We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tango Mar.... absolute paradise!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Tambor
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
“Tango Mar.... absolute paradise!”
Reviewed January 30, 2011

We visited Costa Rica from Jan 12 – 19, 2011. We spent 2 nights in San Jose, and 5 wonderful nights @ Tango Mar in Tambor, Costa Rica. What an experience! Upon arrival, we were welcomed by friendly staff; delicious exotic drinks, refreshing cold towels, and the owner personally greeted us and showed us to our room. We had an ocean front room, very clean and what a view! The waves are mesmerizing…The pools and grounds are impeccable, very well maintained. Flowers everywhere and palm trees in just the right places. We had breakfast, lunch and dinner by the ocean every single day. Speaking of which….the food was out of this world. Tango Mar’s chefs are creative and the food was so fresh. The menu consisted of succulent filet mignon, tender mahi-mahi, lobster, grilled octopus, jumbo coconut shrimp; homemade fresh tagliatelle and those mussels gratinee, always an encore. The service was top notch, the waiters remembered our names from the 1st day and always greeted us whether they were serving us or not. Hilde, the owner, is a classy woman who has a keen eye for detail and a remarkable sense for perfection. She has the utmost respect for her employees and treats them like family. We will definitely be going back to Tango Mar and referring this establishment to our family and friends. Tango Mar is exceptional as well as unique and has made our vacation in Costa Rica a memorable one.
Melissa and Gabriel

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MELISSAandGABRIEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    590
    151
    62
    18
    14
See reviews for
190
445
21
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St lo Louis, Missouri, USA
1 review
Reviewed January 30, 2011

My wife and I just got back from the land of Costa Rica. This was our first trip to Costa Rica and we are already making plans to go back to visit this resort. The first stop and highlight of our trip was enjoying the lifestyle of Tango Mar.

We saw the pictures online and as you can tell the place looks beautiful, we didn't want to get our hopes up too high as pictures many times look better than real life. Not this time.

We were there for 4 nights and made quite a few friends both with the other guests as well as the staff. This place is beautiful but what really makes it special is the people. We came to completely trust our server Edwardo's recommendations after his first suggestion the Seafood platter. He was right on the money as all the food was deliciously prepared. We spent one afternoon with Junior (bartender) and Allan (cashier and front desk) tackling the waves at Tango Mar. And another evening was spent enjoying light hearted conversation with the owner, Hilda (or as known by her staff "Mama").

Prior to our trip, we planned to visit the beautiful beaches of both Montezuma and Mal Pais. Reviews told us that Tambor was okay but the other 2 were the top beaches on the Nicoya Penninsula. We visited both and the beaches were beautiful. Though we couldn't wait to return to the beach right outside of our Tiki Suite at Tango Mar.

This stretch of soft sand is capped off by 2 cliffs and rocky outcroppings making it feel like you have this stretch of beach all to yourself. On one end is a romantic view point overlooking the entire beach and on the other a waterfall that falls right into the ocean.

The Tiki Suite was constructed using native woods which blends the resort right into the beautifully manicured, natural backdrop.

Beautiful resort, beautiful people...we can't wait to get back.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rdmulvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westhoughton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2011

We just come back from Costa Rica and stayed at this hotel 5 nights. We had a tikki suite which is very nice with a jacuzzi. But there were a couple of things which could easily be sorted. When we arrived there was no soap in the shower or hand wash. We did get replacement as soon as we asked but shouldn't these be checked everytime new quests arrive! The other thing about the room 703 - although there are lots of lights in the room. We had 5 hallogen lights not working. 3 above the wardrobe, fridge area which made it dark. Shouldn't these also be checked!
The only other thing was breakfast. When we arrived it was Saturday and on the Sunday we had a lovely buffet breakfast but for the rest of the stay we had to pick off a list. The reason was not enough guest. staying there. Well fair enough but I asked for cereal and a waffle I could only have one or the other not both!!! I went for the waffle and it was made from a waffle machine but I only got 2 pieces what happened to the other 2!!. If you wanted toast that was another choice. I have never ever (and I travel alot) had to pick whether I wanted cereal or toast you have always had both and also a choice of an egg based item. So if you want value pick the typical or American breakfast but don't expect toast or cereal as well!!

The meals were good. The pool area was lovely. It is a quiet, lovely romantic place (don't go if you like a good night life).

I did really like it there. I enjoyed the peace and quiet.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kennethhopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TEMPLE,TX
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2011

Our family stayed for 7 days over the Christmas Holidays and loved every day at this property. The newly renovated Tiki Huts provided calm comfort after a day of playing in the ocean or hiking to the waterfall and the attached decks gave us an unrestricted view of the ocean. The food on every level, from breakfast to dessert, was top notch. some days we ate beef tenderloin off the kids menu or requested dessert from the night before to be brought to the pool area restaurant and it was no problem. They packed lunched for us on the day we were leaving, for our ride to the airport. The staff are friendly, courteous and will go the extra mile for you. Transportation was arranged for us when we needed medicine from the pharmacy and the driver waited while we went across the street to the grocery for drinks and snacks. The owner (Hilda) will greet you every day and thank you for coming, soft spoken with a keen eye to detail that shows in all aspects of the daily routine. This retreat was a haven for our work weary selfs and we shall endevor to return. Did I mention the food! Pura Vida.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DIVER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truckee
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2010

Tango Mar is a beautiful secluded resort between Tambor and Montezuma, ideal for those looking for a peaceful, luxurious vacation with plenty of activities. The resort has a variety of lodging options, ranging from 18 hotel rooms on the beach to villas both on the beach and up the hill. We staying in the hotel and in a villa and found both to be clean and in excellent condition.

A wide variety of activities and tours are available both on and off premises. We tried the snorkel trip to Tortuga, horseback riding and golf at the resort and a zipline tour. Overall we enjoyed each activity and felt that they were fairly priced.

The Tango Mar property is extremely large. The spring-fed pools are beautiful and refreshing. The swim-up bar is nice too. There’s a nice hike to a beachfront waterfall and wildlife (monkeys, parrots, etc.) abounds on the premises.

Dining: breakfast, served buffet style in the main dining room, was comprehensive and delicious. Dinner, also served in the main dining room, was also delicious. The prices are a little on the high side but at least the food is great. If you don’t have a car you will be captive to this restaurant – there are no other options around.

The staff was extraordinarily friendly and helpful throughout our stay, always doing whatever it took to accommodate us.

Overall, we had a great time at Tango Mar.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirk K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2010

If you are looking for a Real tropical paradise this is it! If you are tired of the cookie cutter resorts that are the same as your hotel down the street from your house than a getaway to Tango Mar is what you are looking for.

Tango Mar is a beautiful resort that with First Class accommodations. The food is incredible, fresh and rivals any top chef restaurant. Many people that were on the airplane with us departing Costa Rica complained of not being able to find good food in the Puntarenas area. The restaurant at Tango Mar is unbelievable. They even catered a whole dinner party to my specifications with seafood caught that very afternoon.

Everybody knows your name and greets you with a smile. The resort owner shows her pride of ownership as she often checks in on you with a smile! You can't help but to return the smile to her. We stayed in one of the incredible beachfront private villas but her smaller rooms are to die for and is where I will be staying when I return.

For those that love reality TV and have ever wondered where they filmed the television show "Temptation Island" Tango Mar is it. I watched that show and always wanted to go to a place like that and by chance I discovered that Tango Mar is where they filmed it.

I so look forward to returning and staying in a Tiki Hut next time!

Thank you to the Owner and her Staff for making my stay INCREDIBLE!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank derickv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviewed October 25, 2010

Terrific stay and all around exquisite property. It is hands down the nicest place in the area. It has recently been completely renovated and looks new. The staff are abundant and professional. The food is terrific! If you golf, it has a well designed and maintained 9 hole right on property. ($25 greens fees)The place is huge and gated and sits @ 1mile off the main road so, its safe. and convenient. Large private beach, waterfall, lookout point, 3 level pool.

Recommend you rent a car or a 4 wheeler as nothing in the area is within walking, but no where in you stay in any of the peninsula is convenient really for walking,, that makes it all the more fun. There is plenty to do and see in both Tambor, Codina and Montezumma, all within a short drive. Great zipline course just up the road in Montezuma!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank realitytjek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tambor
24.4 mi away
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort
2.3 mi away
Tambor Tropical Beach Resort
24.3 mi away
Villa Caletas
Villa Caletas
#2 of 41 in Jaco
1,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Vista Hermosa Boutique Bed & Breakfast
10.3 mi away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 26 in Santa Teresa
564 reviews
12.4 mi away
Vista Las Islas Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas

Property: Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas
Address: Quizales Beach, Tambor 76773, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Tambor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Tambor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The well-hidden secret of Tango Mar is located on the beautiful, deserted Quizales beach at the Nicoya Peninsula on Costa Rica's Pacific Coast. It is a 150-acre (60Ha) exclusive private beachfront reserve with ample of added attractions. The blend of fine accommodations with exuberant jungle vegetation, exotic birds and wildlife makes Tango Mar the ideal hideaway for anyone who wants to enjoy refinement in a natural setting. With only 45 rooms, the philosophy of Tango Mar is to provide a personal, friendly, relaxed and attentive service Tango Mar has a 9-hole Executive Golf Course (par 3 and par 4), two lightened tennis courts, a soccer field, four swimming pools, stables with horses, 2 restaurants and bars, meeting room, Spa, an organic garden and natural trails. It offers different types of lodgings; Beahfront rooms that mainly cater to families, Tropical Suites and Deluxe Beachfront Rooms for couples and Tiki suites for the most demanding. All rooms have been recently renovated, have a private bath and are equipped with a/c, phone, satellite TV, a safety deposit box, WIFI, minibar upon request and a coffee maker with complementary coffee. We also have private beachfront Villas for families or small groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tango Mar Beach, Spa & Golf Hotel Tambor
Tango Mar Beach, Spa And Golf Resort
Tango Mar Beach Hotel
Tango Mar Beach Tambor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing