We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy place, great fun”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Monteverde Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Almost missed this place driving in, but it's right off of the center of Santa Elena city. The room was nice, though the bunk bed and full- or queen- size bed barely fit in the room. Hot water in the showers and a small, but serviceable kitchen. Fruit, bread, and coffee is provided for breakfast. The staff is very knowledgeable of attractions in the area, and Brian (?) helped us find some great attractions a bit more off the beaten path, including a coffee tour with an actual organic coffee farmer, instead of a touristy tour-and-taste. Depending on the day, atmosphere could be buzzing and party-like or pretty chill. Can be a bit noisy due to nearby bars and the ever-present loudspeakers at Super Compro, but still a great choice.

Room Tip: If you want a quieter stay, consider asking if upstairs rooms are available. Not a big problem for m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alonso C, Gerente at Monteverde Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Dear Jacob,

Thanks for staying with us and glad to hear that you like it, we will be working to make this place look nicer and nicer, offer better services and offer better staying for people, so when you come back, we hope that you can see the changes and have a better staying.

Ryan say hi.

Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (157)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 157 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2013

The hostel is just down the road from the grocery store, restaurants, and bars. Also very close to the bus stop and bus terminal. We had a blast with the owner Alonso and his two puppies: Bob and Comanche. Alonso was so friendly and easy going! Great deal too. We paid $10 each with breakfast included! We especially loved hanging out on the patio in the evening and playing Jenga with everyone. Met lots of great people. Great place to spend my birthday!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alonso C, Gerente at Monteverde Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Dear Pam,

Thanks for such amazing time here, you and your sis were amazing and we had a great time, thanks for those cute pictures of our hostel and we will be here waiting for you to come back, play move Jenga, more drinking games, and have more fun.

Thanks

Alonso.C

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

The hostel is clean, comfortable, and extremely close to the town. The owner, Alonso, was extremely helpful and friendly - answering questions about the area and providing his expertise to all of the visitors in the hostel. The atmosphere of the hostel is perfect for meeting new people as well. The kitchen is clean and despite what other reviewers may have mentioned this hostel DOES offer breakfast. I would recommend this hostel over any other in Santa Elena (Monteverde) on account of my incredible experience here and what other travelers have told me about the other hostels in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VT1913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

This review is long overdue and I will keep things short and sweet. Location is ideal in the small town (next to the super and just a short walk to restaurants/shops). Easy to get to from Arenal - we took the boat - jeep - boat (be advised that the 'jeep' was a van) but the drive was scenic and very worth it.
The owner, Alonso was very hospitable and accommodating and provided us with information and recommendations on tours, introduced us to the game of 'spoons' and even supplied breakfasts. The hostel itself was clean and had plenty of common space both inside and out (including some very much appreciated hammocks). There was a full fridge, sink, cookware and utensils etc. The toilets are the type where you can't flush paper or sanitary products and waste paper must be disposed of in the garbage bins in each of the respective washrooms (no big deal and not uncommon in Costa Rica but it can catch you buy surprise if you are not aware ahead of time!). We also met several other interesting and fun travelers at this hostel and even continued on our trip with a few that we met here.
The only issue we had was through our booking with Hostelworld. We had booked a private room and received a common room upon our arrival. Alonso corrected this for us but we had to pay a higher rate than what was posted on Hostelworld. Alonso had also showed us his reservation screen from Hostelworld and we showed him our confirmation email - they were indeed different so we do not blame Alonso for the discrepancy and appreciate how he handled the situation.
I have stayed in other backpackers hostels throughout my travels and this one did not disappoint. A great place to base your monteverde exploration from and I'm sure you be welcomed, meet some great fellow travelers and be pleased with your stay! Be careful playing spoons - Alonso is the master!
Thanks again Alonso (and sorry for the delayed review!)

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jwent09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alonso C, Gerente at Monteverde Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Thank you verry much, for such a nice way to talk about the hostel, service, puppy, etc About the reservation problem, you showed that was not our problem but we always like to treat and help people the best we can, so that is what we did and keep doing always.

We want to let you know that you are so welcome anytime and we will be happy to see you again.

Pura Vida!!!

Alonso.C

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Great atmosphere, helpful staff and perfect jumping off point for the rainforest! Easy to meet people and navigate the town from this location. There is a supermarket just up the road and the showers are hot :) Highly recommend!

Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
Thank christianannschaffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alonso C, Manager at Monteverde Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Dear Christian,

Thank you veryr much for stayed with us, welcome anytime and that is our job, try to make our custumers feel confortable.

Pura Vida!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

So friendly and helpful! The place was in a lovely location. The breakfasts were simple but great. The table and chairs outside meant everyone could chat together and share stories. Overall it was a very nice and Comanche the little dog was amazing! So friendly and made everybody's day, we loved his purple teddy!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EilidhElizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alonso C, Manager at Monteverde Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Dear Elizabeth,

We feel glad to have you staying with us, glad you liked the place and hopelly we can have you staying with soon again.

Alonso.C

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

This is a small hostel, but a great place. Alfonso is really friendly and happy to help with anything you may need. The location is great, a 2 minute walk to the center of town. It did also have the best and hottest shower I've had while being in Costa Rica!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carrielc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.6 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#4 of 20 in Monteverde
260 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pension Santa Elena
Pension Santa Elena
#4 of 33 in Santa Elena
715 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cabinas Nuestra Kasa
Cabinas Nuestra Kasa
#7 of 33 in Santa Elena
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Santa Elena Hostel Resort
Santa Elena Hostel Resort
#12 of 33 in Santa Elena
128 reviews
0.2 mi away
Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde
0.0 mi away
Cabinas El Pueblo Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monteverde Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monteverde Backpackers

Address: 75 Meters From Supercompro | 75 meters Southwest of the main supermarket, Santa Elena 1000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Santa Elena
Price Range: $14 - $35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monteverde Backpacker's is a very nice hostel, right new to down town, only 1 block away of the restaurants, bars and banks, will be a prefect places to enjoy of the cloud forest and all the activites in the area. We have dorms for $11 per person and Private rooms for $35 per night, all the rooms include internet and breakfast, all the rooms with private bathroom and also Kitchen, we also have a front desk, where you can also book all your tours for the diferent activites in the area and transportation to get out of Monteverde. Parking area, security guard all night and relaxing hammack area as well, and with some very nice and relax grill night, for sure the best choice to stay in Monteverde. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Monteverde Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteverde Backpackers Costa Rica - Santa Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing