We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very isolated” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Tambor
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very isolated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2010

We stayed in the rooms that are above the main facilities and it was quite a walk down to the beach and food areas. Our first room had ants and we didn't realize it at first. While we visited the pool, the ants came out and some got into our suitcases. That first room had a sign in the bathroom instructing guests to place their toilet paper in the trash can rather than flushing it. Well, they moved us to a nearby room that didn't have ants or the bathroom issue. The place may as well be all inclusive because it is way too far to eat somewhere else. (Our departing bill was $275 for lunch, two dinners and horses for 4 hours.) The restaurant menu and food was great, BUT, there was a buffet on Saturday night and no menu. We did not like any of the buffet food and it was $25 each plus beverages. Again, too far to go anywhere so you are essentially stuck with whatever they are offering. The internet was super slow and $5. The rooms that are closer to the beach looked much nicer and they had some that were like bungalows. Those would have been better I think. We did ride some nice horses from their stables to Montezuma and that was pretty nice. We saw monkeys on that ride. It would have been nice if our guide could have spoken English and told us about some of the animals or plants we passed by, but oh well. It was lots of fun to gallop along the beach with water splashing everywhere.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ourhouserc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    518
    125
    59
    16
    11
See reviews for
152
392
20
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2010

We stayed at Tango Mar for the last 4 nights of our stay in Costa Rica and the staff and facility is amazing!! There are 3 pools, two overlooking the ocean. The beach front is beautiful and steps from your room. I recommend lounging in the hammocks by the beach. There is great variety in the tours available. We took the horseback ride to Montezuma to check out that town for some local flavor. We also did half-day sport fishing and snorkeling. The captain was fantastic--he made sure we didn't go home empty handed and the hotel prepared our fresh catches for dinner in the most creative display of food. Other patrons were jealous of our feast! Snorkeling was a very personal experience, where the captain and his nephews searched for aquatic life to show us. Even prepared a fresh plucked oyster right on the boat. On our last night, we wanted to watch the NFL game, so the kitchen staff delivered our dinner right to our room and made up boxed breakfasts for our 4 AM departure. The tiki suites are worth the extra money--whirlpool tubs right inside. There is a golf course right there and great spa services. Everything was so reasonable. The staff is spectacular and we can't say enough! Pura vida!!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dr_perk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stamford, ct
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2010

this hotel features more than u think. its run by a formidable belgium lady which keeps its hands in control over everything. its a very beautifully located hotel on the beach a little outside tambor beach and is perfect for relaxation. the restaurant is mostly french, even 'escargots' they have. the Tiki Suite Beachfront is almost a must there. greatly appreciated was our upgrade into such a suite after mentioning we were on honeymoon...thks a lot for this wonderful experience...

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mystiflip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, CA
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2009

My wife and I just spent 3 days/nights at Tango Mar at Playa Tambor for our honeymoon (Nov 2009) and we cannot believe how wonderfully luxurious and romantic our stay there was. It is amazing how a reasonably priced resort as Tango Mar is could make a regular couple, like us, feel like we were rock stars. True, Tango Mar is a bit secluded, but as great as the staff were treating us, we had no reason to go anywhere else. The trip started with a free upgrade to a Tiki Room, which was located about 10 yards from the beach, and things only got better. The service was impeccable. They were friendly, funny and were extremely proficient in English. They brought drinks to you at the pool or to your room. The cleaning staff was methodical and left cute towel animals and fresh flowers on our bed every day (which my wife loved). The owner, Hilde, was a most gracious host. She greeted us every time our paths crossed and she spent time every evening at dinner getting to know us and regularly asked us if there was anything we needed to make our stay better. The resort has a computer in the lobby for guests to use as long as they like, but they also offered wireless internet for $5 a day, which isn’t very much. They do offer Golf, Horse Riding, Spa Treatments, amongst other things, but we didn’t partake in any of those, after spending months planning a wedding, we were happy to spend our days lounging by the pool, walking on the beach and eating and drinking. The menu is limited, but every item we ordered was absolutely delicious. I had the lasagna twice it was so good. I’d go back there in a second, in fact, I better start saving for that ASAP!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gus_Ceballos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
146 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2009

A tropical paradise, and at a very, very resonable price. Nestled in the Costa Rican jungle abutting the sea lies Tango Mar just west of Tambor on the Nicoya Peninsula. It takes a ferry ride from Punteranas across the Golfo de Nicoya if your coming in from San Jose, and its about a two to four hour drive to get there, depending on how much of the country is on the road at that time. A fair amount of people and commerce, not a lot of roads. So traffic can be excruciatingly slow, so it's a good idea to figure in extra drive time if your renting a car. Renting tip: Get a small SUV. A lot of the roads aren't paved, other than the main ones, and it's not exactly what you'd refer to as a "flat" countryside. Semi trucks also drive on these not flat dirt roads. It can lend it self to exciting driving. Trust me, 4 wheel drive is a good idea anywhere in Costa Rica. Especially if its raining.

Tango mar is a small resort with suites on the cliff over looking the sea through the jungle flora, a 3 story building on the beach with about 18 units as I recall, and some individual thatched roofed suites that are situated right on the beach. There is a resturant on the beach, and one by the pool, with hammocks and palm trees galore. Tennis courts, a golf course, a large ecological reserve with some great hiking trails and their own private waterfall, horseback riding on the reserve or the beach. Great beach, but way too many rocks to attempt any serious surfing. Throw in a couple of bars and it turned out to be one terrific place.

One thing I should mention is that the place has a fair amount of howler monkeys roaming the premises, and as with all of Costa Rica, a lions share of Igaunas. By the way, if you have issues with Igaunas, you'll have issues with Costa Rica. The howler monkeys had a path they would follow through the jungle trees, which seemed to be every evening, which lead right over our pool. It was way cool. Lots of birds and butterflys too.

The hotel is about 8 miles of dirt road from Montezuma, a mecca for the backpacker and surfer population from around the world. It's a town that has to be experienced. Kinda like out of an old Clint Eastwood spagetti western. It has bars on the beach, surf shops, resturants, some hotels that lend themselves to new age type conferences, dirt roads (of course), and Iguanas.

The good surfing is another 16 miles from Montezuma on a dirt road to Malpais. Good waves, no rocks. The whole of the Nicoya Penisula is really quite a nice place to hang, but to this point, Tango Mar is my favorite.

Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank steve9631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2009

This was much better than I thought it would be. True the location is secluded and not much happens around - but if you need a break away from it all (or a honeymoon) then this is as good as it gets.

I was there in July - the rainy season in C.R. but the weather was hot and we had thunderstorms with amazing lightening for one whole evening and night - the manager a lady from Belgium mixed with the guests and talked with everyone. The chef allowed a taste prior to cooking on anything I was unsure of. The staff were incredible with attention to detail. There was a choice of rooms and villas as there was construction work going on - they upgraded us to the villa for no extra cost to keep us away from hearing the construction gang doing their work.

The grounds are extensive and good for walking around and watching the wildlife. Although the sight of buzzards or vultures in a field and on top of trees watching a new born foal (horse) was upsetting. The mirador view was excellent as was the waterfall in the opposite direction. As for bugs etc - well this is C.R, it was rainy or green season and the place was alive with them. Saw no snakes but we were advised to watch out while walking. The beach was nice the hotel was located right on the beach! We took the bus from San Jose to Tambour 5 hours, but got the plane back for return trip in just 25 minutes.

Food was excellent, from breakfast to dinner. Staff very friendly but respectful too. I enjoyed it and my spouse was raving about it - the villa was extraordinary with all the comforts you could need in the middle of a balmy, humid, hot, lush-green and beach location.

Mind you this is not for everyone. Without your own transport (we had none) its hard to explore outside (although it can be arranged) There are no shops only the hotel. The hotel in a way has a captive audience - but if you know that in advance and it doesn't bother you then this is a great place to just get away from it all - and enjoy a bit of luxury, the price reflects that too.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JPCD11RF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2009

Hotel rooms were very nice, we stayed in the rooms on the beach. The sand on the beach is soo hot to walk on mid day!! Pools were great! Location was great as we had a rental vehicle.
We would stay there again.

Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ajetoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tambor
24.2 mi away
Villa Caletas
Villa Caletas
#1 of 45 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 stars 1,102 reviews
2.5 mi away
Tambor Tropical Beach Resort
24.5 mi away
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.2 mi away
Vista Hermosa Boutique Bed & Breakfast
5.3 mi away
Kalapiti Luxury Jungle Suites
11.8 mi away
Vista Las Islas Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas

Property: Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas
Address: Quizales Beach, Tambor 76773, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Tambor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Tambor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The well-hidden secret of Tango Mar is located on the beautiful, deserted Quizales beach at the Nicoya Peninsula on Costa Rica's Pacific Coast. It is a 150-acre (60Ha) exclusive private beachfront reserve with ample of added attractions. The blend of fine accommodations with exuberant jungle vegetation, exotic birds and wildlife makes Tango Mar the ideal hideaway for anyone who wants to enjoy refinement in a natural setting. With only 45 rooms, the philosophy of Tango Mar is to provide a personal, friendly, relaxed and attentive service Tango Mar has a 9-hole Executive Golf Course (par 3 and par 4), two lightened tennis courts, a soccer field, four swimming pools, stables with horses, 2 restaurants and bars, meeting room, Spa, an organic garden and natural trails. It offers different types of lodgings; Beahfront rooms that mainly cater to families, Tropical Suites and Deluxe Beachfront Rooms for couples and Tiki suites for the most demanding. All rooms have been recently renovated, have a private bath and are equipped with a/c, phone, satellite TV, a safety deposit box, WIFI, minibar upon request and a coffee maker with complementary coffee. We also have private beachfront Villas for families or small groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tango Mar Beach, Spa & Golf Hotel Tambor
Tango Mar Beach, Spa And Golf Resort
Tango Mar Beach Hotel
Tango Mar Beach Tambor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing