'spoons' and even supplied breakfasts. The hostel itself was clean and had plenty of common space both inside and out (including some very much appreciated hammocks). There was a full fridge, sink, cookware and utensils etc. The toilets are the type where you can't flush paper or sanitary products and waste paper must be disposed of in the garbage bins in each of the respective washrooms (no big deal and not uncommon in Costa Rica but it can catch you buy surprise if you are not aware ahead of time!). We also met several other interesting and fun travelers at this hostel and even continued on our trip with a few that we met here.
The only issue we had was through our booking with Hostelworld. We had booked a private room and received a common room upon our arrival. Alonso corrected this for us but we had to pay a higher rate than what was posted on Hostelworld. Alonso had also showed us his reservation screen from Hostelworld and we showed him our confirmation email - they were indeed different so we do not blame Alonso for the discrepancy and appreciate how he handled the situation.
I have stayed in other backpackers hostels throughout my travels and this one did not disappoint. A great place to base your monteverde exploration from and I'm sure you be welcomed, meet some great fellow travelers and be pleased with your stay! Be careful playing spoons - Alonso is the master!
Thanks again Alonso (and sorry for the delayed review!)

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jwent09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alonso C, Gerente at Monteverde Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Thank you verry much, for such a nice way to talk about the hostel, service, puppy, etc About the reservation problem, you showed that was not our problem but we always like to treat and help people the best we can, so that is what we did and keep doing always.

We want to let you know that you are so welcome anytime and we will be happy to see you again.

Pura Vida!!!

Alonso.C

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Great atmosphere, helpful staff and perfect jumping off point for the rainforest! Easy to meet people and navigate the town from this location. There is a supermarket just up the road and the showers are hot :) Highly recommend!

Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
Thank christianannschaffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alonso C, Manager at Monteverde Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Dear Christian,

Thank you veryr much for stayed with us, welcome anytime and that is our job, try to make our custumers feel confortable.

Pura Vida!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

So friendly and helpful! The place was in a lovely location. The breakfasts were simple but great. The table and chairs outside meant everyone could chat together and share stories. Overall it was a very nice and Comanche the little dog was amazing! So friendly and made everybody's day, we loved his purple teddy!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EilidhElizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alonso C, Manager at Monteverde Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Dear Elizabeth,

We feel glad to have you staying with us, glad you liked the place and hopelly we can have you staying with soon again.

Alonso.C

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews