We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best places ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tambor Tropical Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Tambor
Certificate of Excellence
brighton, uk
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of the best places ever!”
Reviewed March 21, 2010

I stayed in Tambor Tropical in March 2010. The reason for my visit - my wedding.

I can not describe enough how beautiful the hotel is, no pictures I have seen do it justice. The whole week there was just amazing. The staff went above and beyond our every need, they were all friendly, polite and professional.

We arranged a number of tours and the local area is great for exploring.

The hotel pool is very relaxing and the bar is very reasonable and makes great cocktails - evening meals are also very reasonable and delicious.

I would recommend this hotel and will definitely be going back myself.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marowak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    17
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
12
93
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2010

Hi we stayed at Tambor Tropical for one night in January. This was after we had stayed at Tango Mar which is close by and we were supposed to stay 3 nights but 1 was enough. There are no reasons whatsoever to even consider to stay in Tambor Tropical instead of Tango Mar as we see it. The main reason being the beach. Frankly it was awful, dirty and more clay than beach, also big party close by at the weekends so not that nice to hear music all night. The hotel was cosy and clean though and the service okay so its not the hotel that is fault it is the surroundings.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TormoAlfta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2010

Tambor Tropical was all we wanted and more. Very romantic, goregous room with a gorgeous view and friendly staff. We felt safe and welcome. The construction of the suites is all teak and the craftsmanship is amazing. Waking each morning to the sunrise from our raised platform bed was a real treat. And of course, we had the Howler Monkeys to serenade us as well. One of the best parts of the trip was a Sea Kayak tour with Seascape Kayak Tours which operates right out of the Tambor Tropical. Bruce was amazing and his knowledge of all things wildlife is truly amazing. I highly recommend it !! We will be back to be sure ...

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 67Cruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2010

My boyfriend chose Tambor Tropical as a place to spend our last three nights in Costa Rica, based primarily on the Trip Advisor reviews and the hotel's website. Upon our arrival, we were very impressed with the beautiful pool and gardens, however once we were shown our room, our impressions changed drastically. Our room was not what the pictures on the website show and was NOT worth the money. It did not have hardwood floors, nor did it have a modern kitchen, as the website claims. In fact, the kitchen had broken cabinets, extremely grimy light switches and plug outlets, and no coffee maker. Our bed sheets were clean two out of the three nights, but the bed was extremely uncomfortable. The bathroom was dimly lit and also had crusty tile and a grimy shower head. When I informed the hotel manager of the condition of our room, he insisted it was clean but said he would see what he could do. This was helpful but I found his demeanor to be cold and disinterested. In the end, he offered us a 10% discount on the room, but overcharged us for two of the excursions we booked through the hotel. When I pointed this out, he practically accused me of trying to cheat him out of money! He grew obviously irritated and was frankly quite rude.

Overall, Tambor Tropical is a great place to spend the day by the pool, but beware that the waitresses, although helpful and attentive, do not smile nor speak much English. It is a tranquil place during the day, but if you're looking for clean and comfortable rooms, look elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SDGirl76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaJeffe, Owner at Tambor Tropical Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 19, 2010
We believe that our historical track record speaks for itself. This particular guest did not have a reservation and was informed that our standard suites were booked in advance and the the hotel was full. We offered one suite (which was the early model used for the hotel) with a surrounding garden and privacy away from the suites at poolside. While the suite is somewhat older, we maintain that it benefitted from the same daily maid service provided to all guests.

This guest chose to bypass our pre-existing excursion relationships and struck their own arrangements for excursions while in the village. In this situation, we have no opportunity to be helpful for price control.

Curiously absent were any complaints from this guest at the time of check-out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 11, 2009

My husband and I stayed here for 4 days and we thought the resort was absolutely beautiful! The resort consists of 5 hectagon-shaped buildings. There are two suites in each building--the upper suite on top and a lower suite underneath. Each building faces the pool and the beach. We opted for an upper suite and I was very glad that we spent the extra money just for the spectacular views from our balcony (which wraps around the whole upper suite). We woke up every morning to see the sunrise from our king bed and then I took photos from our balcony. Each suite has a full kitchen, bathroom with a step down shower, sofa, tables and chairs plus a big closet and two nightstands on each side of the bed. Plenty of storage space. The balcony had a table, two chairs, and a round table with 4 bar stools around it. Lots of room!
We enjoyed a large continental breakfast by the pool every morning--cereal, fruit, juice, coffee, yogurt and toast.(included iin the price). We could order extras for a small fee (2 scrambled eggs were only $2.00). The resort has a wonderful bar and restaurant. We opted to eat at the bar one night and at a table my the pool the second night. The other 2 nights we ate at an Italian restaurant called Trattoria Mediterranea Ristorante Italiano. It is only about a 10 minute walk through town. The food was delicious and the owner and chef is from north of Venice, Italy. Their pasta is great and pizza is also wonderful.
The staff at Tambor Tropical were wonderful and helped us get a rental car and with a boat and snorkel tour to Tortuga Island.
We have been to Costa Rica 4 times and we definitely plan to return to Tambor Tropical.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cruiseagent1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2009

Tambor Tropical exceeded my expectations. I have stayed in many places in Costa Rica, as my husband is from there and this is one of the best places I have stayed. I loved how it was submersed in nature and how beautifully constructed the apartment/hotel rooms were. Everything was made of incredible wood and it gave it such a rustic yet luxurious feel. The pool is nice and clean and we almost always had it to ourselves. We enjoyed relaxing in the hammocks and enjoying the view of the beach. The food was great and we loved having the option of cooking ourselves since the supermarket was only 250 meters away. The manager was incredibly helpful and even remembered our names since the first day. I think about this hotel all of the time and want to go back soon!

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karniki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2009

We booked all the units for our son's wedding weekend in January 2009. This resort worked with all our guests and tailored to our needs. The bar and restaurant was closed to the public, so we had this end of the road resort to ourselves. The food was fabulous, they decorated the resort with tropical flowers everywhere, we had bonfires, fireworks and dancing all night long for 1/3 of the cost in the US. The general manager, Juan and his staff answered all our needs and were with us every step of the year long planning. The resort will arrange tours to Montezuma, Mai Palis, ziplines, waterfalls, horsebackriding and fishing trips where the boats pick you up right in the front yard on the beach! The resort has no air conditioning and tv, but they were never missed, the fans and ocean breeze work wonderfully even in 85 degree heat.
We would stay at TamborTropical again, planning a return visit already. Don't miss this Bali inspired resort, at the end of the dirt road you enter through their gates to find this tropical lush manicured gardens sanctuary.

  • Liked — seclusion and staff
  • Disliked — no tv
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Marie2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tambor
2.3 mi away
Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas
1.2 mi away
Vista Hermosa Boutique Bed & Breakfast
24.8 mi away
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Vista Las Islas Hotel & Spa
24.5 mi away
Villa Caletas
Villa Caletas
#2 of 41 in Jaco
1,325 reviews
1.0 mi away
Barcelo Tambor
Barcelo Tambor
#2 of 6 in Tambor
1,367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tambor Tropical Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tambor Tropical Beach Resort

Property: Tambor Tropical Beach Resort
Address: | 100m East and 75m North from local public school, on beachfront, Tambor 60111, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Tambor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Tambor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tambor Tropical Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tambor Tropical is an intimate boutique beach resort on Costa Rica's beautiful Nicoya Peninsula. Nestled on the on the bay, our resort offers guests a private and luxurious vacation in the less traveled Playa Tambor. Relax in the comfort of one of our 12 spacious beachfront suites, swim in our gorgeous mosaic-tiled pool, indulge in massage treatments, enjoy the cuisine of our full-service restaurant or explore the nearby jungle via many guided adventures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Tambor Tropical Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tambor Tropical Beach Hotel Playa Tambor
Tambor Tropical Playa
Tambor Tropical Hotel Playa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing